We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regular user - Very Satisfied !!”
Review of Mug House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mug House Inn
Ranked #2 of 13 Bewdley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds,
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Regular user - Very Satisfied !!”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

I stay at the Mug House on a regular basis with work. Every time I stay am impressed with the place, the food, the staff and the general atmosphere.

It is a million times better than staying in an anonymous corporate hotel.

I do not drink 'beer' as I prefer lager but the bar is well stocked with good quality beer and has plenty of certificates hanging on the walls showing how good the beer is.

Would highly recommend this place to anyone either on business or given the great location for a break.

Room Tip: All rooms are good and a bit different, I normally stay in Apple Blossom !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    51
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
13
90
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

As soon as we arrived we were made to feel welcome. the rooms are of excellent standard and spacious. the view from the room was excellent. There was plenty of choice on the breakfast menu . There was a good choice of beers and the beer garden was good. Staff were very pleasant and nothing was too much trouble. Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JNorm2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stayed over a weekend as the Hotel was one of the nearest to the Seven Valley Railway. From the start the staff were friendly and accommodating. The rooms were lovely all with a personal touch. The bar below was generally emptied around 11:30 which meant no sleep disturbance..that is of course if you wanted to leave the bar.. which we did not ! Drew, the manager, keeps an orderly House which is why it is so popular both as a meeting place and as a top notch restaurant. (when they say book on line they mean it...days before would be our advice !). Bewdley is an interesting town in itself and the Mug House Inn is the Jewel in the town's offering of hospitality. Actually we didn't want to leave which was in contrast to the previous Friday's conversation; "..do we really want to go all that way to Kidderminster..". So glad we did !

Room Tip: Those facing the river at first floor are obviously nicer albeit that they are over the public areas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shorterspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We visited the Inn for a preplanned trip to Bewdley and even though there were serious floods, the flood barriers held up perfectly and didn't ruin our trip. If anything it added to the amazing view of the river and surrounding area. You almost felt that you were in the river!

The room was beautiful, some very nice features, big four poster bed, lovely sitting area and the bathroom was nicely put together. Small touches like 'real milk' in the fridge really make a difference and we couldn't have hoped for better standards. Breakfast was excellent, a good variety of choice and you could tell that it was all cooked fresh. The pub itself is a lovely place to drink, lots of friendly locals and a great atmosphere.

Bewdley itself is a lovely place to visit, lots of places to eat and drink, some small quaint shops and plenty of things to do with the Severn valley Railway and Wyre Forest on your doorstep. The only problem is, its so nice you will want to move there!!

Room Tip: It,s a very busy pub so unless you are down there drinking and having fun, even on a week night you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rcbig82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We have stayed at the mughouse around 7 times now spent my 60th and have just booked for our 40th wedding anniversary. Food in restaurant and bar second to none, Rooms are beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean,Staff make you feel welcome and comfortable

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eviefairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Its not very often that we can give a five star review to a pub restaurant but we do this without reservation. Great beer, great food, super service, proper pub atmosphere and scenic location. We called in for lunch had a couple of beers "Taylors Landlord" which was kept very well. I went for the fish and chip butty whilst the boss had the honey and mustard glazed ham sandwich. The bread was home made and nice and crusty, the tartare sauce with the fish and chips was home made with just the right hint of garlic , the salad with the ham sandwich was very nicely presented with a tasty dressing. The prices for both dishes was circa £10 a real bargain.
Well done to all who make this a place to add to the must visit list.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevesid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I was in the area for a business trip and this place was recommended to me by a customer.

You have to know that it's not a modern hotel but you will just feel like visiting friends and have your own room in their house.
Another small negative point is that the wifi is not very strong when you are at the last floor but works perfectly fine everywhere else.

Apart from that, it's a lovely hotel in a very quiet and nice location, the staff is friendly, the prices are affordable and you will sleep very good in the confortable beds.

If you are hungry, their restaurant is serving very good food at also very affordable rates.
If you are thirsty you can have a drink in the pub, which is very cosy and full of nice people ready to have a talk with you!

I am looking forward to my next visit to the Mug House!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bewdley
0.1 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bewdley
416 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mercure Bewdley The Heath Hotel
3.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
#1 of 1 in Stourport on Severn
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Gainsborough House Hotel
Gainsborough House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kidderminster
484 reviews
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Kidderminster
Travelodge Kidderminster
#1 of 5 in Kidderminster
389 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hogarths Stone Manor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mug House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mug House Inn

Property: Mug House Inn
Address: 12 Severn Side North, Bewdley DY12 2EE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Bewdley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Bewdley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mug House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the Worcestershire and Shropshire borders alongside the river Severn sits the picturesque town of Bewdley, known for its Georgian architecture and quaint black and white cottages. A warm and friendly welcome will always await you at The Mug House Bewdley's finest Riverside Inn and AA Rosette Restaurant. Where you can also take the opportunity to extend your visit by staying in our AA 4 star highly commended bed and breakfast accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mug House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mug House Hotel Bewdley
Mug House Inn Bewdley, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing