We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great position and beautifully furnished and...”
The garden is south facing and enjoys full sun all day!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The garden is south facing and enjoys full sun all day!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
The garden is south facing and enjoys full sun all day!
In the spring we often have extra visitors!
The sitting/dining room is dual aspect and seats 4 people comfortably
The kitchen is well equipped with all you will need for your stay.
Bedroom 1. is dual aspect. It has a king size bed and plenty of storage
Bedroom 1. has a king size bed and plenty of storage
Bedroom 1.
Bedroom 2. has a double bed and plenty of storage
Bedroom 2.
Bedroom 2. We provide a good selection of books for our guests.
Good size bathroom with large shower, toilet and basin.
There is also another separate toilet.
Marlborough High street.
 A beautiful market town, 2 minutes walk from the house
Avebury. A great place to walk freely among the stones which surround the village.
The Red Lion at Avebury
The river Kennet runs close to the house. Take a short walk to the shops along its bank!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Marlborough, Wiltshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gillian W
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great position and beautifully furnished and equipped.”
Reviewed October 6, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Lovely semi-detached two bedrommed cottage, just off Marlborough high street. The owners have taken a great deal of trouble to make it welcoming, pleasant to relax and sleep in. Very comfortable beds with cotton duvets and sheets.
The kitchen is tiny with good quality cooker, dishwasher, microwave, indeed everything you require however we only had a light breakfast there on the three days we stayed as the high street and surrounding area is full of cafes, restaurants, fast food outlets to suit every taste, so no need to cook at all.
Stairs to the bedrooms are steep, but we are in our 70's and had no trouble getting up and down them!
The only negative thing was the dinning table, fine for two to sit at but awkward for four because of the it's structure.
We loved it and a great time in Marlborough and a walk in the local woods above the town.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Position
Liked least: Dining table
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 8, 2016
Many thanks for your great review and so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Marlborough. We try hard to keep the house up to date and comfortable for our guests. I have noted what you said about the table and we have been looking for an alternative for a while. This has spurred me on to to find something sooner rather than later.
If you would like to book either The Manse or West View House in Devizes any time in the future we'd be very happy to hear from you. Best wishes - Sue & Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann F
Yamba, Australia
1 review
“Doesn't disappoint”
Reviewed October 5, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

I read the reviews for The Manse and had high expectations. It didn't disappoint. The location is ideal being close to Marlborough's High Street but at the end of a drive so quiet. There's off-street parking which is a major benefit in Marlborough. The cottage is attractively decorated, very clean and well equipped. Everything is to a high standard. Having such nice neighbours as Jonathan and Dianne was an added bonus as they couldn't have been more helpful. We were there for a week in September and found it a good base for exploring the beautiful Wiltshire countryside. During our time in the UK we stayed at various holiday-lets and The Manse was one of the best.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 6, 2016
So pleased that The Manse did not disappoint and that you enjoyed your stay. We are very lucky to have Jonathan and Diane looking after the house and all our guests. We try very hard to keep everything up to date and comfortable and it would be so much harder without them.
If you would like to stay again any time in the future we'd be really happy to hear from you.
Best wishes
Sue and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giorgio G
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“would love to go back”
Reviewed September 9, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely house, clean, well decorated and equipped with everything. The main street with the shops is close but the place is very peaceful. We also appreciated the fish and chips shop just across the road. Great neighbours: Jonathan has been most kind and helpful with us, which certainly made our stay more pleasant. We had a great time exploring the surroundings, there is quite a lot to see and do in the area. Would really love to come back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 10, 2016
Many thanks for taking the time to do a review and for your very positive comments.
We were pleased to hear from Jonathan and Diane that you and your children enjoyed your stay, especially the local fish and chips!
We hope that you had a great trip home and look forward to hearing from you again in the future.
Best wishes
Sue and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophVG
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location, beautiful home”
Reviewed August 20, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed at the Manse with friends for the weekend. It is a beautifully decorated, well appointed cottage which was the perfect base for our weekend in Wiltshire. It is just steps from the high street in Marlborough but far enough away that there is no noise at night.

Comfortable beds, excellent shower, and very well equipped kitchen.

We would certainly return in the future!

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2016
Great to hear that you enjoyed your weekend in Marlborough and thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely positive review.
Thank you also for leaving the house in such good order when you left.
We would be really happy to hear from you again if you would like to make a return visit any time in the future.
Enjoy the rest of the summer.
Best wishes
Sue and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison P
1 review
“Lovely cottage in perfect location”
Reviewed June 29, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our 4 night stay at The Manse.
The cottage has everything you could need with fantastically comfortable beds.
For us the biggest plus was having off road parking and the ability to walk into Marlborough with everything it has to offer. Despite being so close to the centre of town it was very peaceful, a perfect location.
We would have no hesitation in recommending staying at The Manse and hope to return ourselves.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amanda m
1 review
“Just Perfect”
Reviewed June 16, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We have just returned to Singapore after a lovely 9 night stay at The Manse. I can't find a single fault. Comfy beds with nice linen. A kitchen better equipped than my own at home. Jonathan was on hand to help us with any detail and we felt truly at home. The location is perfect and a 3 minute walk to the high street easy.
We will be booking again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet location in the center of town.
Liked least: Nothimg
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 17, 2016
So pleased to hear that your stay went so well and that the house was all you had hoped for. We try very hard to make it comfortable and home from home and it is in a great location!
We are lucky to have Jonathan and Diane as neighbours and they do a great job looking after the house and our guests for us.
I received the dates that you would perhaps like to book and look forward to hearing from you.
Best wishes
Sue and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheila D
Boise, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Would return as soon as I could”
Reviewed May 19, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful


“The Manse” is charmingly decorated with everything possible that one would require to make ones stay comfortable - all in smooth working order and it is immaculately clean. The colorful little garden, with parking for one car, adds to the pleasure of one’s stay.

This delightful home is tucked away below the main Marlborough road, fairly close to the Kennet River, so there is very little traffic noise. A beautiful walk next to the river takes one a matter of minutes to reach convenience stores on the main road e.g. Waitrose.

Additionally, and a big plus the neighbors - launch your stay off with a most comprehensive walk-through on arrival. This makes for quick familization of your new surroundings. - conveniently saving precious holiday time.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 21, 2016
Thankyou so much for the lovely review. We were so pleased that you both enjoyed your stay at the house and when you make a return visit to the UK hope to see you again. You were the perfect guests and we really enjoyed meeting you.
With very best wishes
Sue & Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing