We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another day, another hotel”
Review of The Angel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Angel Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another day, another hotel”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Managed to find this hotel at a bargain price of £65 B&B not really knowing what to expect but as it's turned out it's a bargain. Great staff providing a friendly welcome and serving a good selection of beer. Would highly recommend to anyone wanting to stay in this area. Did not sample dinner in the hotel as a curry was the choice of the evening. New modern bedroom in a newly built motel style with more lovely bathroom, unable to find fault. Excellent value for money......

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    68
    32
    20
    16
See reviews for
36
63
9
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Can highly recommend this hotel. I went fearing a typically dowdy room in a pub experience but found a spotlessly clean and comfortable room and a great restaurant.

The room we stayed in was in a motel-style modern extension at the back. It wasn't big but had everything that we needed - comfortable bed, small wardrobe, beautifully uncluttered white bathroom, tea/coffee making facilities, flat screen TV etc. The restaurant was tastefully decorated, the food was good and the staff almost too attentive. The breakfast the next morning was also excellent quality.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pondspider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire uk
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We booked a table in the restaurant for 8.30, arriving at 7.30 for drinks in the bar. I bought drinks and placed them on a tab stating we were eating at 8.30. I actually visited the bar three times and placed drinks on a tab.
At 8.50 we realised we were late for the table and approached the bar asking was our table ready? we were shown to a table, to be swiftly told that the oven were turned off at 9pm and consequently we could only choose from three meals on the menu...no steaks, no quality meals.... We asked to speak to the manager to complain, only to be told he had gone home! This is also a hotel by the way! we decided to go elsewhere to eat.
Now call me old fashioned but a hotel/restaurant charging these prices should have its finger on the pulse. Nobody ever thought to show us a menu, say our table was ready or was even aware we were there, even though i placed drinks on the meal tab three times. Will not be going back to the palace!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jammysplodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

Spotless accommodation, with very comfortable bed, the breakfast was excellent with friendly and helpful staff.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I visited for a family friends Wedding Reception I was disappointed by the size of the function room and the food I had the night before the reception was overpriced small portions and not very good standards as my partner found a hair in his meal. Mine was substandard had better at cheaper venues. There was no parking which is poor for guests staying more than one night. Only good point was the rooms we had one at the back which is apparently a new extension very well built again overpriced especially as I could hear people in the next room. Get similar rooms at chain hotels for cheaper and they provide parking and other amenities. Would only go back to visit friends for a drink there as a very nice venue but need to put prices in line with other places in the surrounding area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TashGard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2012

I hear there is a new chef at the angel the best choice the angel managment have done the food is stunning and at a good price and nice atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Driving down the High street in Royal Wootton Bassett, you could easily miss it. But the Pub had a great atmosphere with good food; helpful and friendly staff. The room I stayed in was tucked behind the hotel, which was lovely and quite, the rooms are comfortable, clean and well decorated. Breakfast, which I always enjoy, was tasty. When I next in the area, this is where I will be staying.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Royal Wootton Bassett
0.9 mi away
Marsh Farm Hotel
Marsh Farm Hotel
#2 of 2 in Royal Wootton Bassett
385 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Wiltshire
The Wiltshire
#1 of 2 in Royal Wootton Bassett
325 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
1.7 mi away
The Schoolhouse Hotel
5.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 25 in Swindon
1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Hotel

Property: The Angel Hotel
Address: 47 High Street, Royal Wootton Bassett SN4 7AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Royal Wootton Bassett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Royal Wootton Bassett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Angel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Wootton Bassett, the Grade II listed Angel has been extensively but sympathetically renovated to create an eclectic hotel with a relaxed and informal atmosphere. Whatever your plans, whether it be a long stay to discover the ancient Ridgeway, a romantic weekend, a conference or a wedding reception, The Angel is the perfect location.A comfortable blend of old and new, you will find the atmosphere at The Angel relaxed, warm and welcoming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Angel Hotel Royal Wootton Bassett, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing