We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The rise and fall of a way of life”
Review of Museum of Carpet

Museum of Carpet
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located inside Stour Vale Mill, a beautiful Grade 2 listed building. The Mill was built in 1855 as a carpet factory and until recently it was part of Woodward Grosvenor, carpet manufacturers. We are the only museum in the country that is devoted to carpets and carpet making. Kidderminster has had close association with the carpet industry from the 1700s. The Carpet Museum Trust was established in 1981. As the industry contracted, the Trust began to collect machinery, artefacts, archives and libraries from the numerous firms in the town. The Trust now has a good collection of machinery showing the important stages in the technical development of carpet making as well as ancillary equipment. There are collections of archives in a variety of forms, ledgers, board minutes, deeds, accounts that have also been acquired from many of the companies around the town. There is also a collection of around 3000 carpet designs, many by significant designers such as Charles Voysey, Edouard Glorget and Bernat Klein. The samples of rugs and carpets illustrate most of the types of carpets, the different fibres and dyes, and the changing styles of design.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access
Reviewed September 20, 2013

The history of the Carpet making industry and the social economic benefits it brought to the town but equally how the skills of the workforce were adapted to make munitions in the Second WW.
Downside was only two and half hours allowed on adjoining Morrissons car park

1  Thank Scottbradwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"design your own"
in 5 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 17 reviews
"live demonstrations"
in 3 reviews
"interactive displays"
in 4 reviews
"interesting visit"
in 5 reviews
"love food"
in 2 reviews
"friendly volunteers"
in 4 reviews
"fascinating insight"
in 3 reviews
"industrial history"
in 2 reviews
"well worth the entrance fee"
in 2 reviews
"thoroughly recommend a visit"
in 2 reviews
"dressing up"
in 2 reviews
"see separate review"
in 2 reviews
"two hours"
in 5 reviews
"learn something"
in 2 reviews
"children aged"
in 2 reviews
"volunteer guides"
in 2 reviews
Filter

126 - 130 of 141 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

super place to visit especially if you had ancestors in the carpet industry,I Spoke to a great chap in there about the work my Ancestors did,,he was able to tell me and show me the work they did will .be back very soon. Give yourself time to look.!

1  Thank chay5459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline T, Manager at Museum of Carpet, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2015

Thanks for your kind review. The Museum has a dedicated team of volunteers, many of whom worked in the industry for years, and they are especially keen to share their knowledge and their memories of the trade with our visitors.

Don't forget if you're looking for things to do over the summer months, we've got a great programme of summer activities aimed at children and adults alike - craft based things to do and make, science based fun, arts activities - so there is always plenty to see and do if you visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I have lived in Kidderminster for over 26 years and when I moved here, I knew very little about the history of the town. I was told it was famous for carpets and that was about it! However, my visit to the museum has really opened my eyes to how big the industry was! I didn't think I would spend as much time at the museum as I did (nearly 2 hours). This museum had been talked about flor many years and at last it is up and running and is housed in one of the old carpet factory buildings. We were shown how various aspects of carpet weaving were carried out and told about some of the jobs the workers did. I was particularly interested in learning about the families who originally set up the early carpet companies as it explained where a lot of the street names in Kidderminster came from,
Thank you to the very friendly and knowledgable staff and can recommend it to anyone with an interest in our industrial heritage.

1  Thank Maz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline T, Manager at Museum of Carpet, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2015

Thanks for your kind review. The Museum has a dedicated team of volunteers, many of whom worked in the industry for years, and they are especially keen to share their knowledge and their memories of the trade with our visitors.

Don't forget if you're looking for things to do over the summer months, we've got a great programme of summer activities aimed at children and adults alike - craft based things to do and make, science based fun, arts activities - so there is always plenty to see and do if you visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is placed in the entrance to a supermarket...not very big and maybe not worth a special visit unless combined with a weekly shop! Have to say that the cafe in the supermarket is quite good for a drink and lite bite.

1  Thank Kathleen_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula K, Manager at Museum of Carpet, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Hi! Really pleased you were able to pop in and look around. We are doing lots of things over the summer for the school holidays too. Unfortunately we aren't able to have a cafe in the Museum, pleased you found the one at Morrisons good. I would also recommend a great little place across the road from us, Love Food Italia, it's run by a local guy, I think it serves the best coffee in Kidderminster!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2013

If you have ANY interest in carpet making, then it's a must. Plenty of childrens stuff too. Thurs + Sat noon the looms weave, otherwise its all on screens.
Morrisons is attached, so a restaurant is on hand!

1  Thank graham031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline T, Manager at Museum of Carpet, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2015

Wow! what a fantastic response and we've ignored your comments up until now! We're sorry for not thanking you for your incredibly positive words about the Museum.

The Museum has a dedicated team of volunteers, many of whom worked in the industry for years, and they are especially keen to share their knowledge and their memories of the trade with our visitors.

Don't forget if you're looking for things to do over the summer months, we've got a great programme of summer activities aimed at children and adults alike - craft based things to do and make, science based fun, arts activities - so there is always plenty to see and do if you visit.

Our new exhibition, Podtastic Podules, is a bit different - giant textile shapes that you can clamber in and out of exploring the many different uses for textiles. Why not pop along and spend a day with us?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Carpet also viewed

Kidderminster, Worcestershire
Kidderminster, Worcestershire
 

Been to Museum of Carpet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing