We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“will return”
Review of The Churchill

The Churchill
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
calne , unitedkingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“will return”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

had an excellent lunch here with friends on a recommendation , well worth a visit, staff very welcoming and friendly, good service and food excellent, they keep a good pint to.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank lesl s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Manager at The Churchill, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time in leaving a review.

Its always a pleasure to read that our guests have had an enjoyable time, and enjoy what we offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back soo

Paul & The Churchill Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    158
    109
    76
    103
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice food but restaurant very noisy”
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Great place for children so go later to avoid the noise if you don't have children with you. Staff friendly and food good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hathersage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Manager at The Churchill, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thanks for taking the time in leaving a review.

Glad to read that you enjoy the food here at The Churchill, we try and cater for all guests by having seperate areas for families or adults dining alone.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future so you can sample our new menu that goes live on the 22 of October

Best Wishes

Paul & The Churchill Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Another awful meal”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Have visited this restaurant many times now ( not by choice) and have yet to have a decent meal. It seems to me when they are busy all food seems be reheated by microwave. Last meal I had Poached egg in the starter was hard boiled not runny. Chips are mostly undercooked and soggy. That's it for me will not be visiting again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grant0616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Manager at The Churchill, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time in leaving a review.

Sorry to read that you did not enjoy your recent visit, i can assure you however that all our meals are prepared to order.

If you would like to discuss the matter in person please feel free to contact me direct and hopefully we can restore your faith in The Churchill.

Best Wishes

Paul & The Churchill team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good when you don't feel like cooking!”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Just visited The Churchill - surprisingly quiet when we arrived. Nice meal, served quite promptly - a bonus was that having ordered two grill meals, we were entitled to a free bottle of wine as it was Grill Night!! Just a shame that we had to ask for the wine, rather than it being offered when our order was taken. Reasonable value for pub grub.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Manager at The Churchill, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for leaving a review

I was glad to read that you enjoyed your recent visit, it gives us great job satisfaction to read that our guests enjoy what we offer here.

I will use your experience of the steak offer in our next team meeting to ensure it does not happen again.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Best Wishes

Paul & The Churchill Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good value and service”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Popped in on a Sunday with the parents. I was surprised at the choices available, good value and service. This is a good choice for families as they cater for younger visitors

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sedgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Manager at The Churchill, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time in leaving a review.

Its always a pleasure to read lovely reviews, we are a children friendly establishment and love having the little one in, we have a fun filled family fun day on Aug 26th with lots of goings on for the whole family.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future

Best Wishes

Paul & The Churchill Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Churchill also viewed

Royal Wootton Bassett, Wiltshire
Royal Wootton Bassett, Wiltshire
 
Royal Wootton Bassett, Wiltshire
Royal Wootton Bassett, Wiltshire
 
Royal Wootton Bassett, Wiltshire
Royal Wootton Bassett, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Churchill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing