We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good”

ASK Italian - Marlborough
Ranked #34 of 67 Restaurants in Marlborough
Price range: $9 - $17
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: ASK Italian in Marlborough is a place for great food and warm service. Think fresh bread made to tear and share. A glass of fine wine worth deserving of your time. Delicious main dishes prepared the traditional way. Everything we know and love about Italian food is served straight to your table. Take a look at our Marlborough menu and, if you like what you see, book a table.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Average Italian food, not bad, not very Italian. Very fast and kind service. Risotto was not cooked properly, we sent it back and it was not calculated in the bill at the end.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lemurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    64
    46
    30
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,032 reviews
386 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
“Nice meal, good service”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We had booked through the online and they had the booking ready for us. We chose an early time as we know how busy this can get. We're really glad we did and would recommend anybody else do the same. The food was very good and we had an online deal that meant it was very good value (but it didn't need to be). The service we experienced was good and quick and attentive.

However, once the restaurant picked up, it did get slow and they started to turn people away with 30-45 minute waiting times for food. I don't think they were expecting it to be so busy on a Thursday lunchtime but it shows that Marlborough can be busy any time.

The table next to us had to wait for about 50 minutes for their mains (they did have starters though), which were just salads really so they had a justifiable issue but the way they spoke to the waiter was very arrogant and not warranted. They had asked for some 'faffy' bits about their salads so not straight off the menu and the staff were trying to accommodate but it obviously didn't work!

I thoroughly enjoyed the meal and am happy to give this an 'Excellent' rating but I can understand others at the same time won't be doing the same!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Prepare to wait”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We met friends for lunch today in Marlborough and decided to meet in Ask. On arrival we were told that there was no risotto available, (in an Italian restaurant) and no chips. No chips? How difficult is it to pop to the shops and buy some potatoes and make some. We all ordered, nothing special and had to wait for over an hour. When it did arrive, the helpings were small, and the plates were stone cold so we had to eat our food quickly while it was hot. Not a problem as by that time we were starving. Our waitress was apologetic and pleasant, it wasn't her fault, but it was very disappointing. Wont be going back in a hurry.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Poor food, friendly service”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Visited ASK in Marlborough on Friday evening. Restaurant was very busy and on arrival the barman asked if we had booked, which we had, and pointed to a table. When the waitress took our order two of the mains were unavailable. Our starter of bread was undercooked, very doughey with a bowl of olive oil but no balsamic vinegar. We ordered two pasta dishes, mine being carbonara. It was the worst carbonara I have had, totally tasteless. When I complained and said that there didn't seem to be any eggs in the sauce, the 'Manager' said we don't put eggs in it because it makes it too difficult to make !!! I hadn't eaten it and he offered us complimentary coffee. The waitress took our dessert order, three of our choices were unavailable, and she steered us towards the chocolate pudding with melted choc inside. It came, it was luke warm, it didn't have warm melted chocolate oozing out but was just a stodgy mess. How can they run out of so many options on a Friday night and at the start of the weekend? The lovely waitress was very apologetic and although we didn't complain about the desserts she took them off our bill. We won't be visiting again. The service was good, but the quality of the food was poor. The restaurant almost looks like a closed building that has been taken over for the christmas period with a few stick on snowflakes on the windows. There are empty shelves in the entrance and the bar isn't lit up so it doesn't really create a good atmosphere. I think next time we will visit Pizza Express over the road !!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paula F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good food with friendly service”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Very nice pizza and very pleasant risotto. Good service; clean premises so all in all a good experience we will probably repeat.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blu32_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ASK Italian - Marlborough also viewed

Marlborough, Wiltshire
Marlborough, Wiltshire
 
Marlborough, Wiltshire
Marlborough, Wiltshire
 
Marlborough, Wiltshire
Marlborough, Wiltshire
 

Been to ASK Italian - Marlborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing