We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good cinema setting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Light Cinema

The Light Cinema
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Light is an 8 screen cinema with state of the art digital picture and sound auditorium. This is not just a cinema, but a social hub for locals and visitors. Upon entering The Light you will be welcomed into a spacious café bar where you can have a drink and a light bite before or after the film. Enjoy a refreshing beer or a delicious coffee and choose from a selection of sandwiches and sweet treats. Specially created, movie themed artwork provides the backdrop for this café where you can sit and discuss the films. As an extra special touch, all screens are licensed, so you are free to take your refreshments into the screen to enjoy with your movie.
Wirral
Level Contributor
115 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good cinema setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

8 screen cinema showing all the usual films, wider than usual seats are standard so comfy too and good wheelchair access. Well situated surrounded by places to eat and drink

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank WirralBeaniebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    68
    13
    9
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
258 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Well placed for a Movie or two...!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Not the biggest cinema you will ever go to, but one I will return to.

Customer service is very good and the price per movie is very competitive. Add to this it's proximity to good food outlets and convenient parking make it a venue to be enjoyed.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank LesKeggin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
192 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“high quality cinema”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Digital projection, big comfy seats, awesome sound - what more do you want !!!

Been here a few times now and it's my fav place to go when I want to catch a movie, staff are pleasant, quality is high and the added bonus is the massive free parking available (shared with Morrisons)

A must for cinema lovers all over the Wirral

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank DurhamPitLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westkirby
Level Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“'Disappointed by poor staff attitude'”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

We are regulars to many cinemas in the Wirral and Liverpool areas,but for some reason not here,so we decided to give it a go.
I was asked by a young lady to produce tickets which i did. At tht point my friend decided to go to the toilet ,after a few minutes he came back, and to my astonishment,the same lady again asked for tickets. I was standing right next to her,hadn t moved and it was really quiet!!!
I politely said'You ve just seen them!'
She replied in a rude manner --I have to see them again!!
This was uncalled for and put us off,she looked stern and gave a poor impression to customers. Not good for business,hope this is noted as all the other staff were great.

Helpful?
3 Thank mandymf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
481 reviews
182 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“Comfortable seating and a great sound system”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

One of my New Year resolutions was to visit the cinema more often and I have managed 4 visits to the Light Cinema since January!
I think this is a great cinema, the seats are comfortable and well-angled so your view is never spoilt by anyone sitting in front. The sound system is excellent and the cinema is always very clean.
My only complaint, and this is probably the same in all cinemas these days, is the sale of food. My husband and I went to see the Grand Hotel Budapest on Saturday evening. We booked our seats online and selected the back row thinking we would not be disturbed by noise from anyone. To my horror(!) the 3 seats to my right became occupied by adults armed with hot dogs and 'buckets' of poporn. Why can't people eat before they get to the cinema.? My viewing of the film, which was very good by the way, was accompanied by a constant chomping noise which was really annoying. I wish food in cinemas would be banned!!!
That aside, the Light Cinema in New brighton is excellent.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank judithWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Light Cinema also viewed

 
New Brighton, Wirral
 

Been to The Light Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing