We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a pity . . .”
Review of Black Boy Hotel and Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Black Boy Hotel and Restaurant
Price range: $4 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Blackboy Hotel has recently been taken over and is currently undergoing refurbishment of all areas. The Hotel is still open but over the next 12 months we intend to reovate the entire property and bring this lovely building back to it's glory days. Simon
Reviewed February 23, 2013

33 years ago my husband and I honeymooned in Bewdley and stayed at The Black Boy. All was well then . . . We have returned several times and each time we have noticed a deterioration in the surroundings. We popped in for a drink Friday, but we had decided to stay elsewhere this time. The barmaid was cosied up in front of the fire but immediately got up as we went in. I asked for a dissarono, but was told there was none.... Second choice was southern comfort, there was none... So I plumped for a glass of red wine. My husband's choice of HPA looked like dishwater. Once she had served us she resumed her position by the fire, whilst we shivered in another corner of the bar as there appeared to be no other heating. It wasn't until the boss told her to get back to work that we could get anywhere near the fire. I feel sorry for the BB, it is definitely going down and down. It needs some TLC from someone who cares, I just wish I could do it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
1  Thank pollyposhpup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TangoBewdley, Owner at Black Boy Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

I am sorry to read your experiences at The Blackboy Hotel, we have taken over the property from December 2013 and have started a complete refurbishment of the Building inside and out, we would love to offer you a 10% discount off your next stay and hope your experience will be greatly improved.

Simon
01299 488736

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (17)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 17 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2012

visited on a Saturday lunch time and was very busy inside. Had a bit of a wait at the bar but when eventually got served the food arrived quickly and was very nice. Downside is that the furniture is looking old and needs replacing. Our leather chairs were all ripped and the table was in need of replacing. The staff were really busy but still helpful. Think its time to get the paint out and some new furniture.l

Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We're local & have used The Black Boy for approx 10 yrs ! From Robin , great atmosphere & service to the present owner ! The pub advertises food but sometimes you go & no food on as they've got a function on ! Not good when you haven't eaten & are expecting to eat there so it's then a walk into Bewdley !
They seem to have a problem with getting glasses clean !! Lipstick on your glass is not what a lady wants when it's not your own !! Ice in drinks , not at The BB !! Ice is so hard to get so you don't get it drinks at The BB !!! Food is OK but it can be a bit hit & miss ! Most of the time it's good value but basic pub food !!
The BB could b such a great pub/restaurant , it's just falling short ! Could do with a visit from the Hotel Inspector !!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lampchop49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TangoBewdley, Owner at Black Boy Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

I am sorry to read your experiences at The Blackboy Hotel, we have taken over the property from December 2013 and have started a complete refurbishment of the Building inside and out, we would love to offer you a 10% discount off your next stay and hope your experience will be greatly improved.

Simon
01299 488736

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Had a quick couple of drinks here to start off a night in Bewdley, bar lady was very friendly and efficient, inside its very cosy, wife saying its just like a living room, will be going again :)

Thank standrews47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Arrived at 1.30 for Sunday expecting a good crowd in, this was not the case so from the start was a little worried as to what was about to arrive on the table, to start we both had the garlic mushroom pancakes which to be fair were very tasty with homemade pancakes the only down side was the presentation, the side salad was something you would have expect 25 years ago, dry brown iceberg lettuce with tomatoes and cucmber.... The main we both had the roast pork which was cooked to perfection however it was served on a childs size plate and the vegetables that followed really were a joke, the savoy cabbage was brown from being over microwaved and what was given for two people really was only enough for one.
The service was ok, the barmaid was very pleasant and friendly however the waitress wasnt she just didnt want to be there.
The whole place needs a real good clean and is long overdue a refurb as its very tired, dated and very dirty...... better places to eat in the area

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Shropshirelad049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Boy Hotel and Restaurant also viewed

 
Bewdley, Worcestershire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing