We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trying but not quite getting there !”
Review of The Royal Forester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Royal Forester
Ranked #8 of 13 Bewdley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

We Stayed here one night with a couple of friends in November . The food on the Saturday night was really good and we had no complaints . However the room let the weekend down really. First impressions were "not bad for the money" but looking deeper you could see things had been done cheaply , no quality at all . There were no toiletries in the bathroom , the hanging rail was located over the kettle, towels were cheap. My husband was up in the night trying to repair the toilet which would not stop flushing and them the window which would not stop rattling! Not a good nights sleep at all snd when we told the girl the next morning her attitude was all wrong. No apologies just said there had been problems with the toilet before! We Won't be back...

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jancoulter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
There are newer reviews for The Royal Forester
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 223 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012

I have stayed at the Royal Forester a few times now and everytime we receive fantastic treatment from Sean and his team. Nothing is ever too much trouble. The rooms are beautifully furnished with everything you need for a perfect overnight stay. The rooms are decorated to the highest of standards, each with their own unique theme and are both spacious and comfortable with lovely clean bathrooms.
The food in the restaurant is delicious whatever time of day and the staff are really warm and friendly.
I highly recommend The Royal Forester to anyone thinking of staying in the Worcestershire area.
we hope to be back next month.

From Jules Kearley, Marbella,Spain

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jules K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Last weekend (October 12th) we held a private function for 100 guests to celebrate our wedding. It was fantastic. The whole Foresters team were friendly, polite and enthusiastic and really made our evening feel that extra bit special. The venue is really beautifully styled and offered a really nice chilled out, relaxed alternative to a formal hotel style wedding reception. We worked closely with the chef; Mark to create our own menu for our guests which was prepared and presented to the highest standards. The bedrooms were lovely, all individually themed with all the usual amenities. The nicest thing for us, was how many positive comments were fed back to us from our family and friends. We can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenWin9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Idiosyncratically refurbished pub becomes stylish restaurant with high class food, exceptionally friendly service and quirky rooms. Our big group was thoroughly satisfied by our weekend at The Royal Forester. Congratulations to all concerned and thanks for a great time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeicSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

My Wife and I stayed here when we went to a friend's party. He recommended we stay at The Royal Forester and that was backed up by the Trip Advisor rating. I am pleased that it more than lived up to expectations! A comfortable room and bed with an interesting themed twist; in fact there are nice decorative touches throughout. Breakfast was very good with a great range of cereals and excellent fry up. The icing on the cake was the lift that the owner gave us to and from our party in his pristine original orange & white VW Camper Van! A testament to the fine service all the staff provided during our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hawkesbury_Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Following a friend's recommendation I stayed here for one night with my husband and it was a delightful experience. We arrived and were shown to our beautifully refurbished and immaculately clean room. It was actually quite a surprise as I was not expecting a modern 'boutique' style room in what otherwise seemed a rather more olde worlde pub.
We had dinner in the restaurant and chose from the 'specials' menu; three courses for under £15! We dine out a lot and it can be a bit hit and miss, but we were not disappointed. I had a starter of red mullet and black pudding salad and my husband had ballotine of chicken; both of which were delicious We then opted for the slow roasted belly pork and it was wonderfully flavoursome. The vegetables were also perfectly cooked and retained just the right amount of firmness. We shared a bread and butter pudding and sticky toffee pudding for dessert, both of which were delicious and very fresh; although the bread and butter pudding had chocolate in it rather than the sultanas I was expecting.
The full English breakfast yesterday morning maintained the same high standards and the same level of excellent service.
My only reservation in recommending this hotel is that I'd quite like to keep it a secret so that it isn't fully booked when I want to stay there again!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

After an horrendous experience at another local venue at the time upset n deeply disappointed we stumbled upon the foresters. We were not disappointed they excelled in great service and friendly staff, we were that impressed we decided to eat the following evening and this compensated for the disaster previous night :-)
Please don't advertise for a new chef unlike the other venue as you certainly don't need to unlike the one closer to Bewdley!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Finediner68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bewdley
3.8 mi away
Mercure Bewdley The Heath Hotel
2.8 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bewdley
426 reviews
4.9 mi away
Gainsborough House Hotel
Gainsborough House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kidderminster
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
#1 of 1 in Stourport on Severn
922 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Granary Hotel and Restaurant
7.5 mi away
Hogarths Stone Manor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Forester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Forester

Address: Callow Hill, Bewdley DY13 9XW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Bewdley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Bewdley
Price Range: $112 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Forester 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Royal Forester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Forester Hotel Bewdley
The Royal Forester Bewdley, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing