We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Spanish food but I found this bland”
Review of La Tasca New Brighton - CLOSED

La Tasca New Brighton
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love Spanish food but I found this bland”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I have lived in Spain, eat Spanish style food regularly and I've been to other la tasca, however this one lacks that Spanish feel and I found the food a little bland. I hope it gets better but I wouldn't rush back

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank winkwallops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

660 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    167
    83
    66
    85
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Too many interruptions by staff!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

First time I have eaten here the food was served promptly and looked nicer than it tasted. Rather bland. My main thing was we were approached at least 8 times by staff - do you want another drink - 4 times when we clearly had plenty. Is everything ok 3 times, did we want to look at the desert menu? When we said no, the waitress just stood there - my husband still had 1/2 pint left, we asked for the bill - obviously she wanted us out! "Are you paying by card or cash" she asked, we said card and she immediately brought the bill and cash card payment machine! Felt they couldn't get us out quick enough! We were in and out in 35 mins - two courses!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire uk
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Was pleasantly surprised!”
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Don't agree with a lot of the feedback we had heard and the reviews on here. The service was quick and friendly, food was great and atmosphere pleasant and it seemed very organised with a good presence of the manager. Will definitely go back. We did try to book a few weeks ago online and was annoyed that it took 24 hrs to say it was full! I would recommend ringing for a reservation but tonight we got a table without booking.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Not bad!”
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Went on a Monday! Service was pretty good albeit there was not many tables in. Ordered starters and tapas mains. All the food was very nice and tasty. Sangria didnt seem to have much alcohol in at all so i wouldn't get that again! Overall a good experience and will certainly return. A nice 20% off too with loyaly card. Would be overpriced without discount!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flyer1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great food,great service very helpful friendly staff”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We made an online booking but failed to check for a response, we arrived at La Tasca at what we thought was our time slot to be told that a reply e mail had been sent to say that they were fully booked up, however they found us a slot and I can only say that this was THE BEST meal we had ever had. It's really great to see New Brighton back were it was a century ago and it's all down to our Clown...

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jimbo1954Merseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tasca New Brighton also viewed

 
New Brighton, Wirral
New Brighton, Wirral
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing