We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unearthed... the Bredon Hoard!”

Worcestershire County Museum at Hartlebury Castle
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Worcestershire County Museum, housed in historic Hartlebury Castle, explores the wonders of Worcestershire through displays of social history, costume, archaeology and an extensive collection of horse drawn vehicles and gypsy caravans. Evocative room sets from different eras also help visitors to discover what life was like for our ancestors. Various family events take place throughout the year. The site also has a café, shop, nature reserve & picnic areas.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Unearthed... the Bredon Hoard!”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Visited on 27th March 2013. A very cold day with some snow, so we didn't really do justice to the Cider Mill or the other outdoor displays, nor did we visit the wild life walks. Next Time!! The gypsy caravans and the vintage vehicles (horse drawn, bikes and a very rare three wheel car) were fantastic, and the commentaries excellent, especially the young people asking questions.
The museum itself is cleverly laid out, and the way round clearly marked. (stairs or a lift will take you to all three floors). There's just enough in each display to inform without boring, whatever age is looking! You'll find videos, interactive puzzles, costumes, doors to open, smells to inhale, sound effects, and objects to handle. We saw one of the two school parties busy re-enacting laundry and boot boy tasks, and having a great time in the Laundry...one of several rooms laid out as it would have been in Victorian times.

The Bredon Hill Hoard is amazing, set in the context of a display on money. It's well lit and displayed so that small children on foot can see, too. The story of the hoard's burial and discovery is simply explained....together with a Roman coin rubbing activity for those who want to take home a very personal momento. (Nothing about Bitcoins yet though...is this the next development in this display should it become permanent?)

The café was moderately busy, the food and coffee good , and the service friendly and welcoming. We didn't have to wait long for our meal or afternoon tea. (Our museum visit was a long one, (10 - 4.30pm)...but that's because we have the leisure to read every notice!

We hope to return to some of the activities planned for later in the year, and to see the Public Rooms in the Castle (opening from 1st April).

One worry...the toilets (very clean) are outside, so be sure and visit before going in!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank flylark2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    29
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A lovely place to visit even for just a few hours”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Called in here ( Mothering Sunday ) just for a few hours, worth going just to see the fantastic gypsy caravans here, helpful staff and interesting displays which change throughout the year. Bit disappointed with the cafe, they were struggling to cope.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
museummanager, Manager at Worcestershire County Museum at Hartlebury Castle, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Hi Amanda B. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to the County Museum this weekend. We were a little busier this Sunday that we had predicted so unfortunately it looks as if things would have been a little smoother if we had booked an extra member of staff for the Cafe (and if the fire alarm hadnt gone off!). Rest assured we will be booking extra cafe staff for all Mothers and Fathers Days events in the future. We hope to see you agian soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lots of interesting historic things to see with some interactive parts”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We went on Mothers Day 2013 with a 6yr old and baby - mothers admitted free. I had never been before, hubbie had been about 30 years ago and 6yr old had been recently on a school trip and enjoyed it. We went there as it had the offer and a cafe so we could have lunch.

It was a bitterly cold day so we fleetingly visited the outside displays. The exhibits were really interesting including the gypsy caravans in the barn and the only known surviving 3 wheeler sports car of some description which our son liked! The actual main house (hubbie told me it is a fortified manor with a moat, not a castle) had loads of interesting displays and information in a warren of rooms, all accessible on 3 floors by stairs and a lift. Some effort has been made to make parts of the rooms and displays interactive with dressing up, buttons to press, toys to play with etc. I could have spent a lot longer looking at and reading the displays though I had children to take care of.

Our son was disappointed that they didn't have the Victorian toys put out to play with as they did when he visited with school. Though he loved the train that went up and down the track when you pressed a button and the carousel that goes when you put in a 20p coin. He liked dressing up as a highway man and many other interactive activities. We may go back again at Easter when there are more activities planned. I liked to read about everyday life in the historic building and in Victorian times and see the rooms set-up as they would have been, and to read about customs like maypole dancing etc.

The only 2 gripes are that you have to go outside to the toilets and baby changing. I understand why this is, due to the historic nature of the building, though it is difficult in very cold weather to bundle and unbundle small children up a few times to go to the loo and for nappy changes. The other thing was that the cafe did not seem to be able to cope with the visitor numbers and the staff were obviously struggling and I think the chef stopped doing food after us as he had had enough! I would have been more than annoyed if we'd not been able to eat as we were all really hungry at 1.30pm. This problem may have been exacerbated by an earlier fire alarm that meant the building had to be evacuated and I assume the meals in the cafe were abandoned and had to be warmed up/re-done afterwards.

I would definitely go again though would go earlier or food if we plan on eating. In warmer weather there is an outside picnic area.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MommyJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
museummanager, Manager at Worcestershire County Museum at Hartlebury Castle, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Hi MommyJoe. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to the County Museum this weekend. In answer to your queries, I am afriad that currently we have no choice but to have the main toilet block outside of the main building, however, we would very much like to be able to move it inside at some point in the future and this will be considered when any future planning work takes place. Secondly, we were a little busier this Sunday that we had predicted so unfortunately it looks as if things would have been a little smoother if we had booked an extra member of staff for the Cafe (and if the fire alarm hadnt gone off!). We will have the maximum number of staff possible in the Cafe during the Easter holidays so if you do return then I believe you will be more satisfied with the Cafe service. I'm very gald you enjoyed the more interactive elements of the museum and I hope you get more time to have a proper look around some day. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Looking forward to going back”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I'd heard of and driven past this museum for years and decided it was time tim visit. Took my Mum and we expected to be mooching around the museum for a couple of hours. Four hours later we had to leave as the museum was closing. We had a wonderful day with the amazing displays, very well displayed and labelled.
It was a chilly day and what a wonderful treat the cafe was, friendly staff and comfortable room.
Worth a visit with something for everyone.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee-on-the-Solent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
324 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“A museum that all ages can enjoy”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is a small but very interesting museum well worth a visit. The staff were friendly and knowlegable. These is an excellent cafe serving good food - light lunches and snacks We were visitors to the area - had we been resident we would certainly purchase a family pass.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 0707David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Worcestershire County Museum at Hartlebury Castle also viewed

 
Kidderminster, Worcestershire
Kidderminster, Worcestershire
 

Been to Worcestershire County Museum at Hartlebury Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing