We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth a visit”

Whitlenge Garden Centre and Tea Rooms
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Lovely gardens with tea room and play area. Great value for money and kids love it.

Well worth a visit, especially in the sunshine.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    31
    15
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pleasant gardens but facilities need updating.”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

On arrival I visited the café/shop for a bite to eat. After sitting at my table I soon realised I was next to the childrens play area which was very noisy. Fortunately I was able to move to another table further away. The staff were very friendly and the food was good for the price but I found the décor very tired and needing some refurbishment.
The toilets are separate from the café and in desperate need of improvement.
The cost of visiting the garden is advertised as £2 on the web site but the charge is now £3. The owners need to get this corrected.
The gardens are worth a visit but I found the café and reception facilities in need of updating to bring them up to the standard required today.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank colin186402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester UK
Level Contributor
93 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Tranquil gardens followed by a tasty meal”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

My wife and I visited the Whitlenge gardens and nursery recently and had a superb time. The gardens are tranquil and gave us loads of ideas for our own garden. The new Moongate is awesome and has to be seen to be believed!
We had a meal and drink in the tearooms afterwards which was tasty and reasonably priced.
If you are looking for a nice afternoon out in Worcestershire and are interested in gardening then this is well worth a visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rob-Bewdley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice food, informal, play area and gardens”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We met with friends for lunch and for the children to play. The food was lovely - all day breakfasts and lovely coffee. The informal arrangements of the cafe are nice with the childrens play corner and lack of any corporate feel.

We paid to walk around the gardens and being out of season there wasn't loads to see and parts were under construction. All the same, it was a nice walk and inexpensive. t was also good to explore and the children thought it was quit exciting.

The children played in the play area, again it is quite informal and home made - perhaps not up to the health and safety standards of some play areas. Not to much of a problem though. The maze area kept us occupied for a while - the children running around while we chatted!

We have been here many times and always enjoy it and will definitely be back and look forward to visiting in summer.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MommyJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
376 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“But the food was good.”
Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

We travelled approximately 20 miles to get to the garden and the garden itself does not justify this length of journey with a preponderance of shrubs and trees and very few flowering plants, none of which were notewothy or unusual. This was on an August bank holiday Monday. The garden centre itself was poorly stocked even allowing for it being late in the season. The home spun tea room has an eclectic collection of craft and gift items for sale, and the ambience is not necessarily to everyone's taste. However the food was home made and good with generous portions.

Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, Owner at Whitlenge Garden Centre and Tea Rooms, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry you felt the planting was disappointing. We are predominantly a mixed shrub and tree garden with over 800 separate varieties to which we are constantly adding to. Now that the shrubs are established we are concentrating this year on a influx of herbaceous to fill the awkward summer colour spot so we feel now we have all seasons covered.
We have recently finished a lot of new features in the garden including the fabulous Moongate and water wall, plus we are half way through the ‘’walk of the gods’’ feature with its own story to tell. So please re visit and enjoy our hard work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whitlenge Garden Centre and Tea Rooms also viewed

Kidderminster, Worcestershire
Hartlebury, Kidderminster
 

Been to Whitlenge Garden Centre and Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing