We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“free sunday 15th june”
Review of Fort Perch Rock

Fort Perch Rock
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
624 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
“free sunday 15th june”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

hello people, if you are out and about new brighton on june 15th, come and visit the fort perch rock, there will be live music, 100 s of scooters , and a right goo scene, its cloud 9 s day all welcome, and if you want to you can give a donation to enter, theres food, and teas coffees and beers, , I promise you will not be disappointed, and all the different scooters are amazing, , most people say the lambrettas stand out the most,and look the best, and I have heard a few say , them vespas are very rusty, most children love the scooters and can sit on them for photies, and usually like the lambrettas, ENJOY

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank alanerobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    45
    28
    11
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Rock night”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We went to a gig at this venue and it was well organised. The staff were friendly. I would definitely go again

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vikki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A fort in every sense of the word!”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

according to the website they are open daily Tuesday - Sunday from 10am to 6pm. They are open during school holidays. We arrived during 1/2 term week on the Sunday first day of summer at 10.10. There was a large banner saying that the fort was open however when we walked up the ramp to the entrance there was a chain across with a Closed sign. We went for a walk along the promenade and came back at 10.30 the chain and closed sign had been removed. We saw a woman walk up to the main doors and close them behind her. So we expected the fort to be open. The main doors were locked! We walked back to the car and we saw another couple go up to the fort but they also walked back down the ramp because they couldn't gain entry either.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank stormchaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A variety of local military and social history”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

This was our second attempt to visit the fort. We had tried on Tuesday after checking the website for opening time but found the fort shut. However, we were not put off and returned on the Saturday. The fort was open and we thought the admission fee of £3 each was reasonable. We were greeted warmly by the volunteer on the desk who took the time to direct us to the various exhibitions. We visited all the exhibitions and were particularly interested in those directly related to the fort as we both had family who had served there in active service. The local music exhibit was interesting and brought back memories. We enjoyed the walk around the top parts of the fort and enjoyed the views. The only cautionary note is that to enjoy the fort you need to be able to climb stairs. Most stairs have a handrail and I was able to access all stairs with the assistance of my walking stick. I have recently had two knee replacements. There more work being done to the fort and it is obvious it needs financial support. So if you can, go visit and enjoy the views, the exhibitions and the cafe but most of all pay your £3 so gone hood work can continue.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DotQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

My husband and I have visited the lovely town of New Brighton on many many occasions but never visited the Fort.. Yesterday we decided to have a look round. The admission fee is only
£3-00 per adult and kids go in free.. It's a lot of steps so disabled visitors would not find any of it easy. But for those who would like to look at WWII artefacts and the history of some local disasters this place is a must.. Displayed are jet engines dug from 25feet in the ground and lovingly pieced together by the staff at the fort and displayed, the history of each piece is authenticated and displayed. If you are lucky enough to catch John who's exceptional knowledge of these pieces is second to non you are in for a treat. We visited the titanic radio room which was very surreal and authentic, we liked the tower too with the radar room, this place has a huge replica battle ship with detailing that is beyond exceptional. There is a bar but sadly it have had a bit of a battering from the storm before Christmas and is currently under refurb the cafe wasn't open either when we visited and it could do with a bit of TLC. But the history, the stories behind the crashed pieces of aircraft the human side of the war. The loss of life, for our freedom. This place needs to be visited and our children need to be educated and see the sacrifices made for us. The fort it's elf is an amazing building of local history.
I will be visiting again and I'm going to spread the word..

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank vickiruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Perch Rock also viewed

 

Been to Fort Perch Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing