We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Menu, Crispy Duck”

The Bell on the Common
Ranked #31 of 51 Restaurants in Melksham
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
81 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“New Menu, Crispy Duck”
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Had a lovely meal last night, which had an authentic chinese flavour. My husband and I both chose the same meal, followed by delicious banana fritters with cream. Yum!!! We are locals and look forward to trying other new dishes on the menu. With regard to Boxerhouse 10's comments, the "bar manager" who is incidentally the landlord, was talking too much to the locals, he was, in fact, taking part in the Monday night quiz which raises lots of money for charities, so perhaps he could be excused on this occasion! We participate in the quiz every Monday night.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frogladybg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    21
    3
    7
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melksham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Value”
Reviewed April 25, 2012 via mobile

As a regular local groupon user we have had good and bad deals around local pubs. This was one of the better deals. Only gripe was the limited option we had of booking a table, took 3 seperate phone calls to actually be able to book and then we only had the option of two nights before offer expired. Once there the welcome was good, the menu explained well and good choice. Ordered drinks at the bar and then shown through to our table. Selected both starter and main and then the food came. Both starters were well presented, good portions and tasty. The two mains were also very tasty and really good sized portions, we didnt have room for dessert! All in all great value and would return. Thanks.

Helpful?
Thank mr2905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge Wiltshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Nice”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We went to The Bell on The Common for our Groupon Meal, wasnt really looking forward to it as i had heard some bad reviews from friends, when we got there it was very busy (a monday night) although we had to wait rather a long time for our meal the food that we got was great, we were told that a new chef had started the day before, Although this is Very good news for The Bell, we both felt that the Bar Manager could do with sharpening his people skills.ie too busy talking to the loacals instead of helping out in a very busy bar.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Boxerhouse10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corsham
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely pub and meal!”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Having also purchased a Groupon voucher and living locally,we felt it was an excellent place for a meal. Frankly we are more than surprised at one particularly negative review!
The landlord and landlady were warm and welcoming as was the atmosphere. We had an excellent two course meal which was very well cooked and presented with very generous portions. The bar had a good wine selection and the service was good.
We would highly recommend this pub for an evening out and will definitely return

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mfogCorsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

I like most others booked a Groupon deal for this pub, £15 for two people, two courses.
Three weeks before the deal ended i called up and spoke to a rude man who told me they were fully booked Friday night which is fair enough and hung up within seconds. I then called back on a different day and spoke to a girl who was also very rude. Her first question was 'Is it Groupon' and after i said yes she continued to tell me they were now fully booked until the deal ended. This however was untrue as my brother called up to book a table not through Groupon and did so successfully.
I would not ever call this pub again, i would not recommend to friends and i certainly would think again before buying through Groupon. Why sell through Groupon if you cannot fulfill the bookings? The Bell was discriminating against customers who bought through Groupon.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Kbird24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bell on the Common also viewed

 

Been to The Bell on the Common? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing