We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great times”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Inn with the Well
Ranked #1 of 30 Marlborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
gravesham
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great times”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Great place for visiting avebury,Sudbury barrow,ufinton horse,and salisbury.great for walking and very friendly. Loves dogs. The food was excelent. Service brilliant. A very nice family run place. Being a person of very few words it's very hard to extol the virtues of the place

Room Tip: The standard is spacious . Don't turn up before. 4pm they aren't open. Ok once you have a ke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GraveshamRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innwell, Owner at The Inn with the Well, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
This review encapsulates all that we are trying to achieve. That's why we have our daughter working for s front of house as she understands and has an inerest in the business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    152
    29
    5
    6
See reviews for
61
196
34
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

My partner and I were made to feel very welcome here. The room and en suite bathroom were very clean and an extra electric heater provided made the room very cosy on a very cold night! We chose from a varied menu for our evening meal and can recommend the vegetarian curry on Thursday nights. We would have liked to have enjoyed the selection of local ales as the bar had a lovely atmosphere but we were too tired. We slept very well and the cooked breakfast prepared us for another day of walking. I think the only thing could have improved the vegetarian breakfast would be the addition of vegetarian sausages! Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innwell, Owner at The Inn with the Well, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Glad you enjoyed your stay. Vegetarian sausages - food for thought?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Have passed this many a time on the way to Marlborough, but had never stopped before. But went for a Saturday night meal and found it surprisingly quiet. First thing you see is the well in the lounge, with glass over it so you can stand and look down.
Had very nice starters and all enjoyed our mains too, service was friendly and there was a nice atmosphere. Two had puddings which they also enjoyed and I went for an Irish coffee. About £70 for three, not the cheap end but the food was of a good standard and it felt reasonable for what we got.
I did notice the ice-cream served was Movenpick (which I find a bit average and which is why I declined having some), would have been nice to see a 'local' ice cream, Rays, or the likes of Winston Farm, but that is a personal thing as I do like good, local ice cream and it did not detract from a very nice meal out.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bretty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innwell, Manager at The Inn with the Well, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Nice to have some positive feedback on our food. The ice-cream argument has given me another point of view which is always useful. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashen
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Nice rooms,,good welcome.

We knew the pub was shut on sunday night when we arrived,so cant comment on beer or evening meals,but the breakfast was very good,certainly sets you up for the day.
Although no food served at the time we were there,its just 5mins from marlborough which,has plenty of places to eat.
But if you are alight sleeper, the rooms are right next to a busy elevated main road,and its proper noisey,even for the heaviest of sleepers.

Room Tip: earplugs required for every room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelleAshen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innwell, Owner at The Inn with the Well, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thanks for the feedback. From May to September we are open up until 10.00 p.m. on Sundays'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We were very favourably impressed overall with the accommodation, service and food on our one night stop. The bedroom was a good size with spotless white bedlinen and everything clean and well attended to. Ample supplies of tea, coffee and biscuits in the room. The menu caters for a wide variety of tastes and is served fresh and hot which is more than can be said for a number of other recently visited pubs. Landlady was helpful and informative and extras like the wifi (far better service than at home) are most welcome. Good quality breakfast bacon and sausage or veggie if preferred. Truly excellent value for money and to be recommended. Happy to return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Omanmuscateer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innwell, Owner at The Inn with the Well, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
An interesting review. The point about jaded management is taken on board and as such we are instituting a day off a week and training up for front of house staff on restaurant knowledge and speed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, England
Level Contributor
153 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stopped here for two nights as we were walking the Ridgeway and it ticked all the boxes: convenient, reasonable, hot bath/shower, separate from the pub itself and a decent menu. Free wifi (we didn't have any problems with reliability) and excellent breakfasts - not too much and very tasty bacon and sausages (locally sourced I think) - didn't eat again until teatime. The couple running the place have been there a while and there's little they haven't got right, except perhaps ... we detected a slight sense that they'd lost the enthusiasm a bit, it was all very efficient (at times almost to a fault, it would have been nice to have a bit of time to digest my main course before being offered the dessert menu), but could have been a bit more friendly, but this is a minor observation and was only a perception.

Would happily recommend to anyone wanting no-nonsense pub stop at reasonable B&B prices who's happy to be left to their own devices, as we were. If you want loads of interaction with bubbly mein hosts you might have to work for it!

Room Tip: We were in Room 1 and there was some kitchen noise and it may be better to ask to be a little furthe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bignickandlittleted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innwell, Manager at The Inn with the Well, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thanks for the feedback. We have made a decision to take Thursdays' off to recharge the batteries.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melksham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

When you arrive be prepared to be greeted by Marley the labradog, and his welcome sets the scene. We enjoyed a four generation lunch here today The sharing plates were very good indeed, the fajitas and the chilli were greatly approved of and as our daughter-in-law is from Texas that is praise indeed. The duck breast could have been pinker, but over all, extremely good, great atmosphere, thanks to the lovely Kaylon, our waitress,and to all the team.
I promise you, time at the Inn with the Well will not just stop, it will go backwards!

Richard and Ruth

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richsim-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innwell, Owner at The Inn with the Well, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for the feedback. It is nice to get a review specifically about the staff and the food. Most of the reviews are from overnight guests giving their opinions on the rooms.
Our usp on food are the Chilli and the Banoffee pie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marlborough
3.4 mi away
The Castle & Ball Hotel
The Castle & Ball Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marlborough
624 reviews
4.2 mi away
De Vere Alexandra House
De Vere Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
953 reviews
3.4 mi away
Chiseldon House
Chiseldon House
#13 of 24 in Swindon
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
The Old Forge
The Old Forge
#1 of 1 in East Kennett
121 reviews
12.5 mi away
The Barleycorn Inn
The Barleycorn Inn
#1 of 4 in Collingbourne Kingston
49 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Marlborough
The Marlborough
#19 of 30 in Marlborough
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn with the Well? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn with the Well

Property: The Inn with the Well
Address: Marlborough Road | Ogbourne St George, Marlborough SN8 1SQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Marlborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Marlborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn with the Well 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Inn (1658) with renowned Restaurant and Gravity poured Ale, situated on the Ridgeway path and Marlborough Downs close to 2 golf courses.6 purpose en-suite rooms in a separate annex (built 2001, refurbished 2009).We provide the ideal base for anyone wishing to stay in Historic Wiltshire. Same owners since 1991 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Inn with the Well reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn With The Well Marlborough, UK - Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing