We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm & friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Inn with the Well
Ranked #1 of 30 Marlborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hinckley, Leics
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Warm & friendly”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

As a group of 8 friends visiting Marlborough we wanted a B&B which could accomodate us all, including two cyclists (and their bikes!). With already good reviews we opted for The Inn with the Well. With a main road running very close by we were somewhat apprehensive initially, but shouldn't have worried. Despite a little traffic intrusion during the night we all slept well and the rooms were comfortable.

But it was more the great welcome, the comfy settees next to the log burner and the atmosphere of this inn that remain in the memory - all lovely. We ate one evening meal and this was fine - not gastro, but a step above basic pub nosh. Breakfasts were great, and the choices were pretty good for a small B&B.

Certainly somewhere we'd happily return to.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ads677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innwell, Owner at The Inn with the Well, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
We were glad that you enjoyed your time. I will be adding to our website the facility of washing down bikes etc. Thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    156
    29
    5
    6
See reviews for
61
199
36
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Room was clean and the bed was comfortable, although a bit cold when we first arrived, the heating was on and when we returned it had warmed up. The receptionist was a bit cool maybe shes shy, in which case maybe front of house not the place to be. The shower was poor as pressure was low, you had to hug the wall to get under the rose and get wet. The bath anti slip mat must have been bought at the pound shop or some way out health spa shop, its like standing on pins. To watch the TV we had to re tune first! The breakfast was OK although only available in a one hour window the bacon and sausages i suspect had been precooked and re heated in a microwave.The experience was similar to that of a travel lodge although their showers get you wet! Didn't stay for an evening meal so cant comment. Not an unpleasant stay but for a little effort could be great.

Room Tip: If there are rooms at the back and on the second floor it would be quieter when the locals leave th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innwell, Owner at The Inn with the Well, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. The shower issue- I have no idea what has gone wrong- I can only assume that when you tried it some one else was using a shower and thus lowering the water pressure. I have had the plumber in and we have not been able to recreate the problems you encountered. Point taken on bath mat.
again thank oyu for your fedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights with my wife & pet dog. The room was a very good size with en suite.
All the food was very tasty & plentiful. The bar is very welcoming and the wood burner gives it a cosy feel. For walkers you are surrounded by excellent walks & for the shopers Marlborough is not far away. The biggest recomendation we can give is already thinking of when to book our next stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbowd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innwell, Owner at The Inn with the Well, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for your feedback.
As you have pointed out the Inn is well placed for walking, cycling and touring.
Marlborough apparently has the highest proportion of ladies fashion shops per head of population in the country- so come on down ladies!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gravesham
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Great place for visiting avebury,Sudbury barrow,ufinton horse,and salisbury.great for walking and very friendly. Loves dogs. The food was excelent. Service brilliant. A very nice family run place. Being a person of very few words it's very hard to extol the virtues of the place

Room Tip: The standard is spacious . Don't turn up before. 4pm they aren't open. Ok once you have a ke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GraveshamRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innwell, Owner at The Inn with the Well, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
This review encapsulates all that we are trying to achieve. That's why we have our daughter working for s front of house as she understands and has an inerest in the business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

My partner and I were made to feel very welcome here. The room and en suite bathroom were very clean and an extra electric heater provided made the room very cosy on a very cold night! We chose from a varied menu for our evening meal and can recommend the vegetarian curry on Thursday nights. We would have liked to have enjoyed the selection of local ales as the bar had a lovely atmosphere but we were too tired. We slept very well and the cooked breakfast prepared us for another day of walking. I think the only thing could have improved the vegetarian breakfast would be the addition of vegetarian sausages! Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innwell, Owner at The Inn with the Well, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Glad you enjoyed your stay. Vegetarian sausages - food for thought?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Have passed this many a time on the way to Marlborough, but had never stopped before. But went for a Saturday night meal and found it surprisingly quiet. First thing you see is the well in the lounge, with glass over it so you can stand and look down.
Had very nice starters and all enjoyed our mains too, service was friendly and there was a nice atmosphere. Two had puddings which they also enjoyed and I went for an Irish coffee. About £70 for three, not the cheap end but the food was of a good standard and it felt reasonable for what we got.
I did notice the ice-cream served was Movenpick (which I find a bit average and which is why I declined having some), would have been nice to see a 'local' ice cream, Rays, or the likes of Winston Farm, but that is a personal thing as I do like good, local ice cream and it did not detract from a very nice meal out.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bretty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innwell, Manager at The Inn with the Well, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Nice to have some positive feedback on our food. The ice-cream argument has given me another point of view which is always useful. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashen
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Nice rooms,,good welcome.

We knew the pub was shut on sunday night when we arrived,so cant comment on beer or evening meals,but the breakfast was very good,certainly sets you up for the day.
Although no food served at the time we were there,its just 5mins from marlborough which,has plenty of places to eat.
But if you are alight sleeper, the rooms are right next to a busy elevated main road,and its proper noisey,even for the heaviest of sleepers.

Room Tip: earplugs required for every room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelleAshen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innwell, Owner at The Inn with the Well, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thanks for the feedback. From May to September we are open up until 10.00 p.m. on Sundays'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marlborough
3.4 mi away
The Castle & Ball Hotel
The Castle & Ball Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marlborough
632 reviews
4.2 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
975 reviews
3.4 mi away
Chiseldon House
Chiseldon House
#14 of 25 in Swindon
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Parklands Hotel
Parklands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ogbourne Saint George
98 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Old Forge
The Old Forge
#1 of 1 in East Kennett
123 reviews
12.5 mi away
The Barleycorn Inn
The Barleycorn Inn
#1 of 4 in Collingbourne Kingston
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn with the Well? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn with the Well

Property: The Inn with the Well
Address: Marlborough Road | Ogbourne St George, Marlborough SN8 1SQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Marlborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Marlborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn with the Well 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Inn (1658) with renowned Restaurant and Gravity poured Ale, situated on the Ridgeway path and Marlborough Downs close to 2 golf courses.6 purpose en-suite rooms in a separate annex (built 2001, refurbished 2009).We provide the ideal base for anyone wishing to stay in Historic Wiltshire. Same owners since 1991 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Inn with the Well reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn With The Well Marlborough, UK - Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing