We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average”
Review of Godot's Brasserie

Godot's Brasserie
Ranked #22 of 67 Restaurants in Marlborough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: British, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Nice little bistro, but perhaps just a little pricey for what it offers. Food was average, nothing special. Service was very friendly but under-staffed for a Saturday so quite slow. Two main courses and two soft drinks £31

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank P E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    32
    13
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hit and miss”
Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I travel quite a distance to come here on special occasions as its one of our favourites. Unfortunately after visiting last night in not sure that we would return in a hurry.

On arrival they had no idea about our table (booked well in advance) and the lady serving seemed more interested in chatting at the bar than serving us.

I asked what was served with the dish I chose and it came out covered in mushrooms (not mentioned when I asked) and the beef was as tough as old boots. I noticed that when the chef came out that it was infact the owner? After asking the lady serving 'is this the normal chef' she answered yes? Hmmm...I looked surprised and she then admitted no the owner is in the kitchen tonight and that she is the friend of the owner and only helps out once a year.

I am absolutely gutted as it was my birthday treat from my fiancé and this has always been such a lovely place. However the last two times we have visited it had gone downhill.

The service was appalling and although they took my meal off the bill was not sincere.

Godots please do not let your owner in the kitchen and get some more staff! You may have a good friend but you will lose good customers with customer service like that! We won't be returning when there are nicer places closer to home, completely disappointed...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RainbowBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, Great Service. Highly recommend”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We had lunch in this gorgeous little place today. The food was outstanding for the price and service was great. On arrival we were greeted and offered the best table for us as my partner is on crutches so we felt very looked after. It was only afterwards that I realised the bar is owned by a friend of a friends family so will most definitely be returning again! thanks for a welcoming and pleasant experience. Michelle & Tristan x

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 642 helpful votes
“Wonderful People, Excellent food, Superb Service”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Where can you start ?
This is a hidden gem in a town full of generic restaurants catering for the college.
Gary and Leslie work tirelessly to make you feel welcome and at home. There is a wonderful banter at the wine bar with the regulars making a jovial atmosphere and the restaurant is delightfully understated not too pretentious and comfortable.
Having been eating here regularly now for some time I have to say the meat (any meat) is exceptional quality the Ribeye and fillet steaks are simply melt in the mouth delicious, the risottos (chicken and a crayfish) are both divine and the daily specials are exactly that. If you dont see something on the menu ask ...and if they can source they will serve.
The wine list is comprehensive but the Malbec is personal favorite, again if you dont see something the hosts will try to oblige.
All in all I have to say wether its lunch or dinner I doubt you will be disappointed with Godot's it really is a special brassiere with a great atmosphere super service and wonderful food.
G xx

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Avoid”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Crayfish salad was so vinegary it was virtually inedible
Fish cake was 90% potato
Roulade was good
Very expensive for poor food

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cauliflowerbomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Godot's Brasserie also viewed

Marlborough, Wiltshire
Marlborough, Wiltshire
 
Marlborough, Wiltshire
Marlborough, Wiltshire
 

Been to Godot's Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing