We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Review Highlights
On the right track

Excuse the heading ,The railway runs from Bridgnorth to Kidderminster both are a short distance... read more

Reviewed yesterday
peterharvey492017
,
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
via mobile
IDEAL FOR KIDS

For kids who like Harry Potter or want to know what it was like in days gone by this is a very good... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Bigbigroy
,
Telford, United Kingdom
Read all 2,453 reviews
  
Reviews (2,453)
Filter reviews
2,453 results
Traveler rating
1,759
482
113
46
53
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,759
482
113
46
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviews engine house severn valley kidderminster station return journey murder mystery steam engine hampton loade day ticket rolling stock sunday lunch beautiful countryside line ticket lovely trip rover ticket steam gala step back in time buffet car
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 2,453 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went to the Seven Valley Rail Way for a day out. It was fantastic and I can't fault anything. The only thing I could winge about is the pointless plastic buckets they wanted to give us at the ticket office. Surely, in this day and age we should be getting away from giving plastic out. It was unneeded.

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank 18BrookesWE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We went as a family with our toddler for a day out on the train and what a lovely day it was! We set off from Bridgnorth and rode the line all the way to the end whilst getting on and off a few times. We paid for a day roamer and included was entry to the engine house at Highley which is very much worth a visit. We enjoyed Bewdley and went for a wander and food - lovely walks. Was not sure on Kidderminster. Nice at the station with the little museum and a place to get a drink and a light bite but ventured into town which is obviously like any other town so we wandered back!
We did have a minor issue which we contacted SVR about and they have been very helpful and responded very quickly which echos the experience we had on the day from the fantastic staff. The officers on our trains were always polite and friendly and I was helped on and off with the pram at each stop without having to ask, they were so lovely. There was a carriage where you could put a pram which was very handy with a little one!
All in all a fab day and would recommend it for anyone, especially if you have a little train enthusiast!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank ShropshirePassport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This was a really great day out - a real trip back in time! So much thought and attention to detail has gone into renovating this stretch of railway. We are not railway enthusiasts but could not have enjoyed the whole travel experience more, the pace of the steam train was very relaxing with wonderful views and interesting stops and informative written guides. Everyone working on the line clearly loves being involved in the railway which definitely adds to the enjoyment for passengers.
Wheelchair users may find it difficult to get on and off the trains although most of the staff are very helpful and there is an access ramp which can be requested. Wheelchairs have to be stored in the guards van and fortunately there are ways to get off the platform other than the overhead walkway for wheelchair users though none of this was apparent on the website it was a great relief to discover these options!
Arriving at or leaving Bridgnorth do use the foot bridge from outside the station to avoid the steep hill into the town which will render your carer disabled as well as you if don’t use the bridge!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank wheelz22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

booked a freedom of the line ticket and went on a term time week day,when we arrived 20 mins before the train departure time the car small car park and the small overflow was also full,we went aware there was a large car park around the back and luckily found it. On the train the staff were friendly and helpful, we stopped off at Highley which was interesting and has a nice play area and Royal mail train to go in, nice for kids. After going to the lovely station at Kidderminster and gift shop we boarded the train to return... Unfortunately there was a fire ahead somewhere on the line and we were kept waiting a total of 1hr 45 mins which we had to switch trains and wait again, after which the children understandably tired and restless got very fed up, as did the adults. This was a unfortunate and disappointing end to what had been a lovely day.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Stacey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just held our wedding reception at the Severn Valley Railway on the 30th August and we along with our guests enjoyed a superb wedding dinner aboard one of the railways beautiful dining carriages..
Everything about the day was perfect , from the carriage and the decor to the food and the service and to the beautiful train ride to Bridgnorth and return all behind a steam loco.
Everyone at the SVR were brilliant and so friendly and helpful and it all added up to a fantastic day which we and all of our guests will remember for a very long time and we cannot thank the staff at the SVR enough.
Already looking forward to our next visit.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank desd1504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews