We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful vegetarian options”
Review of Lygon Arms - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Lygon Arms
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Located on B4090 at junction with Feckenham High St. My wife and I have eaten there mid-week as a couple, and also with a party of 19 for my wife's birthday, Sunday lunchtime. Good food, friendly service, reasonable prices. Good range of real ales.
Worcestershire
1 review
“Wonderful vegetarian options”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Excellent food with plenty of yummy vegetarian options. Very comfortable, clean and welcoming. Great value for money. We will be going back again and again.....highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VeggieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    2
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worcs
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“New management after a long time closed”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had lunch here today and it was excellent - good value and nicely priced. I had a jacket potato with coronation chicken, there was so much chicken that I thought it must have been a whole breast - all for £4.50.
My husband had a bacon and egg sandwich, in which the bacon was crispy, with browned meat juices and a perfectly fried egg. "The best he's had in a long time", he reports!
The salad garnish was crispy and fresh too. A portion of chips was added for just £1. We paid just over £11 in total, including drinks! We walked out full to bursting! We'll definitely eat there again!
Also, the place was spotlessly clean! Well done to the new management!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WorcsReluctant_flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“New owners, village location, best Sunday lunch in ages!”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We went here for Sunday lunch and were very pleasantly surprised - under new ownership since start of October, this pub has been freshly painted, cleaned and now boast a great pub menu with quality ingredients at a great price.
We were greeted warmly by the owners wife and the other staff member behind the bar and given a choice of sitting in the bar or the lounge area. We chose the lounge and had a look through the traditional bar menu but decided to settle on the traditional Sunday Lunch (beef or pork) at a bargain price of £6.95.
My husband had the pork, which came with a yorkshire pudding (much to his delight), stuffing, generous helping of meat, roasted potatoes, boiled potato and 4 different types of fresh veg.
I had the beef which came with the same accompaniments (less the stuffing). Both were served with very tasty homemade gravy.
We eat out reguarly on a Sunday and have struggled to find places serving this quality of food (especially at this price).
This pub is a local style pub (not a gastropub like so many village pubs seem to have become) and is a welcoming and refreshing change. There is also a large conservatory extension to the lounge bar - you can choose to dine here, however it's also available for private functions and has its own doors leading onto a patio area outside. Ample parking provided to the rear.
We highly recommend this and are already looking forward to our return journey with more of our family and friends.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SelkieGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great value lunch menu”
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Have been here around half a dozen times for the 2 meals for £8 menu which really is good value for money. The lasagne is one of the best I have had and the meat balls which are not that but trip advisor regards what they really are as a profanity if you call them by their proper name! if you like them are really delicious and huge. Just wish they would change the menu from time to time as have not been back for a while now as a bit bored with the same choice

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“good value”
Reviewed May 3, 2012

have ate here many times only for lunches the service is good the place clean and the two meals for £8 is very good value though in nearly two years i cant remember the £8 menu ever changing having said that the food is well cooked tasty and good value have tried the main menu twice and felt a little disapointed thats not the pubs fault though its because the two for £8 are good and you kind of expect something a bit more special its not so if you go there i would stick to the two for £8 have ate at many places offering the same sort of deal often more expensive and rarely found one so good would be nive if they varied the menu though

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lygon Arms also viewed

Redditch, Worcestershire
Redditch, Worcestershire
 
Redditch, Worcestershire
Redditch, Worcestershire
 
Redditch, Worcestershire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing