We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food!”
Review of The Churchill

The Churchill
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our meal! We both had the burger and could not fault it... We cleared our plates. The service was also very good and Scott was our waiter! We will be returning.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ukgirl92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Manager at The Churchill, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time in leaving a review.

Its always a pleasure to read that our guests enjoy the offering here at the Churchill.

I will share this review with Scott as it gives great job satisfaction.

Best Wishes Paul 7 The Churchill Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (779)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

690 - 694 of 780 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2013

Turned up without having made a booking, friendly greeting, advised table would be 30 minutes which we were fine with, restaurant was busy, got a seat in the bar, ended up being shown to our table within 10 minutes. Had already looked at the menu, our waiter was friendly, helpful and efficient, service was great. Menu was varied, we ordered one of the sharing starters which was hot, tasty and plenty for the 3 of us. My hubby ordered Lamb shank, I had the lrg scampi and our son ordered a rump steak unfortunately they had no rump but offered a sirloin instead to be charged at the same price as the rump which we thought was excellent customer service. All food was hot, tasty, well presented. My only criticism would be the young children running about from another area in the restaurant, this is the responsibility of the parents who quite clearly didn't mind their children running about in stocking feet in a restaurant but to us it was dangerous and I feel a staff member should have pointed out to the parents that waiters and waitresses were coming in and out of the kitchen doors with hot food and there could be an accident. Other than that we would definitely eat here again when we visit the area and would recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 3lauries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Manager at The Churchill, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you for leaving a review.

I was glad to read that you and your family enjoyed your recent visit.

We do as a family restaurant try and seperate adult diners from family diners to avoid the situation that you mentioned in your review, however at busy times its not always possible to do.

Once again Thank You for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Paul & The Churchill team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Came in this afternoon to get just two hot drinks, it was quite quiet in the pub but we had to wait 15 mins for someone to bring us a cup of coffee and a cup of tea!! Ridiculous! A female member of staff came out, banged the tray on the table and was quite rude and, we didn’t receive an apology for the wait. We originally went to the Churchill to check it out to make a large group booking for dinner in May but obviously we changed our mind and won’t be going back again. Only positives - large car park, clean toilets and easy to find.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
1  Thank Tolf85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Manager at The Churchill, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thank you for leaving a review.

Sorry to read that you waited a while for your coffees.

At the Churchill we pride ourselves on fast sevrice and cater for small or large parties, unfortunate for yourselves on the day of your visit we were really busy and its our priority to ensure that the food has priority.

However since your review we have changed the way that we serve our coffees, so that they are made straight away for you as you order, so this now creates no delay in the serving.

Please feel free to return to The Churchill to sample our new service steps.

Best Wishes

Paul & The Churchill Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We called in here on the way back from a shopping trip to bath with friends we only popped in for a drink but decided rather than muck about when we got home to eat there 4 meals less than 5 minutes obviosly microwaved ?? but very tasty would go back again .

Thank ammo321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Manager at The Churchill, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thank you for leaving a review.

Im glad to read that you enjoyed the speed of service at The Churchill, we do have time restraints on all checks and always do our best to stick to these, We aim that the speed of the food you recieve never compramises the quality we offer.

Best Wishes and look forward to welcoming you back

Paul & The Churchill Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

visited the churchill over the easter holidays, my husband and I love this place, the whole parcel is just great the food,& staff canno't be beaten, we eat out lots and always choose the churchill when were in the area,keep up the good work churcill your the best .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Eatalot80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Manager at The Churchill, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thank you for leaving a review.

Its always a pleasure to read that our guests enjoy what we offer at The Churchill, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Paul & The Churchill Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Churchill also viewed

Royal Wootton Bassett, Wiltshire
Royal Wootton Bassett, Wiltshire
 
Royal Wootton Bassett, Wiltshire
Royal Wootton Bassett, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Churchill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing