We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but be prepared to wait.”
Review of The Churchill

The Churchill
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed September 30, 2013

A pre booked Sunday lunch family gathering at 2.00 and sadly we had to ask the waitress if we could give our drinks order nearly half an hour after sitting down at our table. Then another 10 minutes for 6 drinks to arrive. After that the food was good and service ok but it left us disappointed. We would return but be mindful of our timing and service expectations.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Neal W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Manager at The Churchill, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review

Sorry to read that you had a wait on your last visit.

We do at busy times operate set booking times to prevent any delays on the service that we provide, however we do advise on any delays that may occur due to circumstances beyond our control, if this was not the case then i do appologise.

I hope to welocme you back in the future

Best Wishes

Paul & The Churchill Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (778)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

653 - 657 of 779 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

Excellent food and very good service from the staff. Good choice of menu, catering for.all ages, and very reasonably priced. Younger members of our party enjoyed the Play Area. I wouldn't recommend it for older people on a weekend as it was very noisy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sjw54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Manager at The Churchill, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

Glad to read that you enjoyed your special event with us, it gives great job satisfaction to the team and myself to know our guests enjoy our offering.

We would like to wish you a belated Happy Birthday and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best Wishes & Good Health

Paul & the Churchill Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We have been to this pub quite a few times, The kids love it for the play area (age 10, 8. 6, 3)
and we have always found the food very good and the children love the food. There can be quite a bit of noise but what do you expect with a lot of children.Saying that we have gone on our own (we are the grandparents) and it has been fine, but then we dont mind the noise. Last Boxing day we took the family and had a Christmas dinner and that was very good, it was very busy. This boxing day we are again going but will choose from the main menu not the christmas menu as the kids are better with that.Give it a try, if you have kids they will enjoy it and so will you. Staff are always very helpfull.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pastylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Manager at The Churchill, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Thank you for leaving a review.

A pleasure to read that you enjoy what we offer here at The Churchill and are repeat customers, we look forward to welcoming you and your family back over the festive period.

Best Wishes

Paul & The Churchill Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Call at The Churchill on a weekly basis, the children love the soft play and bouncy castles and we can relax knowing they are safe outdoors, food is 2 for £9.95, what more is there to say?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Reggie666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Manager at The Churchill, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Thank you for leaving a review

It is great to read that you enjoyed your recent visit, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Wishes

Paul & The Churchill Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

A fairly typical pub menu, but a nice environment, good service and good price means it punches above its weight and its also very family friendly and handily placed for those exploring the local area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rus F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Manager at The Churchill, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time in leaving a review.

Its always a pleasure to read that our guests enjoy their experience here at The Churchill, we look forward to welcoming you backi in the near future when you are in the area.

Best Wishes Paul & The Churchill Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Churchill also viewed

Royal Wootton Bassett, Wiltshire
Royal Wootton Bassett, Wiltshire
 
Royal Wootton Bassett, Wiltshire
Royal Wootton Bassett, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Churchill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing