We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent rooms and food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Forester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Royal Forester
Ranked #4 of 15 Bewdley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
251 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Excellent rooms and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed in the aubergine room and found the bed really comfy with good quality bedding, lots of fresh towels and spotlessly clean. Friends in pumpkin had issue with a weak power shower but not the case in aubergine. Staff were really welcoming and helpful and the smoked salmon and scrambled egg at breakfast was wonderful as was the choice of cereals, nuts, fruits etc. just on the edge of the were forest so wonderful walking on the doorstep. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Aubergine was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salcheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    42
    20
    12
    9
See reviews for
36
106
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Me and my partner stayed at The Royal Forester last weekend (15 / 16 Nov) for an autumn weekend break, and we couldn't have asked for a better time. I always struggle to find accommodation that allow my dog to stay, so this was a bonus before we started. From the time we checked in to the time we checked out, were made to feel most welcome by the tremendously friendly staff. My dog also had a lot of attention and was spoilt!
We stayed in the Pumpkin room, which was great! Very modern, well decorated, cosy, with an extremely comfortable bed that played a big part in the completely undisturbed sleep we had on both nights.
The B&B is located opposite The Wyre Forest, which was thoroughly enjoyable, particularly at this time of year! Our tasty, plentiful breakfast on both mornings had set us up for walking for miles around the forest (thanks chef!!). Its not a long drive to Kidderminster, which is a nice town to walk around.
We dined in the resturant one evening which was fantastic, food was of a high standard, and the portion sizes were also good for the price. Service was also good, the bar saff and waiting staff are very customer focussed and all very polite.
Although we had a deal through KGB, we have decided that our stay was so enjoyable that we will be returning soon. It's a great feeling to return from a weekend away feeling so refreshed, and I'd have no qualms in paying the extra to do that more often!
Really grateful for finding this little beauty of a B&B, absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belper, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

We visited this pub/b&B through a groupon and were not disappointed.
Jason who greeted us was very professional and took my bag up to my room.The rooms were fantastic, i stayed in the 'Pear' room and it was absolutely divine. The bed was lovely and comfortable and i slept through the night most unusual when staying in a strange bed. The bathroom had a bath as well as a shower and the water hot and plentiful.
My friend stayed in the 'Cheery' room and this was just as lovely but being on the main road was noisier.
We ate in the restaurant the night we arrived and though the meal was really lovely we found the service rather slow.
On the whole a lovely stay and one we will be revisiting.

Room Tip: Can recommend the 'Pear' Room. 'Cherry' room is noisy as on main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

We booked a two night stay on a KGB deal and stayed in the Cherry Room.
The pub itself and the staff were very welcoming and we had a fantastic meal on the first night which really was faultless. Breakfast and service itself were excellent. The problem was the room. The Cherry room is at the front of the pub and the noise from the road was extremely loud and the road was very busy. We woke up at 7am on the first morning due to road noise. Obviously the owners (who we didn't see at all) can't help that but there were also other issues. There was a pane of glass in the room that was cracked, The extractor in the bathroom didn't work and there was dirty marks that looked like they had run down the wall. There were also a couple of spotlight bulbs that needed replacing. Everything just looked a little bit shabby. The bed was very comfortable but it doesn't really matter if you are unable to sleep. On the second night the noise from the pub was the problem and it went on until about 4.30am. It was that bad that at breakfast the other guests also mentioned it. If I had paid full price for this break I would had be extremely disappointed. I was expecting to return from the weekend feeling rested, instead I went straight to bed. We won't be returning.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the Cherry room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumaris, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed at the Royal Forester on a KGB deal and found it to be an excellent choice for a 2-night break. As soon as we walked in we were made to feel welcome; the Gooseberry room had everything we needed : a good sized, comfortable bed and a super bathroom. We ate in the restaurant on both nights and were very pleased with the choice of menu; food excellently cooked and presented. The staff were friendly and keen to please; we cannot praise them enough. The location of the hotel is ideal for exploring the area, close to Ludlow and Bridgenorth. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be returning. Thank you.

Room Tip: Recommend the Gooseberry room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

We absolutely loved our weekend stay at the Royal Forrester - the rooms had clearly just been renovated, and the large bath was great. The breakfasts included were of a really high standard and Max couldn't do enough for us. Thoroughly recommend staying here and particularly recommend the food - thank you for a great break.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

I treated my boyfriend to a weekend away for his 40th to this little pub. It is a lovely little place, good atmosphere, lovely staff and lovely room. We stayed two nights in the gooseberry room ,which we both found very homely and welcoming.

We both had a relaxing night sleep in a good sized comfortable room and bed. The bathroom was lovely just a shame there was no window to let all the steam out.

We ate in the restaurant the first night and it was absolutely lovely. We could not fault the food and the waitress was friendly and accommodating.

We both had breakfast two mornings and it was fresh, appetising with a good selection of food. We both opted for a cooked breakfast that filled the spot. We did not realise on the Monday morning that breakfast was only served till 10.00am and we did not come down till about 10.20am to be informed breakfast had finished. The waitress was so lovely and said it was no problem and we could stil have a cooked breakfast each, which was so kind of her.

I would definitely come back in the summer as there are some lovely walks and see more of Bewdley and the town centre. Be nice to see what the other rooms are like.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ratscam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bewdley
2.8 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bewdley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
3.8 mi away
Mercure Kidderminster Hotel
4.9 mi away
Gainsborough House Hotel
Gainsborough House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kidderminster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Premier Inn Kidderminster Hotel
Premier Inn Kidderminster Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kidderminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hogarths Stone Manor
7.1 mi away
The Granary Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Forester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Forester

Property: The Royal Forester
Address: Callow Hill, Bewdley DY13 9XW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Bewdley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bewdley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Forester 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, SpeedyBooker.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Royal Forester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Forester Hotel Bewdley
The Royal Forester Bewdley, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing