We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recently renovated - NEW review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Indiana Inn
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Indiana
Reviewed June 8, 2014

This hotel is now completely renovated and entirely non-smoking. The Best Western inspectors will be there this week so the name may change. New carpet, tile, plumbing fixtures, furnishings, and TV made the hotel like brand new. I didn't even have a phone in my room yet but, who cares. The continental breakfast was really basic, not like some breakfasts these days where the "continental" has eggs, waffles, pancakes, etc. if you want a piece of fruit, cereal, pastry, muffin, toast, juice, and coffee, it was all just fine. The staff were very nice and seemed proud of the changes. I travel extensively and this place qualifies as a very acceptable place to sleep at a reasonable price. Non-smoking is a huge plus and I encourage them to enforce that very aggressively.

Room Tip: There was no pool that I saw so it wasn't "terrible"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DDJJLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorri m, General Manager at Best Western Indiana Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Dear DDJJLL,
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Sincerely,
Management and Staff
Best Western Indiana Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 131 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

What an awful place to stay! I had read the reviews so knew what to expect but it was the only hotel left with rooms for our weekend softball tournament. We found out quickly why it was the last resort. And I found out that unfortunately, my fellow TripAdvisor reviewers were accurate with their reviews.
When we arrived, there was a very shabbily dressed, unkept lady smoking at the front door. She turned out to be the front desk receptionist. Seriously, she should have been fired on the spot for being at work dressed like that. Thankfully they had my reservation though they had my name wrong in the system. Some of our group had confirmation numbers but were told they had no reservation. And those with reservations were all spelt incorrectly. Is it really that hard?
Onto the property. I had read that a reviewer found the hallways and elevator smelly back in October so I was hoping they may have improved it by now. No suck luck. It was almost overwhelming. The stench of cat urine mixed with mold perhaps? Something that disgusting anyway. Thankfully the room I was in on the 2nd floor didn't smell. The hallway was awful but for us, it didn't carry into the room. The rooms on the 3rd floor however, did stink. In fact it was so bad that one of the girls on our team had to check out early with asthma problems. It is a health hazard.
The building is now painted a sickly purple color. Probably the cheapest they could find? And the front door squeaks terribly. Walmart is across the car park. Can't they go and buy a can of WD40 and spray it on it. The owners obviously have no pride in their establishment.
In our room, the faucet at the sink leaked, there was no cover on one of the electrical outlets and it was one of the few that worked. The beds felt like you were sleeping on the box spring. The pillows and sheets were OK and the shower was actually good. Nice and hot and actually clean. Though the light was hooked up with the fan which was so dreadfully noisy that we preferred to shower in the dark.
The breakfast was probably the worst "continental" breakfast I have ever had. The coffee was actually OK, but nothing is replenished quickly and there is very little to choose from. Only toast, some danish, a few muffins in plastic bags and a few cereals. Plus only 3 tables to sit at. You are better off at McDonald's next door.
And to think we paid over $100 a night for this craphole. What a complete rip off. Do your best to find anywhere else to stay. Had I known how bad it really is, I would have stayed a 30 min drive away. It would be worth it.

Room Tip: Stay anywhere else other than here. A tent is a better option. If you really have to stay here, requ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 4PATravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorri m, General Manager at Best Western Indiana Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Dear 4 PA Travelers,
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey as we do use the input from these reviews to better serve our guests. We apologize for not meeting your expectations in the past. However, we have completely remodeled and would like another chance to have you as our guest.
Sincerely,
Management and Staff
Best Western Indiana Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Lodging is definitely a problem in this college town of Indiana, PA. Our National Tractor Club made arrangements more than 12 months in advance for rooms and rates. When many arrived, reservations had been mixed up and several were never recorded, including mine. I happened to get a room when a call came in with a cancellation. Maybe not so lucky for me as the shower was cold every morning, the breakfast area was not replenished quickly so if you wanted cereal, milk, juice or coffee, you were in for a wait. The McDonald's across the parking lot got my business every morning. The room prices were inconsistent, although I was charged what I was told on the phone, even though my reservations were recorded incorrectly.
It was a little difficult to find as the signage on the outside of the motel said Best Western. Hopefully, when they fully take over the property, they will read the reviews and improve the motel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CYearsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorri m, General Manager at Best Western Indiana Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Dear Guest,
I apologize for your dissatisfaction in your stay with us. We have since remodeled and are now a Best Western. I hope you will give us another chance when you are looking for a hotel room.Hope to see you soon.
Sincerely
Lorri M GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Another overpriced craphole in Indiana. The beds sag, the walls are dirty, the carpet is worn. $70 a night is way over priced, but all the hotels in this town are. It isn't any better than the Four Flags Inn, except bigger rooms.

Room Tip: Good luck on hotels in this town, they are all rip offs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gordo86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed here from 10/5/12 and 10/6/12 It happened to be IUP homcoming weekend but we
were here for my cousins wedding. The hall ways especially on the 2nd floor smelled very strongly of cat urine. The good news was the rooms did not smell of cat urine. The reception area also had a very fowel odor. The breakfast was english muffins, coffee and juce. We did not want ot have it because of the bad oder. No fruit, no yogurt. Terrible. The night clerk on the 6th was so rude. We wanted to speak to the owner. Ofcourse we did not. He said we could leave and he would refund our money, knowing we had no where to go because everything was booked. We will not stay here again. It seems there has to be health code violations here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This place was gross. Look elsewhere. The employees were constantly standing at the entrance smoking. If you do decide to stay there, check your bill. They over-charged us with a higher rate than quoted at time of making the reservation and added on a safe charge.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatGrahanBlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The room had a very musty odor. The carpet actually had a gritty feel to it. The hotel looked to be very run down and needs some major work. By the time we realized the poor conditions , we were unable to find another hotel nearby due to an event. If there was another opening elsewhere we would have been out of there in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
1  Thank ELON B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indiana
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Indiana
Hampton Inn Indiana
#2 of 7 in Indiana
418 reviews
1.9 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Indiana
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Indiana at IUP
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Indiana
Days Inn Indiana
#6 of 7 in Indiana
197 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Indiana
11.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Blairsville at Chestnut Ridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Indiana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Indiana Inn

Address: 111 Plaza Drive, Indiana, PA 15701 (Formerly Indiana Super 8 Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Indiana
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Indiana
Price Range: $62 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Indiana Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 100% non-smoking Best Western Indiana, PA hotel is located in a convenient spot off Highway 422 just three miles from Indiana University of Pennsylvania and the Jimmy Stewart Museum. The newly renovated BEST WESTERN Indiana Inn is the perfect choice for any travelers whether you are traveling for business or need accommodations for a family reunion. Start your day with a free full hot breakfast in our dining area then plan the day's activities with the free high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel. Indiana, PA has a lot to offer the leisure traveler. Miles of walking, hiking and biking trails can be accessed just yards from the front door, and Yellow Creek State Park offers boating, hunting, hiking and even a beach. You can learn about the heroic and active life of one of America's favorite sons at the Jimmy Stewart Museum. Don't miss the variety of events that take place at Indiana University of Pennsylvania and the Kovalchick Convention and Athletic Complex. Business travelers will appreciate conveniences like the 24 hour business center, free high-speed Internet and access to copy and fax services. Come stay with us at the BEST WESTERN Indiana Inn and see what makes us stand out among the other hotels in Indiana, PA. You can always expect the quality you deserve from a name you trust. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Best Western, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Indiana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indiana Super 8 Hotel Indiana
Super 8 Indiana
Super Eight Indiana
Indiana Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing