We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic old school type hotel”
Review of Hollins Hey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hollins Hey Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 New Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Classic old school type hotel”
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

This was a fantastic hotel the staff were extremley helpful and polite. The room was spacious and had a 4 poster bed, the shower was really hot which was great. The breakfast was fantastic and filling, I really do recommend this hotel

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    22
    17
    6
    14
See reviews for
42
38
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed as part of a wedding the service from the staff was impeccable and the food was brilliant and prices of drinks really good for a hotel. The effort that went in to making the day and function room look amazing was out of this world but sadly the room i stayed in was poor don't get me wrong the rooms that had been refurbished were lovely sadly i didn't have one of those if the rooms were all done i would stay again at the drop of a hat.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

What a little gem this is!! Amazing food and great old fashioned service! A real bargain price for the quality of the meal. The decor needs a little updating, but the food and atmosphere more than make up for it. We have been for big family get togethers as well as just the two of us and the quality is always amazing. Hats off to Mr Carruthers and his lovely team!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzy072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was lovely room was very nice staff was great not one thing went wrong at the wedding the staff was above and beyond would stay again and the manager Ian was nice and laid back, breakfast was great and plenty to choose from.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed and attended a wedding reception at Hollins Hey Hotel & restaurant. This is a hidden jem. The rooms were very clean, modern and comfortable. The staff were very helpful and polite and made us feel very welcome. We would not hesitate to go here again for a stay and would recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Room 7 has a 4 poster bed if you require a romantic stay. Room 1, even though view not great was ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ciaran D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We used the Hollins Hey for our wedding reception on Satuday, August 10 and cannot fault it. Throughout the process the staff were efficient and helpful. We only wanted an afternoon buffet reception after our morning wedding. The price was very reasonable, and they give you the use of their Rolls Royce (with driver Ian, of course!) plus a four-poster room for the bride and groom that night, free. Everything on the day was perfect - we didn't have to ask for anything to be done, and were looked after at all times. The table decorations and place settings were lovely, the food absolutely gorgeous (hot and cold buffet plus yummy desserts) and the service excellent. Very professional. Everyone commented on how good they were. Granted, the hotel is a little scruffy in parts, but it is full of character, was clean and comfortable and I really can't fault the service we had. They clearly do a lot of weddings, and they do them well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pambloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Booked twin room with sea view, given twin over looking car park - told couldn't be moved as someone checked into the room we had booked! Then offered a double room each, on different floors! Said we'd stay put but asked for full Eng b'fast as gesture of goodwill, which we got. Wedding taking place on day of arrival so car park full and we had to park on main road. No assistance offered with bags etc and our room was on the 2nd floor - no lift! Upon our return from night out (friend's birthday bash) kept awake from 1.30am til gone 6am by rowdy drunken yobs in next room - noise constant despite two complaints to them (the first being very polite! the second not so much!!) - wedding guests who trashed their room and fled without paying! Imagine how the bride and groom must have felt! Manager couldn't apologise enough and didn't charge us for our room. Manager and staff helpful and courteous, inside of hotel has character, good breakfast and service, our room was basic - shabby without the chic but comfortable. Ideal location. Recommend to friends? Yes but ensure you get the room you booked and certainly not when a wedding taking place ;)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyJules67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Brighton
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Wallasey New Brighton
0.7 mi away
The Grove House Hotel and Restaurant
2.7 mi away
Leasowe Castle Hotel
Leasowe Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leasowe
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Village Hotel Wirral
Village Hotel Wirral
#1 of 3 in Bromborough
1,509 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albion Guest House
Albion Guest House
#3 of 5 in New Brighton
118 reviews
0.3 mi away
The New Brighton Hotel
The New Brighton Hotel
#1 of 1 in New Brighton
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollins Hey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollins Hey Hotel

Property: Hollins Hey Hotel
Address: 191 Victoria Road, New Brighton CH45 0JY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > New Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in New Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hollins Hey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Hollins Hey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hollins Hey
Hollins Hey Hotel New Brighton, Merseyside, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing