We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely surprise!!”
Review of Washford Mill - CLOSED

Washford Mill
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The old water mill on the river Arrow has been converted into a modern pub and restaurant serving quality food in a relaxed and friendly environment. We are proud to serve a Great British Carvery with a daily selection of Red Tractor assured meats and fresh, seasonal vegetables. Join us in our delightful informal restaurant for a delicious daily carvery or choose from our superb menu. Alternatively just pop into our riverside bar and terrace to enjoy a local ale with friend
redditch
Level Contributor
75 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely surprise!!”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Well after deciding never to go again i was pleasently surprised by my visit!! I have a fantastic starter and the carvery was well yummy!! Deff give this place another go!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    119
    86
    75
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
98 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A Let Down”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We've had a couple of reasonable carveries here but the last visit was not good.
We recommended it to friends who were staying with us and we couldn't have been more wrong. The portions of meat that were handed out were small at best. When one of our group asked for more the reaction was like something out of Oliver Twist. The parsnips were undercooked and still had the skin on them and most of the rest of the vegetables were overcooked.
While I was waiting in the queue one of the group returned with his plate saying that his beef was nearly all fat and he was unable to cut through it. A few tuts followed and with some reluctance his beef was replaced. The woman who was cutting the meat then made a rude remark to me about him, not realising he was part of our group.
I made a complaint via email and was contacted for my telephone number so they could investigate and get back to me 'by the end of the week'. That was two weeks ago.
The other member of the party also complained via their 'how did we do' slip. He was also asked for his number so they.....You can see a pattern developing here, can't you.
Unless I hear from them I certainly shall not be returning.
I'd give three stars for previous visits but no stars for the last one.
Use the Barley Mow, it may be more crowded with average food but it's consistently average and the staff are friendly.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank H0dgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“GOOD CARVERY.”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Good carvery nice surroundings,With good service.Nice place to sit outside weather permitting.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank JohnandKate_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcestershire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“ok if you like carveries”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

service etc ok but unless you like carveries the rest of menu didnt appeal and not good value for money.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank WorcestershireRubies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful place for a meal - whatever the occasion.”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

The Washford Mill is a beautiful old Tavern with a mill stream in the rural outskirts of Redditch. The Restaurant has a superb Carvery or you can chose from the A la cart menu. There are areas of the Restaurant with different atmospheres - open casual, smart dining and romantic. The wine list is good but not huge, the food is wonderful and the service is relaxed but attentive and friendly. There are also Bars with Sports TV and bar food plus you can sit outside by the romantic Mill Stream or on more casual family benches in the grounds with a garden. They have the Diamond Club for over 50's with a discount all day on Monday to Friday, except Bank Holidays, and free WIFI.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Washford Mill also viewed

Redditch, Worcestershire
Redditch, Worcestershire
 
Studley, Warwickshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing