We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable , clean and very welcoming”

Sherwood Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sherwood Guest House
Ranked #1 of 5 New Brighton B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable , clean and very welcoming”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I stayed here for a couple of nights whilst visiting a friend . I was travelling alone so was slightly nervous but from the time I arrived until the morning I left everyone was very helpful and welcoming. My room was clean comfortable and light , from which I could see the Sea. The guest house is well positioned for exploring New Brighton and Liverpool and has much more personality than a corporate hotel chains such as travel lodge . I would highly recommend , in fact I have done so already to my friend who I was visiting when she has other visitors . Hoping to go back next year

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
49
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Instead of staying in the City stay here in the beautiful Sherwood Guest House. With brilliant travel links into Liverpool and lovely views of the sea why stay anywhere else. The Sherwood is a beautiful Art Deco house originally a Sea Captain's house. Sherril the owner is a perfect host and cannot do enough for you. The rooms are gorgeous with high ceilings and luxurious bed linen. Everything you need is here including home made shortbread. Breakfast is the best we have ever had - a real treat, everything of a five star standard, home cooked and delicious. But its Sherill's touches which make this place, beautiful china and fresh flowers. Also a lovely garden to sit in and just 5 mins to a stunning beach. This place is very underrated and should easily be 4* - its such a bargain - should be double the price for what's here. Book it and enjoy a real treat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkDann44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

myself and partner stayed at the sherwood for 1 night 7th june having been recommended by a friend. lovely place. quiet street.only a five minute walk to shops and beach.great location.train station 5 minutes walk. sherrill is a lovely friendly lady and breakfast was really tasty. we stayed in one of the front bedrooms. bed was really comfortable. we went for a walk along the front. would recommend the sherwood guest house to anybody if they want a nice quiet place to stay but in a great location. hopefully go back there soon. and also weather was fantastic. shaz and les

Room Tip: the front bedroom with bay window is good as you can see a little over the mersey
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shareen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I grew up on the Wirral & regularly return there to catch up with old friends & to enjoy the area. I always stay at the Sherwood Guest House in New Brighton. It's an ideal location with great transport links (bus & train) to Liverpool & anywhere on the Wirral. There has been a lot of recent development around the sea front with a large Morrisons supermarket, multi-screen cinema & eating places all a short distance from the Sherwood. Sherrill, the proprietor, & her assistant, Diane, make you feel very welcome & send you off each day with a great cooked breakfast. The rooms are always clean, tidy & very comfortable with good central heating to keep you cozy in the colder months. The prices are very competitive & usually cheaper than the national budget hotel chains. With a delicious breakfast also included, the Sherwood Guest House is a great deal.
Ian & Deanne.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OzCaptainHook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Definately will return to The Sherwood, spotlessly clean, comfortable beds in a peaceful yet central location, lovely helpful and friendly owner/manager.
Fab full English breakfast set us up for our days on the beach.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greasby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed Grand National day found this guest house very comfortable.
The decor was a bit shabby basically needs freshening up.
Our room was very good and spacious.
The breakfast was well cooked and plenty of toast, well organised considering the guest house was very busy with racegoers.
Would stay again.

Room Tip: The family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Visted this lovely B & B on the Wirral whilst visting inlaws. Good location to shops, sea front, station and all the other local attractions (do visit a fantastic little book shop round the corner and the ice cream parlour on the front!).This B&B offers good value for money, very comfortable beds and clean en suite bathroom and decor. Breakfast included, freshly cooked and really tasty! Sheril the hostess is very helpful and a pleasure. Save a bit of money and book direct with the B&B by phone rather than booking online. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Does have a family room which gives you a lot of space as has an extra bed, room about £10 extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElToroChichester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Brighton
Leasowe Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leasowe
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Albion Guest House
#3 of 5 in New Brighton
118 reviews
Dunsandles Guest House
#2 of 5 in New Brighton
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherwood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherwood Guest House

Property: Sherwood Guest House
Address: 55 Wellington Road | Wirral, New Brighton CH45 2ND, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > New Brighton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in New Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sherwood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sherwood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherwood Guest House New Brighton, Merseyside, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing