We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, atmosphere and nice beer”

The Bramley Cottage
Ranked #21 of 119 Restaurants in Redditch
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food, atmosphere and nice beer”
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Visited on Easter Sunday with family, 9 of us in total. All had good meals, service was prompt, relaxed atmosphere. Fish platter as a sharing starter is excellent. Would also recommend the DoomBar bitter a real winner. will be visiting again soon.

Helpful?
Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    74
    44
    15
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Warm Glow on a cold night”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

My husband suggested a meal out because I had had a cataract op and he'd cooked supper 2 nights in a row! We were offered a table by the fire in the dining area, lovely, the waiter was very engaging and helpful, I had an Aubergine based crumble thingy with a delicious tomato sauce on side and scrunchy garlic bread slices with an excellent green salad, he had a spicy burger. Such a friendly service. We like The Bramley, it is close to home, has a god range of beers,and even though it gets very busy,they seem to have enough staff to cope.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, England
Level Contributor
134 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Pleasant Pub”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

My wife loves The Bramley. She regularly uses it for "girlie" lunches, and often takes me there as well. The atmosphere is casual and relaxed, and even though it is open plan from specific dining area through the bar neither section intrudes on the other. There are lots of nooks and crannies to be found some with the warmth of the fire. There is a good range of real beers on tap and some times these are sold at £2 per pint, adding to the attraction.

We have always found the food to be of good quality and filling, even though it is hard to pick the volume of the dish from the menu. Some dishes come out as "fancy food" and others seem to be "fill the plate". All are tasty though.

Service is efficient and though the price is a little higher than some chains, the quality is well higher.

I am sure we will use it again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ozabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Many positives with a very minor criticism”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Called in on spec....haven't been for over two years to eat but as families are welcome and being as local as it is to our house, we were keen to sample the menu. Ive always found it a great socialising pub but have had mixed meals in the past. The staff were very engaging and pleasant and some nice touches were noted such as names of kitchen staff and their menu favourites and the condiments tray. The choice of beers and other drinks here is always a positive
The menu is varied and nice to see a sharers section alongside a starters list.....the choice of mains was good and we ordered a stuffed chicken breast with Prosciutto and a Steak pie....our three year old wanted a burger. The food came and appeared to be cooked well and presented nicely however I did feel their was little or no seasoning on the plate. Unfortunately I didn't check the salt cellar and proceeded to use a particularly free pouring salt cellar in our condiment tray.....prematurely ending my meal!

The steak pie was very nice and the home made chips went down very well. The only minor criticism would be the childrens food....the menu is good along with the crayons and paper issued however, for very young children, the homemade chips are quite big/thick to eat and would in my opinion be better to serve thinner chips to younger patrons.

The price was fair for the food served and even though we've only got this one meal to base an opinion on, I think the overall feeling we were left with was that the owners/managers and staff are trying hard to build a solid dependable level of food and service that will attract many regulars over and over again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ianskip71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Food was good but the restaurant itself dirty and cold”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I went to the Bramley Cottage with my partner and his mum this Sunday afternoon for lunch. We chose it because it's an Ember Inns and where we live (Derby) there is an excellent one named The Hollybrook with a good menu, great service etc.

However, we were disappointed with this one unfortunately. Although the food was good (we had chicken dinner for one, smothered chicken & gammon), the place itself let it down a lot. It was a very cold day and despite the fires being on, the doors kept opening and every time this happened, an extremely cold draft went right through the place, making us all very cold indeed.

Also, the place looked dirty and untidy. Our table was sticky, there were things on the floor, the fireplace surrounds were covered in dirt and fingerprints and actually had a piece of old chewing gum stuck to it! Not a nice view when you're eating lunch.

Having said this, the service by the barmaid was good upon taking our order, the order was correct and delivered in a timely fashion and the food tasted good. Value is also good so it's not too pricey. If they could clean the place up a bit, they would get a much better review.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KazukiNakajima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bramley Cottage also viewed

Redditch, Worcestershire
Redditch, Worcestershire
 
Redditch, Worcestershire
 

Been to The Bramley Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing