We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”
Review of George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bewdley
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford
Level Contributor
105 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We realise that in an old building like this, different rooms offer different levels of comfort. We struck lucky, because our room at the top of the building was spacious, light and excellently furnished. We had both dinner and breakfast in the bar, and the dinner in particular was above the usual Wetherspoon standard. The staff were most helpful and cheerful. How the receptionist lives in that cupboard and keeps sane, I've no idea. Would return without hesitation.

Room Tip: Ask for room at rear of building to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HerefordSpike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy S, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you very much for such a balanced review. The George hotel certainly does have character in abundance; and our rooms reflect that.

Painting the best first impression is very important for our Reception and Front of House teams and I’m glad to know that this is being delivered. We look forward to welcoming you (from our cupboard!) on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    173
    50
    24
    15
See reviews for
65
187
24
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
192 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Spent last Sunday night at the George, booked last minute and thought we had a great deal but then found out that was the standard price for a Sunday anyway!!!
Easy to find, right in middle of town with a fairly big car park behind.
Took a while to check in as someone had to ring to find out where the receptionist was but when she arrived she was apologetic and checked us in quickly.
We climbed up endless stairs to our room and were quite disappointed when we got there, it was tiny and dark. One small window high up on the wall, didnt let in any light, we couldn't see out of it! Bathroom was quite large and clean but they annoyingly had only put a teeny low down sink in there so water went everywhere and the kettle didnt fit in to fill! In spite of it being a small dull room it was clean and bed was comfy, extra pillows and a fan supplied, although it was still hot with the fan as the window was so tiny. TV was on top of the wardrobe, right at the back but there was no room for it anywhere else. We should really have asked to change rooms but as we were only there 1 night and we wanted to go out we decided it wasn't worth the trek down to reception and the wait for someone to turn up again.
Pub downstairs was nice, one of the better ones to have a drink in, certainly a lot cleaner than some Wetherspoons we've been in. Didnt eat there in the evening but went down for breakfast the next morning. Service was slow even though no one in there and I thought the food was VILE - everything tasted of old and nasty cooking oil, certainly wouldn't eat there again!
Another issue we had was that we didnt feel it would be easy to get out in an emergency, that kept me awake for part of the night, steep stairs and loads of doors so i wouldn't like to try getting out in the dark.
Overall we didn't particularly like this hotel and as Bewdley was lovely we would go again but stay elsewhere

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a proper window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karensolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy S, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Pardon our tardiness in reply; we’re not the most technologically minded folk here at The George! Nevertheless your review is important to us and we’re thankful you took the time to summarise your stay.

We can only apologise that there was no one here to greet you on arrival, as we do endeavour to have the reception desk manned for as many hours as possible –sorry that this wasn’t the case on your visit.

We’ve recently launched a new menu, and have added a greater variety to our breakfast selection which we would invite you to come and try. We pride ourselves on our standard of service and as such I would like to apologise on behalf of all staff at The George for a rare dip in form. If we could tempt you back we’d welcome a second chance to show you our usually exceptional standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed here on a Monday night. We had been to the safari park to celebrate our wedding anniversary during the day and decide the day before to save the journey back by having a overnight stop.

We weren't expecting much as it's a Wetherspoons, the decor is a bit nicer than our local Wetherspoons - you don't stick to the floor when you walk to the bar! The receptionist was really friendly. We found out we had parked in the wrong car park when we arrived, its the Euro park you want, not the one with the health centre and fire station in it.

The room was small, but perfectly fine as a place to sleep. I had requested a quiet room but we were placed on the front of the hotel which faces the road. As we were not planning on spending any time there we decided not to see if we could switch rooms. We stayed in 102.

The bed was on coasters and moved quiet easily. I managed to roll it over my husbands foot when leaning to pick something up from the middle of the bed! The mattress was hard with no give at all, and the pillows looked full and soft but went to nothing when you put your head on them. Even with the second pillow I ended up folding my top pillow in half but we have latex pillows at home so I'm used to sleeping with my head slightly raised.

It was quite noisy from road traffic but we were tired so fell asleep. There was no noise from the pub below at all.

The floors are quite uneven, and when you're sleepy finding your way to the background can make you feel like you're drunk! But it gave me a little giggle in the morning.

I could hear the toilet flushing of next door and above, but didn't hear anyone talking, so either I have selective hearing or the flush is quite loud!

The hospitality tray is good, with bottles of both sparkling and still water.

We had breakfast in the morning and it arrived quickly was cheap and tasted good. We normally stay in B&B's and not being early risers have to set an alarm to make breakfast slot. With checkout being 11am, it was nice to not have an alarm and get ready when we wanted.


Overall it was nothing special, but for £40 it gave us a place to sleep the night. I wouldn't stay again as the bed wasn't comfy enough.

Room Tip: As previous reviews have said the front rooms are noisy from road traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsND2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Del Carmen, Spain
Level Contributor
183 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We have now stayed at the george twice, but it is formost a pub not a hotel, saying that the letting rooms are of a very good standard. We have had really nice rooms on both our stays but if you get a room at the frount of the hotel you do get woken up by the bleeps from the pedestrian crossing quite early in the morning. The hotel is part of the wetherspoons chain and the food served in the downstairs bar / restaurant was of a very good standard as expected from wetherspoons. The hotel is in the middle of Bewdley and is very handy as a base for visiting the lovely country side and attractions near by.

Room Tip: try to get a room at the back of the hotel away from the main roads noice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level Contributor
114 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

On our arrival at the hotel the car park was being used for a car boot sale so spaces were limited and the entrance of the car park is quite difficult to find as is the reception desk. The George is part of the J.D.Weatherspoons,chain and is located in the centre of Bewdley,the hotel is very old and the room we were allocated was tiny with an even smaller bathroom. The access to the rooms is not easy if you have large pieces of luggage as the stairs are steep and the corridors are narrow but is a very old building so you have to take this into account for this before you book. On departure the printer was not working so we could not get an invoice but the girl on reception said she would Email one to me,I am still waiting.

Room Tip: Access to room can be difficult (no lift)our room was really small on this visit other rooms could b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tvrpieman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

My wife and I stayed just for one night - fantastic last minute deal on the Wetherspoons website. This is one of the Wetherspoons hotels and the third I have stayed in. Very difficult to find the car park at the rear but the saff gave helpful instructions when we asked. The receptionist ( I think she was also the Duty Manager but not certain) was extremely friendly and efficient and gave us a choice of rooms. We chose a small old room on the third floor which was full of character. Original oak beams, uneven floor, sloping ceilings. So much better than modern bland hotel rooms we usually find. Although the room was small it had all we needed with a modern shower, ironing board, hair dryer and flat screen TV. Despite being over the pub and situated on the high street, the room was very quiet even with the window open. Well equipped and spotlessly clean. This is a great old building full of stairs and corridors - you almost need a map to find your way ack to the room! Food and drink all to the usual high Wetherspoon standards. Not exactly gourmet but exactly what we wanted. Wetherspoon staff are usually good but the team here excelled themselves and we shall return.

Room Tip: Seems that rooms on the higher floors may be the smallest but they are also quiet. Very short stro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnandRuth71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We stayed here in a group (9 rooms in all) for a hen party. The rooms are recently refurbished and are very clean, if a bit too modern for the style of building. Staff were fantanstic, very friendly and helpful, food excellent as you would expect in a wetherspoons. Only thing to be aware of, some of the rooms are TINY, not a problem to us using the hotel as a crash pad, but others on a weekend break may be disapointed. On the other hand some rooms were huge, after all it's not a modern hotel! Church bells wake up call at 9am on Sunday wasn't great after a big night out but at least we all made it to breakfast! Will definately be back.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are more noisy as the road is very busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank countessdotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bewdley
1.1 mi away
Mercure Kidderminster Hotel
2.1 mi away
Gainsborough House Hotel
Gainsborough House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kidderminster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
#1 of 1 in Stourport on Severn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Kidderminster Hotel
Premier Inn Kidderminster Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kidderminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Granary Hotel and Restaurant
4.9 mi away
Hogarths Stone Manor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Hotel

Property: George Hotel
Address: Load Street, Bewdley DY12 2AW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Bewdley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bewdley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Bewdley, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing