We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great people in a great countryside place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shaw Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Melksham
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great people in a great countryside place!”
Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed there 3 nights. There was a little problem the first night that was totally solved by the hotel staff who has overwhelmed with gifts and services.
Very a good place to stay and relax, as well as to is it Bath and nearby areas.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MemiMemole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    45
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
37
69
12
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

my husband and I stayed here for 2 nights. Emma and Nick were very accommodating and friendly. They welcomed our dog Fergus too

We were very impressed with the menu and the food is of a standard as high, if not higher, than some of the restaurants I have visited in London. Vegetarian choices were lovely. Well done to the chefs.

We would definately stay again and would recommend this lovely hotel to all our friends and family if they are in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I spent an extremely pleasant night at the Shaw Country House Hotel. The welcome on arrival was very warm, and I was shown to a compact but very comfortable room with a nice view over the fields.

Dinner in the restaurant was excellent. A nice atmosphere, excellent service, and the food was superb.

The night was restful, as the building is set nicely back from the road so was very quiet.

Breakfast was served with a smile and was very tasty, but a little (only a little!) sparse for my personal liking.

Overall, a lovely stay at a really nice, welcoming place. I will certainly be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niceul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon U.K
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed overnight at the Shaw hotel, we paid for a superior double room with bath and shower , I opted not to go for the four poster as I can't see the point of them!!!
We were shown to our room by a lovely lady but on entering noticed the four poster bed ( oh no)! Anyway it was also freezing so the lovely lady put the radiator on for us, and left us to it.
I went into the bathroom and there was only a shower, hey ho , no matter, it's only one night after all!
The room didn't warm up and the radiator was stone cold. We informed the reception and an equally lovely gentleman came and fixed it with an alun key!!!
We ate out that night so cannot comment on the dinner .
On our return the room was still cold but it was too late to do anything.
Breakfast was divine, a lovely full English with black pudding:) all locally sourced produce , beautifully cooked.
The restaurant was very modern as opposed to the rest of the building , which was quite old worldly , all in all I liked the friendly atmosphere and the location was good . Just a bit of an update to rooms and a working radiator and I'd give it top marks!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candy66_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We had our Wedding reception here on October the 6th and all I can say is...Fantastic venue, Wonderful Staff, Brilliant Food and very varied in choice! Prior to the Wedding day I mainly dealt with Sharon and Emma who were both always very helpful and ready to listen and answer any queries I might have, everyone was very hospitable and we thought the whole event was very good value.

Myself and new Husband and some Family & Friends all had over night rooms which were both very clean and comfortable, we had a delicious breakfast comprising of cereals, juice, full English & toast along with either tea or coffee which was all good quality.

Fortunately we live quite local and can pop in for a relaxing Sunday lunch or Evening meal and still be met with the same friendliness, hospitality and great food! We look forward to the next visit!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband & I had the pleasure of staying here twice during our recent UK holiday. We were so overwhelmed by the service, the food & the hospitality by Emma, Nick, Paul, Zoe & the rest of the staff, during our first 3 nights, that we could not wait to go back for another 4 nights before we headed back home. We have never been anywhere else where we were made to feel so at home. Nothing was too much trouble. They catered for every request. The rooms are extremely comfortable & the whole place is immaculately maintained. The food was amazing & you can taste the care & respect that went into every dish.
We are returning to the UK in 2013 & cannot wait to stay here & see them all again :o)
Mark & Colleen - Australia

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkandColleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed for three nights and used the conference room. Staff are excellent and very friendly. Conference arrangements were slick and supportive. Bar grub was very high quality and very good value. I'd happily go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melksham
2.0 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
712 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Conigre
The Conigre
#3 of 4 in Melksham
49 reviews
3.1 mi away
Rudloe Arms
Rudloe Arms
#3 of 4 in Corsham
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
532 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#1 of 1 in Lacock
313 reviews
2.9 mi away
Guyers House Hotel
Guyers House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Corsham
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaw Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaw Country House Hotel

Property: Shaw Country House Hotel
Address: Bath Road, Melksham SN12 8EF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Melksham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Melksham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Shaw Country House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Shaw Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaw Country Hotel
Shaw Country House Hotel Melksham, Wiltshire, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing