We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Severn valley break”
Review of Mug House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mug House Inn
Ranked #2 of 13 Bewdley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hull
1 review
“Severn valley break”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed here for two nights ,30th and 31st march. The room and inn are very clean even though it is around 400 years old! The service was good and the staff were friendly. Breakfast was as large as you like, with plenty of choice and tasty too. Our room at the top had a fine view and was very quiet considering there were a couple of hundred in the bar and beer garden. Get a seat early its very popular especially in front of the coal fires. Room had all sorts of amenities including fridge. Very good for the money I can recommend it too anyone. Only small things to crib about, our toilet would not flush properly, the bed was on a slope because of the uneven (very old) floors and out door beer garden could do with a pressure washer attack occasionally. However that is not going to stop me going again. Dog, bike, walker friendly.
Rick and Chris.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickM320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    51
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
13
90
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

A great time... Cold outside but very warm and welcoming inside. Management work hard to ensure their guests get value for money. Stayed 2 nights in the "Daffodil room" which was comfortable with a nice view over the River Severn. Food in the Angry Chef restaurant was very good at a reasonable price. This is an Inn, not a hotel, but a great informal place to take a break. Can seriously recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

stayed one night on business where i had the Lavender room that was a good size with en suite shower wc. There was a fridge that contained complimentary bottles of water plus a small bottle of fresh milk for tea. The room was nice & clean with good fittings although the tv was a tad dated but it did have a digi box so all freeview channels were available. I had dinner in the restaurant that was very good plus drinks in the excellent pub area. I would say this place would be great for a weekend with nice walks along the river etc. All in all great value for money will book again the next time Im in the area.

Room Tip: A room with a river view would be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We recently stayed at The Mug House for two nights during the week. The location of the hotel was perfect, right on the riverbank, and it was full of rustic charm and period features. Think oak beams and log fires. The room (Apple Blossom) was clean, tidy and full of lovely little touches - fresh milk in the fridge, for example. It was tucked away in the attic above a cosy residents' lounge, and was warm and comfortable with a good shower and extra pillows and blankets available. The staff were friendly and helpful and the bar homely and welcoming. We ate in the restaurant on the first night and were so impressed we went straight back for the second night. Loads of choice and the food was stunning. I can totally recommend the cheeseboard too!

Room Tip: Don't put your water glass on the bedside table - the floors are so wonderfully wonky that it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redheadhannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I went to the Mug House on Sunday 18th November. I found the atmosphere warm and friendly. We were allowed to take our dog into the bar area. The service was very good. Bewdley has to be one of the best places in the world. The setting outside of the pub is perfect, as the river Severn flows by you can feed the swans and ducks and watch the pigeons having the odd punch up. A proper English pub.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just stayed at the Mug House, its the perfect setting on the river. It gets booked very quickly we have stayed before. The staff cant do enough to help you, very friendly. Typical old country pub, Saturday afternoons with a pint of guiness by the side of the river with friends. It honestly does not get any better than this. Clean rooms ( if a little old fashioned, the knitted lady on the toilet rolls had us in hysterics) but comfortable enough. We love it.

Room Tip: Try and stay in the pub part, we had a room in the cottage next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WalesSalsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Very quaint inn right next to the river. Very friendly & helpful staff. We stayed in a very quaint 4 poster Rose suite, with cottage garden decor & log fire. The room was clean , comfortable &quaint with a selection of teddy bears to keep us company. We had a bar snack at the inn, which was delicious & good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baylehum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bewdley
0.1 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bewdley
416 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mercure Bewdley The Heath Hotel
3.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
#1 of 1 in Stourport on Severn
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Gainsborough House Hotel
Gainsborough House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kidderminster
484 reviews
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Kidderminster
Travelodge Kidderminster
#1 of 5 in Kidderminster
389 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hogarths Stone Manor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mug House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mug House Inn

Property: Mug House Inn
Address: 12 Severn Side North, Bewdley DY12 2EE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Bewdley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Bewdley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mug House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the Worcestershire and Shropshire borders alongside the river Severn sits the picturesque town of Bewdley, known for its Georgian architecture and quaint black and white cottages. A warm and friendly welcome will always await you at The Mug House Bewdley's finest Riverside Inn and AA Rosette Restaurant. Where you can also take the opportunity to extend your visit by staying in our AA 4 star highly commended bed and breakfast accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Mug House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mug House Hotel Bewdley
Mug House Inn Bewdley, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing