We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family perfection”
Review of The Churchill

The Churchill
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Call at The Churchill on a weekly basis, the children love the soft play and bouncy castles and we can relax knowing they are safe outdoors, food is 2 for £9.95, what more is there to say?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Reggie666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Manager at The Churchill, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Thank you for leaving a review

It is great to read that you enjoyed your recent visit, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Wishes

Paul & The Churchill Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (791)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

668 - 672 of 791 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013

A fairly typical pub menu, but a nice environment, good service and good price means it punches above its weight and its also very family friendly and handily placed for those exploring the local area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rus F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Manager at The Churchill, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time in leaving a review.

Its always a pleasure to read that our guests enjoy their experience here at The Churchill, we look forward to welcoming you backi in the near future when you are in the area.

Best Wishes Paul & The Churchill Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

After a long day at Longleat Safari Park and a slow drive to the local hotel in Swindon (Hilton) we decided with the recommendation of friends to have a meal at this restaurant. Table was booked for 6 and when we arrived it was rather busy already.

We were seated promptly, party of ten, 4 children and 6 adults. The waitress left the menu's for us to choose and returned 5 mins later to take drink choices. These returned quite promptly, however there was then a delay before taking our menu choices. The waitress was new and it looked like every table was taken.

We then told the waitress our choices and she went away to log the order. We then waited an eternity for the food to come out, no starters chosen, just mains. In all from arriving at table to getting food, was well over an hour, with the majority of that time sitting waiting for food.

No problems with the food, typical pub restaurant quality food however the time taken deterred from the experience. With children of 7, 4, 3 and under 2 in the party, the atmosphere was becoming a bit stressful with all 4 getting tired and hungry. Some may say we should have eaten earlier however it is not always possible and we were on our hols.

The staff were friendly, the place was clean and the food was of an ok standard. However unfortunately the time taken has affected this review and therefore overall rating.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Badger0252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Manager at The Churchill, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thank you for leaving a review.

I am saddened to read that you did not enjoy your recent visit.

I was working on saturday myself and yes we were extreamly busy, and i understand with 4 children time is a key thing.

I have looked into this matter and cant see why you would have waited for so long, as all our systems are showing a small delay but nothing near the time that you have waited.

I will use this review however in our next training session to prevent this happening again

We hope to see you again in the future and hopfully regain your confidence in The Churchill

Best Wishes

Paul & the Churchill Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

The pub is well set out with nice decor and a nice atmosphere. The staff were very efficient and friendly.
The food was delicious - the chicken fajitas (which came out on a skillet with all of the trimmings) was a really good sized portion and just really yummy. Burger and chips may be a simple dish, but were delicious. Would recommend!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Grace_UK09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Manager at The Churchill, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Glad to read you enjoyed your recent visit!

We look forward to welcoming you back to try our new menu which goes live in October, i can assure you that the Burgers are here to stay and also are the Fajitas.

See you in the near future

Paul & The Churchill Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This is the regular lunchtime pub and restaurant of a local company which I visit five or six times a year and we always manage to fit in a visit to The Churchill (probably because I usually pick up the tab).

There is a good selection of proper beer and the food, from quite an extensive menu, has always been uniformly excellent. I always wish I hadn't so much to do in the afternoon, so that I could enjoy something more substantial than my usual light meal without the risk of falling asleep, but my fellow diners have no such inhibition and 'fill their boots' as they would say.

The service has always been friendly, helpful and efficient and the prices are what I would expect to pay in this type of establishment.

The reason for the title of this piece is that there are distinct areas here, where children can play, where people can just eat and drink quietly or where small groups can sit around a fireplace and watch a large television, if that is their thing. These areas seem to be well-contained so that, for example, the television or excitable children are not a distraction to those in other areas. Well, all right, me.

I have no idea what The Churchill is like in the evenings, but every lunchtime visit has been a pleasure, so well done them.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank icerunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Manager at The Churchill, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thanks for the Review.

Glad you enjoy the Churchill (even though you always get to pay the bill!)

We try our very best to give all a great dining experince with great customer service.

I will share this review with the team as it gives great job satisfaction

Best wishes & see you soon

Paul & The Churchill team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Churchill also viewed

Royal Wootton Bassett, Wiltshire
Royal Wootton Bassett, Wiltshire
 
Royal Wootton Bassett, Wiltshire
Royal Wootton Bassett, Wiltshire
 
Royal Wootton Bassett, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Churchill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing