We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Parking Hell”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Kidderminster Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kidderminster
Certificate of Excellence
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Parking Hell”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

I was taking a short vacation recently, I stayed in the Kidderminster PI as it was equidistant between things I wanted to do, one of which was the excellent Severn Valley Railway in Kidderminster.

The hotel is situated in a modern redevelopment of old carpet manufacturing factories, most of which has been converted to shops and a few restaurants (Pizza Hut & similar). The hotel itself is a fabulous redevelopment of one of the original buildings.

The problem though is the parking, which is "buy a ticket from the machine when you arrive" type. The period where you have to have a ticket is 8am to 6.30pm. Costs are reasonable unless you want to park for more than 4 hours, at which point the cost becomes £10, all of which has to be paid for using coins. Start hoarding coins now. The list of rules is long, and includes gems such as no return within 4 hours, and maximum parking 23 hours in every 24.

The consequence of this is that your visit becomes less of a vacation, and more of a Parking Strategy. To be fair to the Premier Inn, their staff were extremely helpful, with lots of useful suggestions/advice, such as

- unused fee at 6.30pm is rolled over to the next day, so you dont need to start feeding the meter first thing
- The Tesco car park next door is free for 2 hours
- The station car park is only £3 for the full day

So there were good things about the hotel - clean rooms, comfy bed, excellent staff, adjacent to a canal which made for nice walks, convenient for shops etc. BUT this was all offset by the problematic parking. My suggestion is you avoid this hotel until the management cut an appropriate deal with the council on car parking.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Kidderminster Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    175
    33
    9
    8
See reviews for
261
186
38
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winslow
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

The helpful staff here made our stay even more ejoyable. The upside-down design of the hotel was a novelty with the reception and restaurant on the top floor. Hotel location gave a good choice of eating places but we were happy with the in-house facilties.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed here for one night on a saturday evening in June. Good location near the shops in Kidderminster and we weren't disturbed buy any noise in the evening.

Room was clean, modern and had all the necessary facilities and a comfy bed of course.

They offered breakfast but we opted for frankie and bennies next door as it was cheaper however the food and service wasn't great and we regretted not eating in the hotel.

The only negative would be the parking, the car park can get quite busy as you park in the same car park used for shopping and we were a little worried about the security. You have to pay for parking but it is not expensive.

Overall good value for money and just what you expect from a premier inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraOEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottershaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

This is a lively hotel! An old works building with floor to ceiling windows and big rooms! As with all Premier Inns, it's basic facilities, but the location is great, in a retail park in the centre if town. Sat Nav on Google maps sends you round the back to Jewsons, so keep an eye out for the retail park as you get close! Parking is free from 6:30 to 8am and chargeable otherwise! All in all, really lovely for a budget hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louisamaskell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights for a family function in the area - staff were superb and breakfast was good value for money. Great use of an old building rather than creating a characterless new hotel. Problem with room on first night was dealt with quickly and by the time we returned from our day out we had been relocated to a new room and all of our luggage had been carefully moved as well. Thank you so much - a premier service once again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IkarianHunters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Would highly recommend this Hotel. It is a little weird that you had to go up to the 4th floor for reception but all the same a delightfully quirky place this upside-down hotel is, a newish (1 year old) of what used to be the old Carpet Mill unusual setting the renovated Slingfield Mill in Weaver's Wharf and luckily the designers managed to keep at lot of the features of the old building beams, old brickwork etc and used it to the advantage of the hotel, everything is as you'd like it to be. But it's really weird coming in at ground floor, taking the lift to Reception on the 4th floor, and then descending to the 2nd or 3rd floors to your room. It's not a problem, just a bit confusing when you're trying to remember where to go for breakfast.

When we arrived we were greeted by Chris who was on Reception, He could not have been more helpful, he took me along to see a couple of different rooms, to make sure I had one that was comfortable for my needs, Room 110, nice bathroom, very good shower, no toiletries apart from hand and shower soap dispensers, plenty of towels, basic tea & coffee making facilities, hair drier. plenty of power sockets for phone chargers, laptops etc, but beware if you bring a rechargeable electric shaver: there is no shaver socket in the bathroom. Illuminated mirror, plenty of towels and pillows,
There is a 23" flat screen Samsung TV with the ability to plug in composite, VGA and HDMI cables and change the source. We brought an iPad you get 30mins free WIFI, HDMI so we can watch your own films etc on it. Works very well. TV has regulate Freeview..
Bed was firm but not too firm, you cannot open any windows due to the structure of the building but there is air con which you can change the settings to your preference.

Dan duty manager wrote a note to but in the windscreen of my car as you only get 3hrs free parking with a Blue Badge and that would have meant coming down every three hours to change the time, so he wrote a note confirming that we were guests at the Hotel. (Pay and display so you have to pay up to 6.30pm. After 6.30pm is free until 8am,without Blue Badge).

This is a very small Premier Inn so no pub attached. The restaurant hasn't got many tables but nicely laid out and is a grill only affair nothing fancy other than burgers, steaks and Caesar Salad, burgers. No bar either so everything including beer is bottled.
We had dinner on the first night, we were greeted by Chris again and Amy. Nothing was to much again, Amy had me in stitches, especially when I told hr I wanted a starter of firey Chicken wings and Salad for my main, my Partner had the Chicken curry.

Breakfast (£8 for adults, free for the kids) is popular so get up early or you may have to wait for a free table.
Averil greeted us in the morning, she has a smile to illuminate any ones day off to a good start she took the time to ask what we wanted, if everything was fine and if we wanted anything else or more and took the time to talk to us, the Chef and the waiting staff are top notch, I must mention especially the great chef who`s name I cannot remember, he makes a fantastic pouched egg as had 2 with my breakfast and both perfectly done, runny and tasty, all-you-can-eat buffet breakfast is plentiful.

The staff are what makes this hotel fantastic, staff members were genuinely friendly and very polite. I have never stayed in an hotel of any rating where I could praise the staff as much. From the minute you arrive to when you leave they are all just great. Well done team.

Well done; Dan, Amy,Chris Averil

(There is no pool I clicked by accident)

Room Tip: We had room 110, which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timeoutqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Booked this hotel on the basis that tripadvisor had it ranked as one of the top ten hotels in the country. For the price it is excellent but one of the top ten, well i'll leave that for others to argue. What is top ten in Dan, one of the lads who works there, Anyone who rings his mum,dad and grandma to find directions to a pub we wanted to go to really is excelling in his job, so cheers Dan. Sleep quality excellent.
First Morning there we had breakfast in Frankie and bennys next door. It was Rubbish compared to the excellent all you could eat buffet we had the following morning at this Hotel. It really does set you up for the day.
What is a proper faff about is the carparking. Yes its on the doorstep of the hotel but its a royal pita.
As I have said it is an excellent base for the black country tec, but if you fancy a bit of retail shopping, again it is on the doorstep.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy2603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kidderminster
0.7 mi away
Gainsborough House Hotel
Gainsborough House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kidderminster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mercure Kidderminster Hotel
2.8 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bewdley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Granary Hotel and Restaurant
3.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
#1 of 1 in Stourport on Severn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hogarths Stone Manor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Kidderminster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Kidderminster Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Kidderminster Hotel
Address: Weavers Wharf | Slingfield Mill, Kidderminster DY10 1AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Kidderminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kidderminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Kidderminster Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is a grade II listed converted mill, with a bar that has an almost New York loft atmosphere. A great base to explore Kidderminster and the Worcestershire countryside - and we're close to West Midlands Safari Park and Severn Valley Railway too. After all the adventure, it's time for some serious relaxing in The Kitchen restaurant then in our extra-comfy beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Kidderminster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing