We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attitude Review Urgently Needed!”
Review of The Talbot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Talbot Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Knightwick
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Attitude Review Urgently Needed!”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

I visited The Talbot at Knightwick with my family to visit the small but excellent Farmer's Market held there on the second Sunday of each month.

While the pub was busy, largely because of the glorious weather bringing visitors to the market and the neighbouring Beer Festival, the attitude of the staff that we encountered did not match up to the joy of the customers or the business that they bought with them.

If someone was paying me £1:50 per cup for pretty stale and weak coffee I would smile sweetly at them as they paid for 4 cups knowing the cost of the ingredients and the resulting mark
up. What I wouldn't do is frown at them as though they were an inconvenience

Please, please make your customers feel welcome, they're your life blood. You have a potentially magnificent venue, use that fact to make it the place that everyone wants to visit.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank ormerodr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    58
    27
    29
    27
See reviews for
50
70
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely lovely from start to finish. The setting is fantastic and the food amazing. This is a lovely place to spend and afternoon in. The beer is fantastic and a great selection of wines. I can hand on heart say that I will be back again to eat drink and make merry!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Economysir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenbury Wells, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Afew years ago the Talbot was a real treat. Then the food became patchier and patchier, if you had a good main the dessert would be poor, and vice versa.
The last couple of years we have not been nearly as much. Last time two of us had soup, two different soups-but both were disgusting, and we ended up pouring them out in the garden (to avoid any embarresment over the amount we had left.
Today we went again, one of us had gravlax salad and soup-the soup was apparently vile and the gravlax not great, and over priced. I had what was meant to be shropshire blue Gnocchi as a main course, with tomato sauce; but what arrived were three deep fried "cheese balls" and tomato puree on the side. When the cheese balls were cut open they were compleately liquid and seemed like mainly cheese-mixed with undercooked batter-they were barely edible.
The home made ice-creams were good as a pudding, but the coffee was very strong and bitter-and no one enjoyed it.
The people are friendly, but the service very slow.

It's sad, as I remember delicious meals about three years ago, and now it's "pub-grub" at best, and anything more complicated than fish and chips or quiche is probably best avoided.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hillw00d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Knightwick hotels

Show Prices
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We have been visiting this pub for years and it pretty much always impresses us. I am a fairly keen cook myself and we often go to run of the mill pubs and are disappointed with the quality of the food. This is not so here. Annie and Wiz who run the restaurant are really friendly and are always interested in what you think of the food.
A lot of the vegetables are grown at the pub, other food is locally sourced and the beer is brewed on site!
We go as a family usually often when there is a farmers market on in the car park or for birthdays and celebrations. The setting is lovely too. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StrikingViking-Ash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband and I had planned a 4 day trip walking in the Malvern Hills over the Easter Weekend, having booked accommodation a few months ago, we were let down (a bizarre experience of turning up to check in and finding the place locked up, no-one around and no-one answering the phone - and this was after confirming the day before). Sitting in Malvern at 6pm trying to think where we would go now, we remembered an overnight stay at The Talbot 5 years before when we were walking the Worcestershire Way - we can't remember the other places we stayed, but we remembered The Talbot for it's homemade shortbread in the bedrooms and it's admirable ethos regarding local food.
It was therefore completely on the off chance that we checked to see if we could stay there for the weekend.
We were lucky that they could accommodate us and we stayed here for our 4 night long weekend. The place was exactly as we remembered it, the ethos has not changed and there are still home made shortbread in the bedrooms.
Our room was small, but had everything we needed. The Food is good, the menu changes daily depending on what's available locally. We found it reasonably priced, £100 per night B&B, plus main meals for around £10 in the evening. My husband particularly likes the beers brewed next door, 'This', 'That' and 't'other'. A good selection of wine from a reasonly priced menu. Staff are friendly and helpful.
If you're looking for a pristine Premier Inn type hotel, then the Talbot is not for you, it's quirky and is all the better for it.
Plenty of walking locally, and only a short drive from Malvern and Worcester. Our only regret was not booking The Talbot originally.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MEB79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lechlade, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

After finding that two pubs we had been recommended on Bringsty Common were closed during that eerie 1500-1800hrs zone, we could stand the lack of beer no more and sought in desperation some local knowledge as to where to rove.
The Talbot at Knightwick is set back from the A44 between Worcester and Bromyard, at the edge of the River Teme, which somehow gives it a holiday feel. However this was nearly 1730hrs on a March weekday and the sun was setting, so we found two seats by an enormous woodburner in the bar and settled into a pint of 'That' (their home-produced beers are named This, That and T'Other), soon followed by another.
Admittedly we ate crisps, not a meal, but the menu, including a set lunchtime menu for c£12 looked honest and good value. However on my customary exploration I found a large conservatory-style dining room of the spotless, cheery sort where you take auntie for Sunday lunch. The windows to one end overlook lawns and flowerbeds and (noteworthy if you must eat with small children) a paddock with cute Oxford piglets who were all extremely busy in the mud. Several of their winged friends are etched to adorn the windows and glass doors which was fun. There are rooms and cooked breakfasts available daily to the passing traveller.
Back at the bar there was chat of dogs and tractors, and before long two fellows came in from the Cheltenham Festival racing and retrieved their bottle of wine from the night before from behind the bar. My husband observed that it was most likely not their only bottle of the previous evening, but with the bottle under his arm, a glass in one hand and the running order for the following day in the other, our pundit removed the cork with his teeth and settled steadily to a table to chat over the day's exploits with his pal.
Truly the Talbot is a place of character and characters and entirely worthy of your custom.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SCM_Tearle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Our second visit with friends, just as great as our first visit. Rooms warm, clean and comfortable, food excellent. The real ale from the micro brewery next door was savored by the males in the party, whilst the wine (good selection/reasonably priced) was equally appreciated by the ladies. Lovely area, friendly and efficient staff and boy oh boy what a breakfast, One of our friends has to have a gluten free diet, no problems gluten free bread was provided, the menu identified gluten free meals and also a special gluten free bread and butter pudding with orange liquer; fabulous as was the large selection of home made ice cream. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knightwick
4.4 mi away
Bank House Hotel, Spa & Golf, BW Premier Collection
8.6 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Malvern Wells
927 reviews
6.8 mi away
Mount Pleasant Hotel
Mount Pleasant Hotel
#9 of 10 in Great Malvern
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Stanbrook Abbey Hotel
Stanbrook Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Callow End
903 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bromyard
122 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbot Hotel

Property: The Talbot Hotel
Address: Knightwick WR6 5PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Malvern Hills > Knightwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Knightwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbot Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Talbot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talbot Hotel Knightwick
The Talbot Hotel Knightwick, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing