We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disgusting service” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Papaya

Papaya
Ranked #27 of 117 Restaurants in Kidderminster
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disgusting service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

I have been to papaya before but never had service as terrrible as this. Firstly we waited an hour for our food, it was busy so I didn't mind as much but when we asked when it was coming we were told "in a bit" with no apology or acknowledgement of the wait. They then forgot my rice in which they brought out a few minutes later and just shoved it on my plate without a sorry or a smile. Again during the meal noone asked if we were enjoying it. Then after the meal the waiter constantly banged the plates while taking them away as if he was in a mood then the receipt was just shoved on the table without being asked for desert or any other drinks like they wanted to get rid of us. When I went to complain to the supervisor/manager he just argued back, didn't believe we asked where our food was and wouldn't accept the feedback or apologise for it. We got 10% off but I was left disgusted with the service and will never go there again.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    30
    10
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disgusting”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

I have been there sometime the food was good before now the food, service is disgusting. The waiters dont talk they just dump the food like you are a dog (the bold guy). Have you been in the kitchen? Its Disgusting

  • Visited December 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank alan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzhou, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food and friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

Eaten here twice this month, both times I've been delighted by the quality of food. Great value for money. Will be back

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rsnape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster
Level Contributor
58 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Not The Best”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2010

In a very competitive market Papaya comes up short in my opinion, ive visited several times only to be dissapointed. The food is average at best and the prices are aimed at the higher end of the market. Not worth the money IMO.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Currymonster79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good Food, Not So Good Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2009

We only ate here once and have not been back. It was reccomended to us by a friend. The food was good, no issues there, but the service left a lot to be desired. They took ages to serve us, the wine was lukewarm and we had to ask for a cooler. The atmosphere wasn't great but it was ok for the money.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 92Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papaya also viewed

Kidderminster, Worcestershire
Kidderminster, Worcestershire
 
Kidderminster, Worcestershire
Kidderminster, Worcestershire
 

Been to Papaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing