We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 for 1 - mmmmmm???”
Review of Park Gate Inn

Park Gate Inn
Ranked #100 of 126 Restaurants in Kidderminster
Price range: $7 - $21
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“2 for 1 - mmmmmm???”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Staff were fine and helpful.
Meals for our group were variable and 2 for 1 on Main Meals fools you.
£10+ for pub fish and chips is a bit excessive and my choice of Lancashire Hotpot was abysmal - small portion, boiled potatoes, much gravy, meat difficult to spot, and puzzled at addition of a half french stick and butter. Need to check recipe or visit Lancashire.
Won`t be hurrying back there.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    79
    62
    52
    85
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Yet again staff a nightmare!”
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

This is the second review I have written because I'm incensed! Foods ok but the staff are another matter. The management need to get these people doing the job they are paid for. Too much chatting with mates, not enough customer care.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Withymoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Would visit again.....”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Service & food (2 for1) were very good & the atmosphere was very pleasant, the pub in general was busy but not too busy. Would definitely re-visit this pub again.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Useless Staff”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is one of those places you drive passed a thousand times and think "I must give that place a go" so my wife and I took our 2 boys for an early evening meal, New Year's day.
I have always received emails from Marston's, telling how warm and friendly the welcome is.... So here goes....
We walked in... The place was very quiet. Still No welcome/greet
I asked for a pint of the "Ale of the week". Looking at me with a blank expression the young guy behind the bar asked me, "Have we got that one in?"
I replied "You work here.You tell me!"
Then we sat, totally ignored by three staff, one of which had to finish what must have been a really important conversation with her colleague. Important enough for us to remain ignored for a further 15 minutes!
Eventually, the food arrived. The kids' burgers looked impressive. This was overshadowed by the fact that my wife's medium steak was cold through. Accordingly, it was returned to the kitchen.
We also ordered a bottle of red wine and 2 glasses with the main course. The glasses and the wine never arrived.
Overall, a pretty woeful dining experience. One never to be repeated.
I honestly believe that none of the Management here have never read a single review on this place. The staff here are utterly useless and need replacing.
If you are thinking of dining out with friends or family, I would strongly recommend giving the Park Gate Inn a miss. Total disappointment.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Steakbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Usual good quality”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Love this pub. Always cheerful staff and an extensive varied menu especially the specials board. Can eat indoors or outdoors during the summer (?)
A bargain at 2 for 1

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ryecroft11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Park Gate Inn also viewed

Kidderminster, Worcestershire
Kidderminster, Worcestershire
 
Kidderminster, Worcestershire
Bromsgrove, Worcestershire
 

Been to Park Gate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing