We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food”
Review of China Lodge

China Lodge
Ranked #9 of 127 Restaurants in Kidderminster
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Worcestershire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife and I dined her after reading good reviews and I found that in general they were right.
The food is very good and portions are not small, a little expensive but not too bad. The service was good but a little over attentive, sometimes I felt we were being watched to see if we had finished too much and the lighting is quite cool which you may like but I didn't.
Overall I would visit again as the food is very good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    104
    39
    19
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kidderminster Worcs
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Chinese New Year Banquet”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

My husband and I ate at the China Lodge last night. It was our first visit and we decided to have the New Year Banquet meal.. We were met on arrival and given a choice of several tables. The service was excellent and the food was fresh and delicious. The banquet meal gave us so much choice, 4 different starters, crispy duck and pancakes and then 4 main courses.The fried rice came wrapped in a lotus leaf which was rather a nice touch.The meal including 2 rounds of drinks came to around £48. Excellent value. Cant wait to visit again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank habberley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Happy Chinese New Year - or not at China Lodge”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

This was our first visit to this restaurant which opened late last year. There is no one to welcome you when you arrive and you are left feeling awkward while you wait for someone to show you to your table. We ordered drinks which arrived promptly and our order was taken. Unfortunately they don't do half portions for children! The food was hot and very tasty. My son had lemon chicken which he really enjoyed. Portion sizes were good. Unfortunately the waiting staff need more training. They looked at our table when we had finished several times but ignored us. Eventually a young waiter came over and we asked if we could keep the rice and the rest of the chicken dish as my son could not eat it all. He said yes then proceeded to stack all the dishes on top of each other so the food we wanted to keep was now squashed under other dishes!!!! He didn't come back and clean the table or move used napkins etc., Happy new year not a China Lodge, there were no fortune cookies no one wished us happy new year and when we came to leave once again there was no one around to speak to!!!!

I f you want a take away the food is fine if you want a good dining experience don't eat in!! The bill for 2 adults and a child two starters 3 mains and 1 ice cream 2 beers and 2 soft drinks £65.45

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Fabulous Chinese Food”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Five of us went for Sunday lunch. The restaurant was not busy, so the service was really very good. But the food was even better. Its not cheap, but the quality and the portions were really good. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TWinster13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Quality, authentic Chinese”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Our first visit to this restaurant, which is relatively new to the town. The surroundings are tastefully furnished, and obviously new. Staff are attentive and speak very good English. The menu is extensive and the choice we made was freshly cooked, hot, and very tasty.
With not a lot of other "sit down" alternatives in the area, this gets our vote for the best ambience and quality of food and service, though some will say that the prices are a little on the high side -
we paid £40 for 2 courses each, with drinks and tip. We will return

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ElaineG973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Lodge also viewed

Kidderminster, Worcestershire
Kidderminster, Worcestershire
 
Kidderminster, Worcestershire
Kidderminster, Worcestershire
 

Been to China Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing