We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay”
Review of The Talbot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Talbot Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Knightwick
Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband and I had planned a 4 day trip walking in the Malvern Hills over the Easter Weekend, having booked accommodation a few months ago, we were let down (a bizarre experience of turning up to check in and finding the place locked up, no-one around and no-one answering the phone - and this was after confirming the day before). Sitting in Malvern at 6pm trying to think where we would go now, we remembered an overnight stay at The Talbot 5 years before when we were walking the Worcestershire Way - we can't remember the other places we stayed, but we remembered The Talbot for it's homemade shortbread in the bedrooms and it's admirable ethos regarding local food.
It was therefore completely on the off chance that we checked to see if we could stay there for the weekend.
We were lucky that they could accommodate us and we stayed here for our 4 night long weekend. The place was exactly as we remembered it, the ethos has not changed and there are still home made shortbread in the bedrooms.
Our room was small, but had everything we needed. The Food is good, the menu changes daily depending on what's available locally. We found it reasonably priced, £100 per night B&B, plus main meals for around £10 in the evening. My husband particularly likes the beers brewed next door, 'This', 'That' and 't'other'. A good selection of wine from a reasonly priced menu. Staff are friendly and helpful.
If you're looking for a pristine Premier Inn type hotel, then the Talbot is not for you, it's quirky and is all the better for it.
Plenty of walking locally, and only a short drive from Malvern and Worcester. Our only regret was not booking The Talbot originally.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MEB79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
There are newer reviews for The Talbot Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 203 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

After finding that two pubs we had been recommended on Bringsty Common were closed during that eerie 1500-1800hrs zone, we could stand the lack of beer no more and sought in desperation some local knowledge as to where to rove.
The Talbot at Knightwick is set back from the A44 between Worcester and Bromyard, at the edge of the River Teme, which somehow gives it a holiday feel. However this was nearly 1730hrs on a March weekday and the sun was setting, so we found two seats by an enormous woodburner in the bar and settled into a pint of 'That' (their home-produced beers are named This, That and T'Other), soon followed by another.
Admittedly we ate crisps, not a meal, but the menu, including a set lunchtime menu for c£12 looked honest and good value. However on my customary exploration I found a large conservatory-style dining room of the spotless, cheery sort where you take auntie for Sunday lunch. The windows to one end overlook lawns and flowerbeds and (noteworthy if you must eat with small children) a paddock with cute Oxford piglets who were all extremely busy in the mud. Several of their winged friends are etched to adorn the windows and glass doors which was fun. There are rooms and cooked breakfasts available daily to the passing traveller.
Back at the bar there was chat of dogs and tractors, and before long two fellows came in from the Cheltenham Festival racing and retrieved their bottle of wine from the night before from behind the bar. My husband observed that it was most likely not their only bottle of the previous evening, but with the bottle under his arm, a glass in one hand and the running order for the following day in the other, our pundit removed the cork with his teeth and settled steadily to a table to chat over the day's exploits with his pal.
Truly the Talbot is a place of character and characters and entirely worthy of your custom.

    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank SCM_Tearle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Our second visit with friends, just as great as our first visit. Rooms warm, clean and comfortable, food excellent. The real ale from the micro brewery next door was savored by the males in the party, whilst the wine (good selection/reasonably priced) was equally appreciated by the ladies. Lovely area, friendly and efficient staff and boy oh boy what a breakfast, One of our friends has to have a gluten free diet, no problems gluten free bread was provided, the menu identified gluten free meals and also a special gluten free bread and butter pudding with orange liquer; fabulous as was the large selection of home made ice cream. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

they have a number of chefs with such a differing standard, that you don't know what you are going to get on any occasion. From the sublime, to cold chips and tasteless desserts - such a shame! The owner needs to decide what this place is all about

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Critic_tyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

All went well until the (Sunday Roast) food was served - it was hardly warm and had obviously been left standing for too long. We were the only party in the dining room (by reservation) and I suspect that too much attention was concentrated on serving food in the bar. There was no fuss about dealing with it and we did get a reduction on the bill but there's no excuse for food that should be hot being served cold. We are definitely not impressed by either the service or the standard of the food and will not be revisiting

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
Thank R0yL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Went here a few weeks back with a large party. The pub was lovely and we were made to feel very welcome, and the staff were great. The children in the party (11 month old and 4 year old) were very welcome.

I had a ceviche starter which was very nice, I was a little disappointed with the beef lunch though, I had beef which was very good quality but the gravy was poor, a bit watery.

The restaurant had plenty of space and we weren't crammed in.

The staff were good.

The only gripe I had was the price. £17 for a roast dinner for the main, which wasn't very big, I know that quality ingredients cost more, but it was still overpriced.

I was probably paying for the atmosphere, real fires and quality ingredients, but please £17, I think is a bit much. I would go back but maybe on another day so that I can try a non Sunday roast option.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DylanandDebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The Talbot is located in a pretty peaceful village. The rooms are clean and have everything you need including a lovely bathroom with great power shower, although there are steep stairways leading up to some rooms.
The food is very good with a choice of bar food and restaurant menu, everything is fresh and well prepared including a great breakfast if you stay over. The food however is a little on the dear side. The staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChristineEliz51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knightwick
8.6 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Malvern Wells
953 reviews
4.4 mi away
Bank House Hotel, Spa & Golf, BW Premier Collection
6.9 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#5 of 10 in Great Malvern
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Stanbrook Abbey Hotel
Stanbrook Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Callow End
921 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bromyard
125 reviews
9.9 mi away
Malvern Hills Hotel
Malvern Hills Hotel
#7 of 10 in Great Malvern
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbot Hotel

Address: Knightwick WR6 5PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Malvern Hills > Knightwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Knightwick
Price Range: $141 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbot Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 15th Century Inn, serving great real ales brewed in its own brewery, and good food from local produce, with en-suite bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your The Talbot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talbot Hotel Knightwick
The Talbot Hotel Knightwick, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing