We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Bewdley The Heath Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
George Hotel(Bewdley)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor(Stourport on Severn)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Brockencote Hall Hotel(Chaddesley Corbett)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Elms(Abberley)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (660)
Filter reviews
660 results
Traveler rating
182
185
147
83
63
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
182
185
147
83
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshealth clubsafari parkleisure facilitiesbuffet stylesteam roomfamily roombreakfast staffa ground floor roomfamily weddingcooked breakfastwedding receptionsingle bedbar arealarge roombreakfast was excellentfull englishgym
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
523 - 528 of 660 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Was very excited to be invited to a wedding here as the local paper had recently had a piece about them being awarded another star thought this will be some wedding venue. How wrong can you be the bride and groom were not announced and walked in as if they were guests not the main couple, the p.a. system was not working all the speeches had to be shouted out so every one could hear, manager running round like an headless chicken to find another mike which also didnt work, staff serving at the bar couldnt cope obviously inexperienced and not enough serving. One lady had made wedding favors to be put out before guests arrived she had to ask where they were was told they had forgot and proceeded to put them on tables as the wedding party were being seated. All this seems petty but every bride wants her day to be special could see she was very upset, but I think the worst thing that happened not enough food for everyone and when asked was told there was no more! The lady I sat next to went to a local pub to get crisps etc and they said run out of food again and my husband fetched fish and chips as he was so hungry. On a positive note the grounds are wonderful for photos thats it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joy o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, General Manager at Mercure Bewdley The Heath Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank you for your comments.
It is very regretful that you did not enjoy the wedding day in full, however there were certain incidents which affected this which were beyond our control. The original microphone was a lead from the \DJ which did not reach the top table so could not be used. We have 2 radio microphones, but they had not been fully charged as they were not supposed to have been in use. Whilst getting this ready the top table had already begun to get seated. We can only cater for the numbers given to us , but there were many more guests present than the number given.
It is not in our interest to deliver a shortage of anything, especially on a Wedding Day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed 13th and 14th july on a Dinner , Bed and Breakfast deal

Reception staff first class

Room was fine, Bed comfortable, Bathroom worked fine .

As we were on the ground floor I understand why the windows do not full open, no air conditioning provided , you probably do not need it in Bewdley for 360 days a year , a fan was provided but we did not find it until we were packing to leave our fault entirely .

Dinner on both nights was very good ,the saturday night experience encouraged us to use it again on sunday night

As we stayed on a saturday night a wedding was in full swing but if did not affect our stay as it appeared to take place in separate room away from the main bar and dining room certainly after 7.30 .

Breakfast was better on the Monday less crowded and better choice with waiter served main course rather than the buffet style on Sunday ( fully understand why a buffet is used on Sunday )

Used adjacent leisure pool on both days good experience

Parking was very easy on both days

We would stay again next time we are in the midlands

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acornsouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, General Manager at Mercure Bewdley The Heath Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank you so much for your feedback following your recent stay.

Absolutely delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of your stay, and we look forward to seeing you with us again, when you are next in the area.

Kindest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We had our wedding at the Kidderminster Mercure on the 6th July 2013 and I can honestly say we couldn't have picked a better venue.
All of the team were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The food was lovely, well presented and tasted delicious!
The gardens are beautiful and well looked after - a perfect setting for the photographs and welcome drinks! We paid a little extra and had the bridal suite which was in the older part of the building looking over the gardens, it was so spacious and had so much character and charm.
John - you were a brilliant host, we can’t thank you enough, you made us feel so comfortable. Thanks for all your assistance ( and for getting all the bunting down for us!).
We would highly recommend this venue for a wedding or special occasion event!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amie-Hurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, General Manager at Mercure Bewdley The Heath Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thankyou so much for your wonderful feedback from your wedding day.

I am absolutely delighted , and so will all the staff be, to read that you enjoyed the events of the day so much, made all the more easier by your organisation, your guests and the occasion itself.

I certainly hope that you had a wonderful start to married life on your honeymoon.

Thank you all once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
John M, General Manager at Mercure Bewdley The Heath Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The only reason I gave this Hotel 1 star is due to the Staff. We attended a Wedding Reception here and I have to say the food was just appalling. The Bride and Groom chose to have a buffet and they actually ran out of food! When a guest questioned the Manager he said 'what do you expect when they've only paid for 130 guests!'. Odd that because there were tables for far more than 130 people and everyone sent an RSVP so I'm sure the Bride and Groom wouldn't under cater and anyway, is it not the Manager's job to inform them at the time if this is the case so they can put on extra food? The Bride had been quite insistent about there being enough food and they were assured there wouldn't be a problem. The buffet consisted of a selection of cut sandwiches, chicken wings and chicken legs, pizza, chips, doritos and dips and sliced Wedding Cake and that was it, pretty poor don't you think? Tables were supposed to be called up 1 at a time but this was never announced, so if items had been allocated per head then they should have been served by the staff. There were to my knowledge at least 3 whole tables who didn't eat at all, this resulted in people leaving early because they were hungry. One man fetched fish and chips and ate them in his car because he was diabetic and worried he'd be ill. Also, I understand Prosecco was ordered for the toast, if it was it had been standing for some time because it tasted like cheap flat wine. The PA system kept cutting out and then there was a problem with the electrics so the DJ couldn't start. The beer is £4.20 a pint and 1 shot costs £5!!!! Even the staff were embarassed, with 1 of them saying if it was their Wedding they'd be gutted due to the bad service given. I can't tell you how many guests said they wouldn't pay the bill. What a pity, my Brother had his Reception there some years ago and we had excellent service, but there is nothing else to say except it was very, very, bad.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, General Manager at Mercure Bewdley The Heath Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear guest,

there are many reasons why I am not going to answer all the points you have raised, but primarily because I have no reason to cause any further embarrassment to all concerned with the arrangements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews