We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant weekend”
Review of Mug House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mug House Inn
Ranked #3 of 13 Bewdley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Spent the weekend at the Mug House. A brilliant location within a very attractive town. I was a little concerned about the parking but it wasn't an issue, despite the local council building a fun fair around my car on the Saturday morning! It's in an excellent location right in the centre of a town with no supermarket and hence some interesting shops and restaurants. We decided on an Indian meal on the Friday night and had a choice of restaurants and very little to choose between them.

On both evenings the bar was full but we had no problem finding a table and the service was both quick and friendly. On the Saturday we ate in the restaurant and could not fault the meal or the service. The room (Daffodil) was fine, with the usual sort of chorus created by the creaking boards that you get in old buildings. The fresh milk in the bedroom fridge was a very nice touch.

Breakfast on the Saturday was fine but on the Sunday my wife's scrambled egg arrived in a rubbery state. For her inedible. The reason given was that previous guests had requested their scrambled eggs dry and the chef had cooked hers the same. There was however a similarity between the eggs served and the kind you get in a buffet breakfast where the food is kept warm under lights. They immediately offered to replace the breakfast but unfortunately when your expectations have been dashed, your appetite disappears. The contrast with the previous night's dinner was startling.

In no way did it spoil our weekend and if the opportunity arises we will go back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alunsimac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 167 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed in the daffodil room it was lovely and clean and spacious . Our evening meal was gorgeous I had scallops and they were cooked to perfection ! I did have to smile at my husbands face when his desert was bought out with dry ice underneath for effect. The Staff were very friendly and nothing is too much trouble .Breakfast was a fabulous selection something for everyone !! I'm looking forward to going again .

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed here for two nights ,30th and 31st march. The room and inn are very clean even though it is around 400 years old! The service was good and the staff were friendly. Breakfast was as large as you like, with plenty of choice and tasty too. Our room at the top had a fine view and was very quiet considering there were a couple of hundred in the bar and beer garden. Get a seat early its very popular especially in front of the coal fires. Room had all sorts of amenities including fridge. Very good for the money I can recommend it too anyone. Only small things to crib about, our toilet would not flush properly, the bed was on a slope because of the uneven (very old) floors and out door beer garden could do with a pressure washer attack occasionally. However that is not going to stop me going again. Dog, bike, walker friendly.
Rick and Chris.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RickM320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

A great time... Cold outside but very warm and welcoming inside. Management work hard to ensure their guests get value for money. Stayed 2 nights in the "Daffodil room" which was comfortable with a nice view over the River Severn. Food in the Angry Chef restaurant was very good at a reasonable price. This is an Inn, not a hotel, but a great informal place to take a break. Can seriously recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

stayed one night on business where i had the Lavender room that was a good size with en suite shower wc. There was a fridge that contained complimentary bottles of water plus a small bottle of fresh milk for tea. The room was nice & clean with good fittings although the tv was a tad dated but it did have a digi box so all freeview channels were available. I had dinner in the restaurant that was very good plus drinks in the excellent pub area. I would say this place would be great for a weekend with nice walks along the river etc. All in all great value for money will book again the next time Im in the area.

Room Tip: A room with a river view would be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeff013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We recently stayed at The Mug House for two nights during the week. The location of the hotel was perfect, right on the riverbank, and it was full of rustic charm and period features. Think oak beams and log fires. The room (Apple Blossom) was clean, tidy and full of lovely little touches - fresh milk in the fridge, for example. It was tucked away in the attic above a cosy residents' lounge, and was warm and comfortable with a good shower and extra pillows and blankets available. The staff were friendly and helpful and the bar homely and welcoming. We ate in the restaurant on the first night and were so impressed we went straight back for the second night. Loads of choice and the food was stunning. I can totally recommend the cheeseboard too!

Room Tip: Don't put your water glass on the bedside table - the floors are so wonderfully wonky that it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redheadhannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I went to the Mug House on Sunday 18th November. I found the atmosphere warm and friendly. We were allowed to take our dog into the bar area. The service was very good. Bewdley has to be one of the best places in the world. The setting outside of the pub is perfect, as the river Severn flows by you can feed the swans and ducks and watch the pigeons having the odd punch up. A proper English pub.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bewdley hotels
0.1 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bewdley
452 reviews
1 mi away
Mercure Bewdley The Heath Hotel
2.9 mi away
Worralls Grove
Worralls Grove
#1 of 2 in Arley
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Welch Gate Guest House
Welch Gate Guest House
#10 of 13 in Bewdley
32 reviews
1.7 mi away
Wharton Park Golf & Country Club
2.8 mi away
The Royal Forester
The Royal Forester
#8 of 13 in Bewdley
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mug House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mug House Inn

Address: 12 Severn Side North, Bewdley DY12 2EE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Bewdley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Bewdley
Price Range: $96 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mug House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the Worcestershire and Shropshire borders alongside the river Severn sits the picturesque town of Bewdley, known for its Georgian architecture and quaint black and white cottages. A warm and friendly welcome will always await you at The Mug House Bewdley's finest Riverside Inn and AA Rosette Restaurant. Where you can also take the opportunity to extend your visit by staying in our AA 4 star highly commended bed and breakfast accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mug House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mug House Hotel Bewdley
Mug House Inn Bewdley, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing