We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent standard” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mug House Inn & Angry Chef Restaurant

The Mug House Inn & Angry Chef Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 50 Restaurants in Bewdley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Nestled on the Worcestershire and Shropshire borders alongside the river Severn sits the picturesque town of Bewdley, known for its Georgian architecture and quaint black and white cottages, with stunning Riverside frontage. Alongside the seemingly tranquil River on the north side of Bewdley bridge, you will find us at The Mug House Inn, Bewdley's finest River view Inn and AA Rosette Restaurant. Where you can also take the opportunity to extend your visit by staying in our Riverside bed and breakfast accommodation. A warm and friendly welcome will always await you when you wander into this wonderful old Inn. The Mug House is the perfect platform after a good nights rest in the AA 4 star B&B accommodation for those exhilarating walks along the River to see, hear and take in the panoramic views and wildlife in and around Bewdley. Other attractions include the Severn Valley Railway, which continues to Kidderminster and Bridgnorth. Slightly further a field is the city of Worcester and the Malvern Hills in Worcestershire
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent standard”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is a pub with a small restaurant accessible either from the pub or by a separate entrance from the street. The quality of service was excellent, though informal. The menu, although fairly limited, was quite imaginative with enough choice to suit most people. In addition there is a fixed price 2 or 3 course menu which is outstanding value at £12.95/£15.95. I was dubious about ordering from this as I was afraid quality might be compromised at that price, but Both my wife and I were tempted by the mussels starter and coq au vin main course that were on offer. In the event the mussels were incredible and quite the best we'd ever had, being cooked to perfection in a light creamy sauce. The coq au vin was also very good, and authentic. Both dishes were nicely presented and the portion sizes were generous to the extent that neither of us could manage a dessert. Overall an excellent experience and certainly the best value for money of any meal that I can remember.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 18TillIDie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    106
    31
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb little pub! Highly recommend!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

After trying all of the restaurants in Bewdley and not really being bowled over - finally we have found somewhere special.

The restaurant is delightful, everything you would expect from Bewdley. Set right on the river, small but welcoming and the food is proper hearty grub all fresh and totally delicious. We visited with my young daughter and the staff couldn't do enough to make sure our visit was a superb one.

I had the mussels in a white wine sauce for my starter, possibly one of the best mussels dishes Ive ever had. The Sunday lunch dinner was huge and tasted great, the only problem is I left no room for dessert.

I strongly recommend this little gem, reasonably priced and somewhere we can finally call our local.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bubbleandsqueak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australians in europe
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“What a gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Riverside location - outdoor seating if you're hardy - and ales from the local Bewdley Brewery. A pint of Worcestershire Way after a 16 mile walk. Bliss :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank a_walkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Pub but Expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

The Mug House along with the Cock and Magpie are located next to the scenic River Severn and near Bewdley's historic bridge.

They have outdoor seating to enjoy the river views. They also have a big beer garden for all the weekend smokers.

The pub is cosy and inviting with an old-world style of decor. The pub has changed massively from the 1990s when it was a spit and sawdust place with cheap beer.

The beer prices are now too high. The Mug House during the day is a tourist spot. On Saturday night it is a popular place for locals and Kidderminster folk to drink. They serve until 11.30pm or midnight.

Best value drink is the Bewdley Bitter at 3 pounds a pint.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Welcoming pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Came upon the pub as we walked around Bewley and must say we were made welcome from the start. It always helps when the bar staff are interested in the patrons! Pleasant surroundings and on a fine evening, which this wasn't, I'm sure the view of the Severn would be spectacular. The adjoining restaurant was well separated from the pub and gave the impression of space whilst being integral to the pub.
Good selection of ales, reasonably priced. Good situation being in the middle of Bewdley.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank maria1joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mug House Inn & Angry Chef Restaurant also viewed

Bewdley, Worcestershire
Bewdley, Worcestershire
 
Bewdley, Worcestershire
 
Bewdley, Worcestershire
Bewdley, Worcestershire
 

Been to The Mug House Inn & Angry Chef Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing