We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back!”
Review of The Royal Forester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Royal Forester
Ranked #7 of 13 Bewdley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Olde worlde charm meets contemporary chic
Wonderful rooms, luxurious bathroom, large screen, modern tv on wall, cabt fault it.
Restaurant is fine dining which was not to our liking personally but was of high standard if you like that sort of thing. Carrot coriander and orange soup tasted only of the orange thus was bitter...very strange combination!
Dessert was tasty but literally 3 mouthfuls unfortunately.
However, this only deters us from eating in the restaurant; we would definitely stay again at this wonderful little haven :)

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank dealfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 229 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2013

We have just arrived home after a lovely stay, I must admit my first impression wasn't brilliant - I didn't like the carpets or the rail hanging but the room (Pear) was perfectly clean,warm and cosy. The power shower was brilliant. We were also at the back of the building no great view but quieter than at the front I imagine.

What marks this place up is the food and service, Jack was very friendly and welcoming on arrival and he quickly fixed our fused lights, the staff serving food were also very good,lovely girl served us breakfast. The food was delicious, great breakfast freshly made, could have done with some fresh fruit. The second night we ate in the restaurant (I wish we had eaten here the first night aswell) the venison was the best we have ever had. We also had very nice cheese and biscuits between us but they gave us two glasses of port!!

Would recommend this pub and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank summer51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

My husband and I booked a two night break at The Forester Inn 6 months in advance of our stay.
Good journey from Somerset and greeted by Max who showed us to our room - The Plum Room. There is no wardrobe in the room only a rail with hangers over the fridge and kettle. We couldnt understand why there was a fridge in the room as just seemed out of place and not needed and would have given us plenty on hanging room (depth) for our clothes.
No dressing table as such - see pictures.
The decor is a little tired and marks on the wall and carpet. The bed was reasonably comfortable but pillows so hard we both ended up with a sore neck in the morning. We had requested a quiet room as I am a light sleeper so were not too happy to be woken by guests leaving the pub (our room was over the main entrance).
The plumbing in our room just couldnt cope and we ended up with a small bath of water whilst showering. Sink filled up when cleaning our teeth and slowly seeped away and flush on toilet poor. Not able to use the mirror in the bathroom as the extractor fan was broken - we pointed this out to the owner the next morning - reply yes I am aware of this - would have been nice to have told us when checking in or putting us in another room - hence we had to leave our window open all the time to clear the bathroom and freshen the room.
Breakfast on both mornings was very good as was the service.
We ate in the restaurant on the second night and ordered the self carvery (Sunday is roast dinner all day and no other options available) - the beef was very tender and good selection of veg - cost is £14.99 per person.
Plenty of parking in the car park. As guests you can enter via the side door rather than go through the pub.
We cannot fault the food or the service but very disappointed with the room and sleep quality.

Room Tip: We stayed in The Plum room - as mentioned needs maintenance and over the main entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAD63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Had a wonderful stay here this week. The room was lovely, the evening meal and wine delicious and one of the nicest breakfast I have had in a long time, especially the mushroom. The staff are really friendly and the place has a lovely warm, cosy feeling. Would recommend staying.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lubylulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed at this hotel as part of a kgb deal. 1st impression as we arrived was a lovely homely place with a pub/restaurant which was very cosy and inviting. We stayed in the cherry room which is at the front looking out onto the A road. It was noisey which could be a problem for guests but nothing the hotel can really do about it as someone has to stay there. Room was nice and big. We eat in the restaurant on both nights which we dont normally do. As the food was excellent. Also loved the restaurant surroundings. Food was reasonable priced aswell. Staff friendly at all times. Would stay here again. Just a pity the weather was bad for the time we stayed here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsEloveshols1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We went on a KGB deal. First impressions were good. We were met by Jack who showed us to our room. It looked very nice at first. The modern "wardrobe" was loosely connected and rickety, the bathroom mirror was hanging off the wall, and the "complimentary toiletries" was a soap dispenser - full of soap but the bottle was still stoppered so none came out. But let us forget all that.

The room smelt of smoke as the staff had a smoking area directly below our window. Clearly no ash trays were provided, so the floor was covered in old fag-ends - nice! The bathroom walls were covered in dirty dribbling stains (these came off with a wipe - we tried it - so just poor cleaning. But let us forget all that.

The advertised room description on the net lists bathrobes, iron, ironing board, trouser press and entertainment centre. With none of the above in evidence, I went to question whether we did have the "superior room" promised. "They are all superior" I was told - "What is missing?" Confronted with a couple, the lack was attributed to us being on a KGB deal. When I expressed surprise and the rest of the list, they admitted that the website "Needed looking at" but admitted that there had never been a trouser press anywhere!

We have left this review several weeks to give them time to look at it. As I write, the list of lies remains. But let us forget all that.

The wifi was so bad as to be worse than useless - I spent some hours trying to get it to function effectively. The edging: on the stairs were so loose as to be dangerous. But let us forget all that.
Breakfast the first day was a farce! We were last down but an hour before the end, and although were promptly offered tea or coffee, the rest was slow. I can understand waiting for freshly cooked but 25 minutes is long! We were not offered toast but when we did it was greeted with a BIG humph and we were made to feel a burden. When our breakfast finally arrived the owner started clearing up around us and pushing past our table to clean the next, despite access from the other side being easy and the rest of the room empty. We had to ask for butter, then for toast. They had run out of orange juice and had a wait before being given some from behind the bar.

We booked in for an evening meal on the first night. The owner started towards us as we waited, but then she noticed a group she knew arriving. We we're abandoned as she left us to apologise that the friends couldn't have their 'normal table' but proceeded to deal with them. She called to a waitress to take us to table 12. The waitress was lovely and showed us to the dreaded table 12; dark with small hard chairs and next to the kitchen door. When a scream of "service" made me jump for the second time in a couple of minutes, we asked to move. Once she had asked permission, our waitress happily moved us to a new table. The food is very good but not cheap for relatively small portions. But let us forget all that.

Breakfast the second day was served by a young waitress who was lovely. She was on the ball, offered toast, kept the orange juice etc topped up.

The serving staff were lovely, and the food excellent. Would we stay again? Not a chance! Never have we known such a disingenuous "host". Her attitude (and her attitude to her misrepresentative website) is quite enough to prevent us from returning.. We didn't even get a goodbye when we left - could it be that she knew that we saw straight through her?

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kags68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Room was really lovely, and had a large tv, which makes a nice change. All rooms are fruit themed, and we stayed in the Plum Room. The bathroom was incredible - really top-notch. Fridge in our room (lovely touch). There is a lovely looking restaurant at the Inn, but we didn't eat there. Breakfast was okay, but a bit disappointing as it seemed that the food had been kept warm as opposed to freshly cooked (especially the bacon). Housekeeping let the Inn down, as our bed wasn't made (blanket merely thrown straight), tea and coffee weren't topped up and bathroom wasn't cleaned at all. Luckily we had hung our towels to dry, otherwise they would have been soaking wet when we came back.
Overall a lovely place, but not sure that we would return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shbrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bewdley
3.8 mi away
Mercure Bewdley The Heath Hotel
5.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
#1 of 1 in Stourport on Severn
961 reviews
2.8 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bewdley
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Mug House Inn
Mug House Inn
#5 of 13 in Bewdley
164 reviews
4.0 mi away
Worralls Grove
Worralls Grove
#1 of 2 in Arley
54 reviews
2.7 mi away
Welch Gate Guest House
Welch Gate Guest House
#10 of 13 in Bewdley
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Forester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Forester

Address: Callow Hill, Bewdley DY13 9XW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Bewdley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Bewdley
Price Range: $115 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Forester 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Royal Forester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Forester Hotel Bewdley
The Royal Forester Bewdley, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing