We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, good food”
Review of The Churchill

The Churchill
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We decided to try this as our friends had recommended it. We arrived just after 1800hrs on a Saturday night without booking. When we arrived we were told the restaurant was fully booked but if we could find a table around the bar area, the food was the same. we got an empty table and ordered our meal from the bar. The staff were very friendly and helpful throughout the evening. The food was very good and the portions were not too large. The price was reasonable, so all in all a good evening. We will go back again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Manager at The Churchill, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Thank you for leaving a review!

It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your evening with us here.

It gives us great Job Satisfaction that it is noticed by our guests, i will share this review with the team on our notice board.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon

Best Wishes

Paul & The Churchill Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (731)
There are newer reviews for The Churchill
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

591 - 595 of 731 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2013

Early for a meeting in Wootton Bassett we spotted the Churchill and a board advertising a breakfast deal. We had been on the road for several hours so decided to give it a try. We actually got in before they officially opened and all the staff were friendly and helpful, even the cleaning crew.

The breakfast was just the right size, well cooked and made up of good quality ingredients. The pub is part of the “Eating Inn” chain, which I do not believe I have used before. If the Churchill is a typical example then I will be trying them again.

Any negatives? Only the size of the cups for the tea – need to be larger. But, I accept this is a minor point.

The level of service was very good and overall experience very positive.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Richard O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Manager at The Churchill, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Thanks for taking the time in leaving a review:

Glad to read that you enjoyed our breakfast offering recently.
Since going live with breakfasts its reviews like yours that have made them a success.

Thank you and hope to see you again real soon

Best Wishes

Paul & The Churchill Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

I go here on a regular basis, always good reliable food, and service. Take friends there on a regular basis.

Thank Lindsylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Manager at The Churchill, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Thank you for leaving a review

Happy to read you enjoy our offerings at The Churchill and bring along your friends.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon

Best Wishes

Paul & The Churchill Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Its was just me and my mum when we went to the churchill. When we arrived, we were very kindly greeted and shown to our seats. With very quick service we made our order and waited for our food. I had ordered cod and chips, were as my mum, some sort of chilli dish. We didn't have to wait very long until we got our food (20 minutes). The food was delicious, cooked to complete quality. One of the most tastiest meals I have had.

This was a lovely place to eat and I would come hear again and again.

Thank johnstonjosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Manager at The Churchill, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review.

Im glad to read that you and your mother enjoyed your recent visit and cant wait to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Wishes

Paul & The Churchill Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Fabulous effort by all the staff to ensure that a super spooky time was had by all. the decor was brilliant and the staff had made fantastic effort carrying the theme through to their costumes!! Even though if was very busy, service standards remained high as always and the whole family had a brilliant experience! Food, disco and games were excellent. We will definitely be back for your next function!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank 4SandyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Manager at The Churchill, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review

Glad you enjoyed our spooky event and thank you for sharing a great review.

We have a few family events in December and would love to welcome your family back for those.

Thank You

Paul & The Churchill Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Churchill also viewed

Royal Wootton Bassett, Wiltshire
Royal Wootton Bassett, Wiltshire
 
Royal Wootton Bassett, Wiltshire
Royal Wootton Bassett, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Churchill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing