We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Manor - more like poor house” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Southcrest Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Southcrest Manor Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Redditch
Certificate of Excellence
Beverley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Manor - more like poor house”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Photos of the Hotel grounds draws people in.....well it did me. From the photos I expected a it would be a lovely, relaxing place to stay. Unfortunately not!!! The accommodation is a newish (poss 20 year old) extension to the side of the hotel which is tired/dated/poor quality and really quite depressing. The food was terrible, I do not like cooking but could have done a better job myself. The only upside were the staff who were all friendly and professional.
My experience of the hotel did not give me any confidence to use the spa/other facilities.
I made alternative arrangements after staying the first night, which was one too many!!!
My advice do not stay in this Hotel! Southcrest Manor = Bates Motel.

Room Tip: maybe in main hotel?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    220
    99
    32
    26
See reviews for
183
271
26
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night but could have stayed longer. When we checked in we were upgraded to a Manor room which was a really light, fresh and spacious room which looks like it had recently been redecorated.
We had a drink from the bar and sat outside overlooking the grounds, which after a little wonder through the trees, are more extensive than first thought. The view of the manor house from the lawn is really nice and could quite easily spend an afternoon there with a Pimms or two! We went for dinner in the restaurant and really enjoyed a 3 course meal which was nicely presented, tasty and reasonably priced.
I don't normally sleep well in hotels but I had a great night sleep that night as it was really peaceful and great comfy bed! Breakfast the following morning was great. A good choice of food which was really fresh.
We found the staff really friendly and helpful. If we had more time, I would have booked a treatment at the spa but unfortunately we had a prior arrangement. A lovely stay and will definitely consider staying again.

Room Tip: Manor rooms have recently been updated so definitely chose one of those!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsJKeeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Southcrest_Manor, General Manager at The Southcrest Manor Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear MrsJKeeling,

We are so pleased that you have such a wonderful relaxing stay with us. Feedback is important to us and I will have great pleasure in passing on your outstanding comments to the staff and management. We pride ourselves on offering great value hospitality in wonderful surroundings, and are grateful that you have commented as such.

Once again thank you for your feedback. We really hope, and look forward, to welcoming you back to stay with us at The Southcrest Manor Hotel & Spa again soon.

Kind regards

Chris Osborne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

I had afternoon tea at this hotel today. On arrival we were greeted by staff & offered a couple of locations to sit. We sat in the conservatory area, which was well lit & nice open area. Myself & my friend ordered an afternoon tea which consisted of a hot drink, scone & cream. They arrived quickly, they looked beautiful & tasted even better! During our visit staff checked we were ok and if we needed anything else. As this was a quiet location & now I have sampled it I will be booking again for an afternoon business lunch or 'afternoon tea' business meeting. As from the conservatory area there were nice gardens to look out on to & it was a tranquil area for a business meeting.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Southcrest_Manor, General Manager at The Southcrest Manor Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Helen N,

We are delighted to see that you have sampled and enjoyed our great Afternoon Tea selection. We have worked very hard on our new Conservatory Bar Menu and we really appreciate the excellent feedback you have provided. I will of course pass your kind comments to the staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back for another afternoon tea, be it for business or leisure, again soon!

Once again, thank you for your positive feedback, it’s very much appreciated

Kind Regards
Chris Osborne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed at the Southcrest on the 8th June for one night.
We requested an early check over the phone as we were traveling from London for an afternoon wedding.
I was told over the phone that an early check in could not be guarantied but they would see what they could do.I then phoned on the morning of the 8th June and was told that it should be possible. We arrived at 11:10am and it took 15 minutes for them to check what room was ready and check us in.
The hotel is clean and the common areas are well kept although the toilets near reception were in need of a good clean.
The room was small but adequate however it was in desperate need of refurbishment.

While we were out we phoned the hotel at 8pm as asked if drinks would be available on our return, We were told that the bar closes at 10:30pm but drinks would be available to residents.
Not wanting to go to a nightclub after the wedding we headed back to the hotel for a nightcap.
When we arrived we were told that there would be no drinks and the bar had been locked and there was no way to get even a single drink. There was 10 residents all sitting on the patio and had all been told the same thing.

Upon check out there was once again confusion regarding payment as they had mixed up the rooms.We mentioned the bar issue and was told that the bar keys are always on site and they would find out why we wasn't served. They took our mobile number but we did not receive a call to explain.

The breakfast was actually quite nice and there was an ok choice.
However this is the last time we will be staying at the Southcrest.

Good luck

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Southcrest_Manor, General Manager at The Southcrest Manor Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Simon B,
Firstly thank you for your feedback it is important to us. I would really appreciate it if you could contact me at the hotel so we may discuss your points further? Check-in is always guaranteed from 2pm, and as I’m sure you can appreciate we did our very best to ensure your room was vacant, checked and ready for 11am at your request, and provided this free of charge to you (normally £10). Our hotel bar does close at 11pm and residents are able to obtain alcoholic beverages thereafter, subject to our hotel policy.

I am delighted that we exceeded your expectations at Breakfast and that you found the hotel clean. We do hope we can welcome you back to visit us again soon

Kind Regards,
Chris Osborne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosyth
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Was just a one night stay. The hotel it's self looked nice and was in a good location for us on a trip to see mother. But we found a few issues that on there own could be easy to forget about but when all added together really has made. Me feel that we wouldn't really wish to stay again. Problems really started at check in . First we were charged 2 x the correct price. When questioned the hotel staff did refund this ok. But when pointed out to the staff that we had already payed a deposit via there website, which they had also retaken at check in . They were reluctant to refund this as said it was a booking fee. Once we produced the conformation email which said different the refund was issued. Ok time to get to the room . On the hole main room nice, bed ok and room a good size. Main room clean and tidy. But have to say the bathroom had been cleaned but not to a good standard could have done with a little TLC and a good deep clean. We didn't eat at the hotel but after dinner went for a drink in the hotel bar, which had a nice decor and prices were ok. But service let the hotel down here, ordered 4 drinks 1 hot and 3 cold. Bar man did struggle with this order got, we were the only people at the bar, 5 min later 3 cold drinks were ready. Told the tea would be out in a few min so we all sat down, 20 min later tea still not arrived, checked this with the bar and Barman said he had forgot . Did come a few min later. Sleep was ok and hotel quiet check out went ok. Any of the issues on there own I could live with, but with them all adding up didn't help the hotel. We also had been trying to book a treatment in the spa, the week before we had called 3 times to book this in and each time no one at the spa free to talk to to book a treatment. Each time promised a call back but didn't happen.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rusty8880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Southcrest_Manor, General Manager at The Southcrest Manor Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Rusty8880,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on the Trip Advisor community following your stay at The Southcrest Manor Hotel & Spa.

We are sorry to hear you were not happy with all aspects of your stay, and the points you have raised I will be looking into. Customer feedback is important to us so we can continually improve on the service and products we deliver.

We are however delighted that you found the hotel well presented, clean and tidy, and in a good location, and we hope to welcome you back to visit us again soon

Kind Regards

Chris Osborne
General Manager


Kind Regards,
Chris Osborne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth,Dorset
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in a family room. Good sized room and very pleased that my son had a proper bed, not just a 'put up' bed that you so often get in a family room. Our only downside was that our room was as far away as we could get from reception (and breakfast!) and it felt like we were heading to the back of beyond!! (but perhaps thats just me being lazy...the excercise did me good after the huge breakfasts!) Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Great selection of food at breakfast. We didn't get chance to explore the grounds but what we saw from the dining room and conservatory looked wonderful. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cas1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Southcrest_Manor, General Manager at The Southcrest Manor Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear cas1008,

Thank you for writing such a lovely review and for recommending us so highly following your stay at the Southcrest Manor Hotel & Spa. We all love what we do and it makes us so proud when our lovely guests (like you!) say such wonderful things.

We are so pleased that you and your family enjoyed a good sized room and comfy beds and that you found all of our staff friendly and helpful.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the great selection on our buffet style breakfast, what a pity you didn’t get the opportunity to explore our 10 acres of woodland, maybe next time!

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Southcrest Manor Hotel & Spa soon.

Kind Regards
Chris Osborne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed before flying from Birmingham International on holiday. Very conveniently located and good value for money. We stayed in the main house which was lovely, with a view over the gardens. Very relaxing and friendly hotel. Great start to our holiday.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Satchers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redditch
1.9 mi away
Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa
1.9 mi away
Old Rectory House
Old Rectory House
#5 of 8 in Redditch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Redditch North (A441) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Hogarths Stone Manor
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham, Redditch
1.8 mi away
Meadow Farm
Meadow Farm
#6 of 8 in Redditch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Southcrest Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Southcrest Manor Hotel

Property: The Southcrest Manor Hotel
Address: Pool Bank | Southcrest, Redditch B97 4JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Redditch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Redditch
#3 Romantic Hotel in Redditch
#4 Business Hotel in Redditch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Southcrest Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Southcrest Manor Hotel is the perfect place to unwind after a busy day at work or sightseeing, so if you are looking for a quiet spot without being too far from anywhere, then The Southcrest Manor Hotel is just for you. Set within 10 acres of private woodland and lawns overlooking the breathtaking picturesque views of the Vale of Evesham, no other hotel near Birmingham can boast such a setting. Our hotel is situated just a short distance from Redditch Town Centre, Birmingham City Centre, the NEC, Birmingham International Airport and not to mention the famous Counties of Warwickshire and Worcester. Stratford-upon-Avon in Warwickshire, some would say is the historic cultural epicentre of Britain, housing such attractions as Shakespeare's Birthplace, the world famous Royal Shakespeare Theatre, Warwick Castle and Royal Leamington Spa to name but a few. The Southcrest Manor hotel aims to offer value and benefits to all guests, over and above the standard of many of its competitors. We offer inclusive Wedding packages, as well as family packages including entrance tickets to many local attractions. We will provide you with an exemplary personal service and the level of recognition that you deserve. We aim to provide you with a luxurious and relaxed environment within which to conduct your business, whether it is actual business or the business of relaxing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your The Southcrest Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Southcrest Manor Hotel Redditch, England
The Southcrest Manor Hotel And Spa
Quality Inn Redditch
Southcrest Hotel Redditch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing