We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel really enjoyed our stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gainsborough House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kidderminster
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I would definitely stay here again and recommend to others. Lovely room, very clean, had everything u needed and kingsize comfy bed. Evening meal was fantastic and service quick and faultless. Breakfast was lovely, plenty of it hot and cold food. Well done gainsborough :-)

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clairet38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob K, Public Relations Manager at Gainsborough House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you for your kind words. The team at the hotel always attempt to maintain the highest standards and we greatly appreciate your feedback. We would love to be of service to you again in the future and truly appreciate your recommendation for other travellers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (517)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

447 - 453 of 517 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2013

we recently stayed at the Gainsborough House Hotel after having a works party here for the third year running. The hotel rooms are so lovely and welcoming the staff are all on hand to help with anything and they made our stay a very memorable stay and this is where I will be heading next time I need a venue for something special xx Thanks Gainsborough

Room Tip: just ask, if they can help they will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisadave_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob K, Public Relations Manager at Gainsborough House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

So happy to hear that your "works party" went to plan once again and we look forward to hosting you for many years to come. In the meantime we would be more than happy to accommodate you for any special occasions you may have and the team truly appreciate your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed here a few weeks ago as my works-do was here. The function room we had was great, equiped with bar and a plentiful dance floor. The twin room was a brilliant size for £60 a night with breakfast, it was really clean and warm with an excellent sized bath as well! It was modern, the beds were comfortable and it had everything we needed.
The staff were really welcoming and polite, even when we lost our key card they were more than happy to replace it.
Breakfast was a buffet and had a wide variety, set in a large and well lit room.
Although i just stayed here for convinence I greatly enjoyed it and will definantly be staying again for a special occasion.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carley-Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob K, Public Relations Manager at Gainsborough House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Great to hear that you enjoyed your 'works do' at the hotel. It is always good to receive feedback and very encouraging when there are positive comments. We always do our utmost in maintaining our facilities to the highest standard throughout from function rooms to bedrooms. Breakfast is always a key part of any stay in a hotel and I'm happy to hear that the choice and the setting of the breakfast buffet met with your approval.

Look forward to having you stay with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

My wife and I chose this hotel originally as it was part of a free night package, but we also opted for a second night as we were doing a beer brewing day at Sadler's brewery in nearby Stourbridge. The hotel was easy to find, and with plenty of parking. The lady on the reception, was very welcoming and friendly, and was full of knowledge of the local area, telling us how to get into the town centre, and where to park. Our room was a good size, kingsize bed, tv on wall, tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryer, spare pillows, table, chairs, aircon, big bathroom, toiletries supplied. Nothing more needed. The bed was extremely comfortable, slept incredibly well, until 5.30am when the heating pipes started making some noise......not enough that I couldnt get back to sleep I hasten to add, but made me jump!! Also not enough to downgrade rating. We didnt use the bar, or restaurant, but choice of food looked good, and maybe they should supply some more local ales/beers in the bar. Breakfast was excellent....I love a good buffet breakfast, and this had all you needed, fruit, cereals, croissants, toast, egg, back bacon, sausage, hash browns, beans, tomatoes, mushrooms, and lots of tea/coffee and fruit juices. Easy checkout, and a great price. Had a lovely stay, and the staff we came in contact with were very friendly and helpful. Thankyou.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob K, Public Relations Manager at Gainsborough House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. It was good to hear that you found us easily on the main A456 and it's always comforting for us to know that guests will have free ample parking when they visit.

We do our utmost to train staff to be well informed of the local area and it was pleasing to hear your positive comments on our reception staffs knowledge. It was also good to know that you were happy with all the bedroom facilities. We have looked into the problem of the pipes and have been ensured by our maintenance team that the problem has now been rectified, so thank you for bringing it to our attention and apologies for the disturbance it caused.

Hopefully on your next visit we can entice you to dinner in our restaurant, where we would look to replicate the excellent breakfast that you experienced on this occasion. We will also be looking at stocking more local ales/beers. Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to having you stay again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Gainsborough for our wedding anniversary this week. Definitely a good choice !
The hotel is very nicely styled; comfortable rooms, modern bathrooms, modern restaurant serving delicious food, and very friendly and helpful staff and the addition of a stair lift to the upper floors for those unable to manage the stairs.
We arrived on the Wednesday and decided to eat in the restaurant. We both chose the Duck Breast to for our mains, and Baileys bread and butter pudding for our desserts. Both excellent...well cooked and well presented.
The following day was Valentines Day, and we had booked a table in the restaurant for the special Valentines meal. We were not disappointed. Four courses for £59 per couple. Very good value, and again well cooked and very well presented. The staff were excellent; attentive without being intrusive. A lovely surprise at the end of the meal was the single red rose presented to the man to give to his lady.....a delightful end to our anniversary meal !
We only had one problem with our stay. The heater in our room didn't heat...it just blew out cold air...even after it had been 'fixed' !...However the staff were fabulous and soon supplied us with a heater which warmed us up !
All in all our stay at the Gainsborough was very enjoyable and very good value. Highly recommended !

Room Tip: Our room was positioned to the side of the building.....very quite no road noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AudreyL47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

People talk about how your Wedding Day is the best day of your life and how perfect it is and how they wouldn't change a thing......Well it is true !!!!!
We got married at The Gainsborough on Saturday 27th October 2012 and it was fabulous. All the staff were so friendly and helpful and Jill the Wedding Planner could not have done more for us, she made the whole process of planning easy for us, and calmed us down and things went perfectly to plan without a hitch.
Everyone commented on how delicious all the food was and how the layout of the food was beautiful too. All in all it was the best day of our lives, and the other wonderful thing for us too is how so many beautiful memories were made for us on that day, that will stay with us for the rest of our lives…..and that is down to Jill and the rest of the staff at The Gainsborough House Hotel. Thanks to you all xx

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

My partner and I chose this as our wedding venue right from the proposal of marriage. We were not disappointed. You get what you pay for and even more! The staff were excellent and very accommodating to our needs and the food was excellent; all the guests were complementing my wife and I on the choices of food prepared by the staff.

Special mention goes to Viv and Jill; both of these ladies are excellent people; we couldnt have had better hosts for our wedding. Thanks from Jamie & Tash

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kidderminster
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Kidderminster
Travelodge Kidderminster
#1 of 5 in Kidderminster
446 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mercure Bewdley The Heath Hotel
3 mi away
The Granary Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
#1 of 1 in Stourport on Severn
1,005 reviews
2.1 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bewdley
452 reviews
3 mi away
Hogarths Stone Manor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gainsborough House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gainsborough House Hotel

Address: Bewdley Hill, Kidderminster DY11 6BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Kidderminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kidderminster
Price Range: $89 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gainsborough House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gainsborough House Hotel is a listed Georgian house situated in the beautiful county of Worcestershire, providing all the features required from modern day life yet retaining every ounce of its original charm. Just a short walk from Kidderminster town centre and a short drive from the idyllic town of Bewdley, we're perfectly positioned whether you desire a lively shopping experience, the regions businesses or a day of quiet relaxation. Whatever you're looking to get from Kidderminster, Gainsborough House Hotel is the perfect place to call home while you're here. After undergoing comprehensive modernization, every one of the hotels 42 bedrooms delivers unrivalled contemporary luxury. Accompanying these, Gainsborough House Hotel boasts an in-house restaurant serving freshly prepared cuisine, crafted from locally sourced produce by our team of masterful chefs. Our romantic listed house is also available all year round for Civil Ceremonies, Wedding Breakfasts and Evening Receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gainsborough House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gainsborough Hotel Kidderminster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing