We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Drinks so slow to come”

Chimichanga - New Brighton
Ranked #15 of 39 Restaurants in New Brighton
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Europe
Level Contributor
118 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Drinks so slow to come”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Food was tasty and served well. Staff were friendly. Ordered drinks on arrival and were halfway through starter before they arrived. Sat with empty glass from halfway through main course, when ordered sweet asked for another drink, this took about ten minutes to arrive. So food nice, food service good, bar service very poor on this occasion

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank timmy1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    110
    73
    51
    69
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food, great service and good value”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Arrived on a freezing cold night and found a warm welcome . Waited for a table for 2 in what seemed like a short time, was seated in a cosy booth and was looked after well. Service was excellent , waiters very patient and attentive , food was excellent served promptly and hot , found prices very reasonable. Staff friendly and a happy atmosphere .Will definitely be back again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JudgeStarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Don't bother, complete waste of time and money”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Went in a group of 8 and wished we had'nt bothered. Very poor service, slow to take food and drinks orders, food cold when it arrived and when it did they had the nerve to hurry us up as they were wanting to get off even turning the lights off on us.incredible.Had we not had to wait so long for everything we ordered we would have been out earlier and the staff could have "got off" to where ever they wanted to be,which certainly was'nt chimi changa.Why accept customers then not want to serve them. To the manager and his mates we take your lead and will take our business elsewhere.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Mexico comes to New Brighton”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Mexican is one of my favourites. I particularly enjoy chimichangas, and so was made up when I heard a restaurant of that very name was opening up down the road from me. My first (and definitely not last) meal began with a shared taster platter of Mexican spring rolls (taquitos) and quesadillas, served on a bed of tortilla chips with guacamole and salsa. All very tasty, especially the quesadilla. My main course was (predictably) a chimichanga, of the BBQ pulled pork variety. My girlfriend went for the tortilla cheese burger, and we swapped half-way through. Both main courses were delicious, with tasty sides of spiced chips, Mexican rice and black beans. For drinks we shared a fishbowl of cocktail that lasted us the entire meal. Very enjoyable, I'll not hesitate to return or recommend.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dominic G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“A pleasant place.”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We just dropped in this evening after a visit to the cinema opposite. The staff were very busy but we were quickly given a table. The food was tasty with decent portions. The only criticism is that the drinks service was slow. I would go back again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia4912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chimichanga - New Brighton also viewed

New Brighton, Wirral
New Brighton, Wirral
 
New Brighton, Wirral
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Chimichanga - New Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing