We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chef & Brewer”
Review of Mare & Colt

Mare & Colt
Ranked #34 of 122 Restaurants in Kidderminster
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Chef & Brewer”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We were disappointed with our experience at The Grange in Chelmsford, Essex. We were encouraged to visit this pub to take advantage of the widely advertised "Real Ale Festival". There was real ale information posted up in the bar and a chalk board showing the choices of real ale available but none was for sale. When we complained we were told they had the beer on site but nobody to change the barrels. This was 7.30 on a Saturday evening and the situation remained the same all night. We had a meal in the restaurant, which was satisfactory, (when it arrived) and the staff were friendly. However, despite not being busy, with many empty tables, the service was painfully slow. All six members of our party were disappointed and we agreed we would not be returning to this venue.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mal206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    118
    82
    55
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NZ
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Chef and Brewer are you listening?”
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Bad experience last time, desperate for somewhere to eat so we thought we'd give the Mare and colt one last go. From the inebriated customer serving himself behind the bar to the 30 minute wait for underdone scampi, overdone chips, uncooked pasta and a chicken "special" that was so special my wife couldn't eat it, we had an awful experience. And the response from the barmaid? No apology, just have it and we won't charge you. Then she walked off. I have no idea where the suspicious 5 star reviews come from as this place doles out inedible microwaved garbage. This restaurant should be a gold mine for chef and brewer, not the rubbish dump it so obviously is. Goodbye for ever, chef and brewer pubs.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mustb5star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Mare & Colt, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear mustb5star

Thank for taking the time to provide us with your review.

I would like to apologise that we failed to meet your expectations at the Mare & Colt in regards to the service you received. I can confirm that I have passed on your concerns to the management team who would like to investigate your feedback. We have sent you a direct message to discuss this further.

Kind regards

Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Lovely food, great staff!”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We stopped off for lunch yesterday at the Mare and Colt - it was busy, but we were greeted by a waitress and served drinks at our table without having to wait at the bar. The menu was very good, I went for the Fish and Chips and my husband had the Chicken Milano.... our waitress was very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We had a garlic flatbread to start which was bought to us by the landlady, Sara, and she was lovely too! So bubbly and obviously enjoys her job immensely. Our drinks were reasonably priced and the main courses were excellent, we thoroughly enjoyed our meal.... had a lovely chat with Sara at the till whilst paying, she really is a great mine host! Thanks for a wonderful lunch and well done to all the staff for being really efficient and pleasant.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StephR3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD. AWFUL SERVICE”
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Visited today for lunch and have to say the food was very good. Well presented, hot and tasty. The service however is another matter. After waiting a few minutes for someone to acknowledge us we were told abruptly to just sit anywhere. We chose a table and waited about 10 minutes before being offered drinks from a man behind the bar. He made no eye contact and it seemed as if we were an inconvenience. The drinks and food did arrive promptly but this place seriously needs some experienced staff with some enthusiasm. I wondered around to find only 7 or 8 other tables in at 1.30 so hardly busy. The 2 waitresses were running around doing not very much. Everything just semed chaotic. Tables that were uncleared when we arrived from previous diners remained uncleared when we left. The waitresses walked straight past them whilst they could have been cleared on the way back to kitchen or bar. Just basic training for restaurant staff!!!!! We will go again as the food is very reasonably priced and really delicious. Hopefully the staff situation will improve as it does let this lovely pub down.

Helpful?
1 Thank getinthebowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely family party venue”
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

We recently attended a party for my brother-in law's 65th birthday and were very impressed with the food and the service. The staff were unfailingly patient, with a gathering of about 28 people all arriving at different times and nattering instead of deciding what to eat! Our waitress was charming, got everyone's orders with a minimum of fuss and the food all arrived at the same time and was delicious. Highly recommended.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Beryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mare & Colt also viewed

Bewdley, Worcestershire
Kidderminster, Worcestershire
 
Kidderminster, Worcestershire
Kidderminster, Worcestershire
 

Been to Mare & Colt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing