We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“does what it says on the tin”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bewdley
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“does what it says on the tin”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Our third Midland's Wetherspoons Hotel and the cheapest so far. An old coaching in given a 'spoons makeover. Good and free parking at the rear - a bit of a fiddle to find, especially as it was pouring with rain when we arrived. We were given a very small double room on the third floor which would be ideal for those under average height, only because of the doors which were very low. As I am 5ft7 and my husband well over 6ft2 this was a problem!! We had checked in after 17.00 and all other rooms were taken. However, once we had established these physical difficulties with the receptionist and the duty manager (both of whom were very apologetic and understanding to our plight) we were assured of a 'taller' room for our second night. I am sure that a younger, smaller and perhaps more romantically inclined couple would find the room - 301 - a blissful retreat but for those of us over 55 and tall it wasn't ideal. The next morning we were shown a much more suitable room which, once through the main doorway - again for those shorter in stature - we were delighted with the room. The usual good range of foods, especially the breakfast deals and lots of good ales too! I would add that the staff are, at all times, exceptionally polite and attentive. A vast improvement on the last 'spoons we stayed at, in Shrewsbury. Well done to the staff and management in Bewdley

Helpful?
1 Thank maria1joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrishWebb, Receptionist at George Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you very much for such a balanced review. Painting the best first impression is very important for our Reception and Front of House teams and I’m glad to know that this is being delivered, alongside the standard of food and ale you expect from our chain.

Our hotel boasts a wealth of character; and the variations in both the layout and size of our rooms reflects that. We’re relieved you were pleased with your second room allocation however, and appreciate your understanding when we were unable to move you immediately.

I must also add that the Shrewsbury Hotel has undergone a full refurbishment in recent months so I’d urge you to give them (and us!) another try.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    169
    49
    24
    15
See reviews for
65
184
23
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Let me say from the outset that I am a Wetherspoon's fan - I love their business model, their overall tremendous value for money and lastly, their always helpful and cheerful staff. But I have never stayed in a Wetherspoon hotel before......

Having read some of the negative reviews on here, I was a bit nervous when checking in. But needn't have been. I have just enjoyed two lovely restful days here. The reception staff were terrifically friendly and welcoming. The room was clean, modern, well equipped and quiet. Complementary tea, coffee, bottled water and biscuits were provided - and replaced when used! The bathroom (with instant, but effective, electric shower) was in a separate adjoining room accessed via a small lobby. It was compact but functional.

Parking was an initial worry. You will have to find a short term parking place near the hotel (30 minute bays are both sides of the street) while you nip into reception to check in and pick up a parking voucher. This allows you to park freely in the George car park which has to be accessed from behind by driving around the block. It is also used by George diners/drinkers so can be full (it was when we arrived) but there is a fast turnover of cars, so a slot soon became available. I am not aware of any nearby free on street parking.

Were there any bad points? Not exactly. I think prospective guests need to be aware that this is a very old building - possibly listed - so Wetherspoons didn't exactly have a blank canvas when upgrading and fitting out the hotel. Therefore, rooms will vary in size. Staircases can be awkward and tricky with many resistant fire doors to negotiate. There is lift access for some of the rooms. And the hotel does face a main road. Any hotel in such a location will suffer street noise to some degree - we were not surprised therefore to hear occasional noises from the street, but nothing that was long lasting or intrusive. And the main road is very quiet during hours of darkness - this is after all only a small country town, not on a main through route. As for that ATM machine one reviewer mentioned, I actually used the machine and couldn't hear it, let alone hear it in my room!

In essence, be aware of the nature and location of the hotel before booking. This will help avoid disappointments. If you are interested in booking this hotel, then I can whole-heartedly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swtrains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrishWebb, Receptionist at George Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for such an overwhelmingly positive review of your say at the George Hotel, and indeed the J D Wetherspoon brand also.

It’s heartening to hear such a balanced opinion and we’re pleased your stay exceeded your initial expectation.

We would love to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
79 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Free parking at rear of hotel, get a voucher from reception. Check-in was great, very friendly and informative young lady. Our room was on the 2nd floor, overlooking the high street. The room had everything we needed and was clean. Tea/coffee/biscuits and bottled water. Shampoo/soap dispensers in the bathroom.
Our room was quite large.no wifi in the room but free in the bar area.
There was a bit of noise from the street late at night but not unexpected for a Friday night. Bewdley is quite small but there are a large amount of nice pubs very close. The river walk is also nice.
This hotel is a Wetherspoons Hotel so reasonable priced breakfast can be bought in the morning.
We would stay here again if in the area

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbugWimborne_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrishWebb, Receptionist at George Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay; we're pleased to hear you enjoyed the George Hotel and surrounding area too.

We will be having WiFi installed in all of the bedrooms by Autumn 2013 so hope this will encourage you to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

If you're a light sleeper avoid any room in the front of the hotel. We were in a family room 303 in the attic overlooking the main street.
There was quite a bit of noise at kicking out time (singing, shouting, swearing etc). Coupled with the beeps from the cash point over the road came the town clock chimes throughout the night. Also, for a beautiful small market town, there are a lot of vehicles moving around in the small hours. The narrow tall streets echo the engine noise incredibly!
Then to top it all off, at 06:00 a refuse collection truck empties a skip containing glass bottles for recycling...!
Have to say the room, staff and food were all excellent, but our stay was marred by the noise and subsequent lack of sleep.

Room Tip: Front of the hotel is noisey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSD2610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrishWebb, Receptionist at George Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. Bewdley can indeed become busy at times and our central location does make some noise inevitable. We are investigating numerous methods to improve the quality of the windows; though our options are restricted as the hotel is a listed building.

We’re pleased you enjoyed the other aspects of your stay however, and hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

on arrival at check in the lady at the desk was very informative and friendly , room lovely , modern and clean , good price , the beds uncomfortable and like most have said very noisy , doors slamming through hotel until around 12 ish and noisy from outside from around 6 , great place if your a heavy sleeper! The adjoining werherspoons pub was heaving and not child friendly at all , barman rude and arrogant , food was typical werherspoons food , it was close to safari park and cheap hence us choosing it, did the job but I wouldn't stay again , needs double glazing and could be far better !

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ljm2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrishWebb, Receptionist at George Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
I'm pleased to hear you were greeted well at reception, though I'm terribly sorry to hear of the issues you encountered during your stay.

The quality and effectiveness of the soundproofing of our windows is an unfortunate consequence of a characterful listed building. Unfortunately, we do not have a twin room on the back of the building (where it is quieter) but with all other room types we can allocate rear rooms at the booking stage, if occupancy allows.

Please accept my apologies for the member of staff's rudeness in the bar, and thank you for bringing the matter to our attention; giving us the opportunity to improve.

Despite the problems raised I do hope you'll consider visiting us again if you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Booked as part of a large group, only to be told that one of the rooms had a leak but we were offered 2 free breakfasts as compensation. On inspection the room was completely uninhabitable and goodness knows what the health and safety implications would have been with a leaking ceiling and electrics. The hotel had made no attempt to to inform us of the problem or find an alternative. It was left to us to find a solution ourselves. Whilst it would be easy to be critical of the management and reception staff - they just seemed out of their depths and either unable or not empowered to deal with a customer complaint.

The room I stayed in faced the front and was extremely noisy. It was also clear that the room was not properly vacuumed.

The bar it self resembled a zoo (it says it all that it needed bouncers in a small market town). We only had breakfasts in the pub which were best described as cheap and cheerless.

I have left it a while before posting this message as I complained to Wetherspoons head office and wanted to give them a chance to respond. I cannt say I was surprised to receive a perfunctory response.

Some of our party stayed in the nearby Horn and Trumpet and had a far better experience.

On the positive side Bewdley is a great little town (we were on a fishing trip) and would recommend to eat at the Little Pack Horse and the Sampan Chinese restaurant. We also enjoyed the Mug House pub.

However, stay away from this establishment. I can not recall staying in a worse hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gareth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy S, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Please accept our apologies that one of the rooms you had booked was not up to standard; unfortunately maintenance issues do occur from time-to-time, despite our best efforts.

We aim for all our guests to leave our hotel happy and regret that this wasn’t the case on your visit. We are however grateful for your feedback, and glad that you enjoyed the town of Bewdley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whaley Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and we loved it! The location is superb, right in the middle of one of the loveliest towns I have been to in England. Our room looked out over the high street and was comfortable with a great shower. The building is quirky with a narrow and twisty staircase to the bedrooms and creaky uneven floors but to me this just adds to the charm!
The staff were friendly and cheerful and the food we had there was good.
It was so relaxing to sit in the comfy sofas towards the front of the pub with a bottle of wine, me reading a book and my fiancee on the laptop just watching the interesting mix of people who populate Wetherspoons pubs coming and going. A nice break and the perfect venue to explore the olde worlde charm of beautiful Bewdley!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 141CathB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrishWebb, Receptionist at George Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write-up your stay here at the George Hotel.

It's heartening to hear that you appreciated the nature and character of our building, as well as the charm of Bewdley.

Please do visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bewdley
1.0 mi away
Mercure Kidderminster Hotel
2.1 mi away
Gainsborough House Hotel
Gainsborough House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kidderminster
438 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
#1 of 1 in Stourport on Severn
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Kidderminster Hotel
Premier Inn Kidderminster Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kidderminster
647 reviews
13.3 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#1 of 12 in Worcester
368 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Granary Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Hotel

Property: George Hotel
Address: Load Street, Bewdley DY12 2AW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Bewdley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bewdley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Bewdley, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing