We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Immaculate”
Review of Kateshill House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bewdley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kateshill House
Ranked #1 of 13 Bewdley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Immaculate”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Kateshill House last weekend for one night and it was perfect. As soon as we parked up outside, we were greeted with a warm and hospitable welcome from the owner. He took us straight up to our room and made us feel relaxed and very welcome immediately. The house itself is so beautiful and very well maintained, both inside and out and the period features and historic feel create a memorable stay.

We had the Boleyn room which was perfect for our one night stay. It was immaculately clean and contained everything you would need from a mini toothbrush/toothpaste kit to tea, coffee and biscuits! This is reflected throughout the house as well. There are newspapers and magazines as well as information booklets available too.

The bed was quite small for a double but it was fine – this is the only thing that I would fault. The house is quiet and considering it was full of wedding guests like ourselves, it was very peaceful.

The breakfast was so good! We had fresh fruit salad as well as a choice of yogurts, cereal, toast and/or a full English. The full English was delicious and was just what we needed after the celebrations of the previous night.

All in all, it was a very short but very sweet stay at Kateshill. We really hope to go back again to take advantage of the beautiful setting.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyK805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    6
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
38
125
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Kateshill is an old Georgian house with large beautifully appointed rooms set in a terrassed garden. A feature of the garden is an old tree rated as one of the best in England and well worth a look.Our stay at kateshill House exceeded our expectations; large comfortable bedrooms with all the liitle extras normally expected (but not always found) in luxury hotels. Add to this an excellent breakfast with a wide range of choices and cream teas with home made scones and you can easily see why this establishent is so well thought of.

" Beyond the call" refers to our hosts' (Judith and Graham) response when our taxi to a evening function failed to turn up; they took us there and brought us back late that evening. A good illustration of the care they give to their guests.

I can happy recommend Kateshill House and we have already booked our next visit!

Room Tip: Rooms facing south look down the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jsnote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Trip Advisor pointed us in the direction of Kateshill and we chose it as an overnight from Scotland to Plymouth on route to Spain on our motorbike. Really good . We arrived later than planned but got a warm welcome none the less. The House was easy to find and stands in lovely gardens . Decor is immaculate and grand. Everything was perfecr I have got to say Bit of a climb to the top of the house but well worth it. Very comfortable, clean and tidy. Lovely breakfast which started with a large bowl of fresh fruit followed by a well cooked and presented breakfast. One to rememberand revisit. At the direction of our hostess we ate at a pub just across the road - the Little Pack Horse. Smashing wee pub with good beer and an extensive menu. Well worth a visit all round.
From here we went to Plymouth and a Premier Inn. In truth Kateshill was better value by far.

Room Tip: We had a nosey in all the unoccupied rooms and they were all excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank citytravellerGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Kateshill House is my first choice whenever I visit the area on business - I've yet to visit for pleasure!!! Every room is luxuriously comfortable, the breakfasts are excellent, and Judith and Graham are very welcoming. I would thoroughly recommend Kateshill House to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMBerks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

This is an amazing property, which has been lovingly decorated and furnished. The rooms are named after the wives of Henry VIII, and we had the Seymour room. The room was very large and the ensuite was almost as big. I have never stayed in a room as large is this in any hotel or B&B anywhere. And although it has classic (i.e. old) windows, the heating works well. The bed was very comfortable, and the complimentary sherry a very nice touch.

Breakfast was superb. We are vegetarian, and we were well served with veggy sausages, eggs etc. Certainly one of the best veggy cooked breakfasts we've had. After breakfast, if you take a short stroll round the garden you will be rewarded by seeing the most amazing tree, over 400 years old!

I do have a few niggles: the pillows were not fantastic (the rubbery kind, not yielding enough), the only full length mirror is on the wardrobe tucked into a corner, and it would have been nice to have more water pressure in the shower. But these do not spoil the experience. If you stay here you will enjoy it, I am sure.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ian14_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Tea & cakes were offered on arrival and gladly accepted. The rooms were lovely and there were some lovely touches, like a small carafe of sherry and mints on the bedroom cabinets.
There was a freeview large screen tv plus free wi-fi access. The Breakfast was excellent, and donw your way if you wanted it. It is only a short walk to the town with the excellent pack horse the first pub not more than 200 yards away. You must try the 'Desperate Dan Cow Pie' All in all Kateshill House is the best B7B we have stayed in and must be the one of the best B& Bs in the UK. We loved it and hope to stay there again on out next visit to the Bewdley area

Room Tip: they are all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We visited July 2009 and intending to return to this B&B much sooner than 2012. Had a fabulous 3 nights here during the Aug Bank Holiday week. It is ideally located within walking distance of the town but a very quiet place to stay. We stayed in the Aragon room which looks over the garden. The breakfasts are wonderful and the host Judith is very friendly and helpful. We'll definitely be back soon, it is a real treat to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redruth63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bewdley
1.1 mi away
Mercure Bewdley The Heath Hotel
0.3 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bewdley
404 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
#1 of 1 in Stourport on Severn
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Gainsborough House Hotel
Gainsborough House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kidderminster
475 reviews
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Kidderminster
Travelodge Kidderminster
#1 of 5 in Kidderminster
381 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Granary Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kateshill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kateshill House

Property: Kateshill House
Address: Kateshill House Kateshill, Bewdley DY12 2DR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Bewdley
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Bewdley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Kateshill House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Kateshill House Hotel Bewdley
Kateshill House Bewdley, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing