We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gainsborough House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kidderminster
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Ideally situated for visiting family and sightseeing - Severn Valley Railway, Bewdley, Stourport and Ironbridge. Room pleasantly warm, comfortable bed, decent shower and very clean. No noise disturbance despite disco party on Saturday evening! Good selection of food at Breakfast but tea in an insulated dispenser is not ideal - though fruit teas are available and freshly brewed. Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sugarplum48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Public Relations Manager at Gainsborough House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Glad to hear you appreciated our unique location, there really is a wealth of fantastic days out nearby! Since you stayed, and as a result of your comments, we’ve actually replaced the insulated dispensers with large tea & coffee pots, so please don’t let this taint an otherwise seemingly excellent stay. Please do come see us again soon, we’ll be delighted to welcome you back and look forward to our new tea & coffee pots getting your personal seal of approval.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (509)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

456 - 462 of 509 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed two nights while visiting the safari park for which this hotel is ideally situated.

All the staff were polite, friendly and helpful - they seemed really interested in us and how we'd enjoyed our day at the park.

The rooms might be standard, but are clean and well equipped, with everything working properly. The bar is nicely laid out (and least during our stay) quiet. The free wi-fi worked flawlessly.

The breakfast service is probably the best I've ever had in a hotel - it might not be waiter service, but this is a breakfast buffet done properly.

I had a very tough steak at an evening meal - I was impressed at an immediate offer to reduce the price of my meal.

If we ever need a hotel in this area again, this will be our first choice.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We booked the West Midland Safari Park package and stayed for one night with our two young children and baby. The room was pretty standard, nothing exciting, but did the job and was in the right location. The same could be said for breakfast; the quality and choice of food was decent, but not spectacular. The quality of service and attitude of the staff however, exceeded expectations. Everyone we met was very polite and helpful, the receptionist was particularly helpful when we checked in, even phoning the safari park to find answers to our questions. In addition the staff at breakfast were really friendly they quickly welcomed us and found us a highchair and I also observed them going out of their way to help an older lady at another table. Generally I got the impression that they enjoyed working there and that the place was well run. Overall, I'd definitely use the hotel again if I had reason to, it was a positive stay for us.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tcz_8127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We decided to make a surprise trip to family and went on Lastminute.com and booked ourselves into the Gainsborough Hotel, Kidderminster. We would recommend this Hotel to anyone the Staff are very friendly and attentive the rooms are well appointed, clean and the beds are a dream. The Breakfast is amazing with so much choice and the cooked breakfast is pipping hot and so tasty. We will definitely be back and for a longer stay next time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Stayed 2 nights staff very helpful & friendly. Breakfast & dinner very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hatonhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Was a stay before we went to the West Midlands Safari Park the day after.
The room was modern, clean, large and spacious. Had iron, hair dryer, kettle etc.
Bar area was great. Not too busy just ideal meant that our little one could sleep on the couch as we enjoyed our evening.
Breakfast- a great selection of foods for both people who ate meats and are veggie. Also had a good choice of cereals which meant our little one had a decent amount of food to start her day.
We were able to buy our discounted tickets for the safari park from here which was a great bonus.
Would definetly recommend this hotel. Friendly staff and great service. Would cetainly stay here again.

Room Tip: We asked for a queen bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SiennaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Iv stayed at this hotel many times while attending functions here , Its very modern and the decor is fab. I presume they have spent quiet abit on the refurbishment as it was always very dated previously! The rooms are very spacious ,well presented and clean . The restaurant serves really fresh good food not just your typical hotel menu, breakfast is a buffet but i have always had lovely hot food which is usually the problem with buffets. Service is good nothing is to much trouble. Would highly recommend this hotel in for a stay in kidderminster much better than the other local hotels i.e travelodge and premier inn and you get much more for your money.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nikkne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kidderminster
1.1 mi away
Mercure Bewdley The Heath Hotel
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Kidderminster
Travelodge Kidderminster
#1 of 5 in Kidderminster
432 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
#1 of 1 in Stourport on Severn
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Hogarths Stone Manor
3 mi away
The Granary Hotel and Restaurant
2.1 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bewdley
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gainsborough House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gainsborough House Hotel

Address: Bewdley Hill, Kidderminster DY11 6BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Kidderminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kidderminster
Price Range: $82 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gainsborough House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gainsborough House Hotel is a listed Georgian house situated in the beautiful county of Worcestershire, providing all the features required from modern day life yet retaining every ounce of its original charm. Just a short walk from Kidderminster town centre and a short drive from the idyllic town of Bewdley, we're perfectly positioned whether you desire a lively shopping experience, the regions businesses or a day of quiet relaxation. Whatever you're looking to get from Kidderminster, Gainsborough House Hotel is the perfect place to call home while you're here. After undergoing comprehensive modernization, every one of the hotels 42 bedrooms delivers unrivalled contemporary luxury. Accompanying these, Gainsborough House Hotel boasts an in-house restaurant serving freshly prepared cuisine, crafted from locally sourced produce by our team of masterful chefs. Our romantic listed house is also available all year round for Civil Ceremonies, Wedding Breakfasts and Evening Receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Gainsborough House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gainsborough Hotel Kidderminster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing