We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“over priced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Southcrest Manor Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Redditch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Our stay at this hotel was not good at all, the food was extremely over priced and very poor, it resulted in us having to eat out at more expense. very bad dining here, not recommended. We sugest you find alternative accomodation. The overall experience was not a pleasant one and put a cloud over our visit to see family.

Room Tip: Not recommended at all, find alternative hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank susan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (975)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

864 - 870 of 975 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2012

The photographs and text description lull you into feeling you are going to be in rural idyll, but sadly not.Although it was clean comfortable and convenient, the fabric of the building and rooms was tired.I arrived on a cold evening and although I did not expect my room to be warm on arrival, it did not warm up with a radiator so changed rooms without fuss to a warm one.The breakfast was a mixed affair:cereal juices coffee toast all fine, but the cooked breakfast was oily fried eggs and poor pork sausages, plus usual trimmings.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank markfnicol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We had a nice spacious room which was comfortable and warm. Both the bedroom and bathroom had thermostatically controlled radiators so you could adjust the temperature to precisely how you wanted it. The room was very clean. The dining room was lovely and bright, the included breakfast had a good choice from a full English to fruit and toast. Next to the dining room was a lovely conservatory/bar overlooking the lawn, this was great for reading with a coffee during the day, lovely view. The staff were probably the nicest we have ever come across in a hotel. Every single one of them were upbeat and friendly, always willing to talk and help. My wife also enjoyed using the spa. the little gym and saunas were free of charge, and the rates for the treatments were very reasonable.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Forkliftman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stayed here for our 6 month anniversary and the service was amazing from check in, service at the bar and in the restaurant. Everyone has been wonderful and couldn't do enough for us. A special thank you goes to our waitress on the 2nd of November who was brilliant (although she admitted to being new) she was amazing and couldn't do enough to please us. The room was clean and comfy. Thank you so much for a wonderful stay, you are highly recommended xxxx

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Clare C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

i stayed at this hotel for 3 days whilst attending a course in redditch,i found everyone at the hotel very friendly and helpfull the rooms are basic but comfatable and clean with a decent sized shower and bathroom,the food in the restaurant is great breakfast was fantastic a real good feed and set me up for the day the evening meal was a three course affair which i couldnt fault,my only gripe would be that the bar is expensive,but then so are most hotels,and there is a very good pub within walking distance,im attending another course on the 20th of this month and im very much looking foward too staying again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Garry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I booked online the evening before I wanted to stay on their website. I was travelling up north to visit a ill relative, so was please to find something close by that had family rooms available. On arrival the main building is lovely, but what lurks behind is not! I was greeted by a young receptionist who could not find my booking. Another lady came & asked me how I had booked & with whom! (a stressful day already, now being made worse!) eventually I was told that the family room wasn't available!. When asking why, I was told because there is NO family rooms! Only two rooms with adjoining doors! But these were already taken!? Now I was given the option of two single rooms or try to find a different hotel, another 10mins car journey away!!! I had booked this hotel as close to my sick relative and wanted to spend as much time with them. So I felt I had no option but to take the two single rooms, which meant I could not spend the valuable time with my husband, instead we had to split up and sleep in single rooms with one of our young children :-( To make things even worse, the rooms I had been sold on the website stated, comfortable, modern style recently refurbished rooms with DVD player & iPod dock alarm radio. Instead we were given rooms which looked like they had not been refurbished since the 70's, mold on ceilings, stains in the bath, bits of wall falling off! I was unable to speak to the manager, the receptionist was rather rude in telling me that her colleague was talking to him now and we are trying to do our best, pls go & sit down until she returns!? Upon her return I was told the manager has offered a complimentary drink at the bar for myself & family by way of an apology!!! To which I declined as I did not think this was acceptable!!
Please beware of this hotel, as it seems they are selling rooms that simply to not exist!!! Disgusting!!,

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank summerglow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Have stayed in this hotel on a few occasions as it is good value for money. The staff are always happy and are all very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The rooms are serviced well and very clean and warm. They are fairly modern but the bathrooms could do with a bit of a makeover. Would recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emmac73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redditch
1.9 mi away
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#3 of 7 in Redditch
2,153 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham, Redditch
1.8 mi away
Old Rectory House
Old Rectory House
#5 of 7 in Redditch
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Bromsgrove Hotel & Spa
Bromsgrove Hotel & Spa
#7 of 8 in Bromsgrove
1,315 reviews
8.1 mi away
Chateau Impney Hotel & Exhibition Centre
1.8 mi away
Meadow Farm
Meadow Farm
#7 of 7 in Redditch
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Southcrest Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Southcrest Manor Hotel

Address: Pool Bank | Southcrest, Redditch B97 4JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Redditch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Redditch
#3 Romantic Hotel in Redditch
#4 Business Hotel in Redditch
Price Range: $49 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Southcrest Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Southcrest Manor Hotel is the perfect place to unwind after a busy day at work or sightseeing, so if you are looking for a quiet spot without being too far from anywhere, then The Southcrest Manor Hotel is just for you. Set within 10 acres of private woodland and lawns overlooking the breathtaking picturesque views of the Vale of Evesham, no other hotel near Birmingham can boast such a setting. Our hotel is situated just a short distance from Redditch Town Centre, Birmingham City Centre, the NEC, Birmingham International Airport and not to mention the famous Counties of Warwickshire and Worcester. Stratford-upon-Avon in Warwickshire, some would say is the historic cultural epicentre of Britain, housing such attractions as Shakespeare's Birthplace, the world famous Royal Shakespeare Theatre, Warwick Castle and Royal Leamington Spa to name but a few. The Southcrest Manor hotel aims to offer value and benefits to all guests, over and above the standard of many of its competitors. We offer inclusive Wedding packages, as well as family packages including entrance tickets to many local attractions. We will provide you with an exemplary personal service and the level of recognition that you deserve. We aim to provide you with a luxurious and relaxed environment within which to conduct your business, whether it is actual business or the business of relaxing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Southcrest Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Southcrest Manor Hotel Redditch, England
The Southcrest Manor Hotel And Spa
Quality Inn Redditch
Southcrest Hotel Redditch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing